We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blues Bar in Chicago.....It would be rude not to!”
Review of Blue Chicago

Blue Chicago
Ranked #6 of 561 Nightlife in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Blues Bar in Chicago.....It would be rude not to!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The guide book said it was a bit touristy, which I guess you could say with perhaps the set list (not sure every blues band play Sweet Home Chicago) - but the vibe was brilliant, the waitress service was good, the music was sweet!

A special mention for Lorenzo the door man, if you looked up the word cool in the dictionary you would definately see a picture of him!

Well worth a visit if you are in Chicago

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheHairyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    124
    21
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fun Blues Club”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

So we were a little skeptical as the guide book said it was touristy and hard to get a seat. We walked over from Frontera Grill at 8:30pm and got a seat at the bar no problem. The band was entertaining and engaged the crowd. I didn't ask where everybody was from so couldn't tell you who was a tourist but can say that everyone there was having a great time. An easy walk back to the hotel. Definitely worth the $10 cover and the bar tender made a great Whisky Sour:)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LabsRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babson Park, FL
Level Contributor
151 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Awesome Blues!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We loved this bar! The band was fantastic and service was excellent. You cannot go to Chicago (home of the blues) and not stop at this bar. It was fun and a bit raunchy at times---just what we wanted.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank rplove5662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, BC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“very enjoyable evening”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

A very down to earth blues bar experience right in the heart of downtown Chicago. Staff was fun and friendly once we made the effort to initiate conversation.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bodoskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“America's Got Talent (and Culture)!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Recently visited Blue Chicago after we couldn't get into the House of Blues as it was closed for a private function. What a lucky break that was! This place is pretty close to the dictionary definition of a dive bar. It's pretty small and pretty grubby but don't be put off. It is one of the coolest bars I have been in and I've been in a few! The staff are cool, friendly and full of character and the music is just superb. Although it was full of tourists (like us) it just doesn't feel touristy and there seem to be plenty of locals in. If this isn't the real deal when it comes to a Chicago Blues bar then I'd like to see what is. For anyone who thinks the USA doesn't have any culture to offer the world, you're wrong. This is it. Highly, highly recommend this place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Chicago also viewed

 

Been to Blue Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing