We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Steak was amazing with top class service!”

Bridge House Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Bridge House Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #204 of 9,548 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Clark & Chicago River
Transit: Located 2 blocks North of the Lake/Wells brown line el station.
Description: Bridge House Tavern is located on the river in the heart of the River North neighborhood. The one-of-a-kind location offers a polished tavern feel that allows diners to enjoy comfort food in a casual atmosphere. Some featured menu favorites include; the smoked salmon BLT with a bacon milkshake, Prime Rib of Pork, and Popcorn (laced with honey, bacon, jalapeno and smoked salt). Lunch & Dinner is served 7 days a week and brunch is served on the weekends. In addition to the 125 person patio on the river level, the outdoor terrace is open on the weekends for appetizers and beverages. Reservations are accepted for indoor seating only.
Meltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Steak was amazing with top class service!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Visited in November entertaining clients from UK.
It was a Sunday night and we had no reservation.
We were a large party of 10 hungry Brits, but we were found a table after a short wait.
The menu had a great choice of steaks and a good wine list. The waiter was very attentive and the overall service very good. There is also a nice relaxed classy atmosphere and even a small bar area and terrace overlooking the river and city scape.
Great for business, or couples.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    104
    33
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great outdoor seating along the Chicago River”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

the outside patio is right alongside the Chicago River, where they are developing a Riverwalk. They have great cocktails and some nice wines. I had the Macaroni and Cheese which the waitress said was a small serving, but it was plenty big to me. Served in its own little cast iron pot. The best ever. The view is terrific, although the service is slow, but who would be in a hurry here?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 12BarbaraC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Upscale pub food with a great view”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I recently went to Bridge House Tavern with a group of friends from work. We ended up going back all week because the food was so good and the atmosphere was awesome--especially the beer garden.

The Tavern Chips were delicious, but we also had the Spicy Chicken Rolls, the Shrimp-n-Grits, the Bratwurst, the Grilled Cheese, the Burger and the Caesar salad (when I said we went back a lot I was not kidding) and they were all excellent.

Bridge House Tavern is a great place for happy hour cocktails and a nosh after work. I highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amysimsbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not for foodies”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Great view of the Chicago River. Terrible food and drinks. I kept looking around to see if others in the restaurant appeared disappointed, but I think the beautiful view and lively ambiance was enough for other diners. I ordered the pink lemonade. It tasted like extremely watered down strawberry nectar. The steak frites were drowned in a hollandaise sauce that tasted like nothing more than mayo and mustard - and the steak was a bit rancid. If you end up there for the great view I'd recommend ordering a drink they can't go wrong with like vodka 7, and fries or salad. If you really care about the food go elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Y R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expectations not met~”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The location of this restaurant is beautiful, but the quality of food fell short. If you are looking for a classic steak frites, don't order it here. The steak was a marinated mess of a supposed New York Strip. Everything was drenched with a salty bearnaise sauce. The short rib was tolerable, but the reduction sauce, as well as the meat, tasted strongly of brussel sprouts. The brussel sprouts served with the dish were so burned and charred on the bottom that they could not be eaten. These dishes came with a hefty price tag, so we were expecting to be able to eat them and somewhat enjoy them. I love the location of this restaurant, but unless the quality of the cuisine improves, I don't see it staying open for long.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridge House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Bridge House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing