We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Fun Experience...Even If You Don't Like Beer!”

Chicago Beer Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Bacon and Brewing Beer Tour in Lakeview and Lincoln Park
Ranked #1 of 555 Nightlife in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chicago Beer Experience Beer Tours offer walkable beer tasting and bar tours in Chicago! We have two neighborhood tours; one in Lakeview & Lincoln Park, and the other in Bucktown & Wicker Park. You'll taste several craft beers, learn about Chicago history from 1833 to the present, and even eat some bacon or a Chicago hot dog! Tours are led by a trained guide, who will weave Chicago history and beer together in a fun, informative way while visiting four establishments, some of which have been around since the days of Prohibition. Perfect for men and women ages 21 to 121, individuals and groups, from bachelor parties to corporate outings, we've got something for everyone.
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Very Fun Experience...Even If You Don't Like Beer!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Took the Bucktown & Wicker Park Beer tour with Bruce as our tour guide. He was funny and very knowledgeable about both beer and Chicago history. We were surprised to be treated to a Chicago-style hotdog at one stop and some lovely chicken pot pie at another. We'll try the Lincoln Park & Lakeview tour the next time we visit the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rehsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    20
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beer, bacon and fun.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We took a tour at Wrigley and looked for something to do in the area, and boy was this a home run! The beer was great, the bacon was awsome and Jen, the tour guide was full of energy and information. If you love beer, a little history and a good time, this is a must!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fun afternoon, good company and good beer”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

After arriving in Chicago with my wife for a weeks holiday this was a great way to get over jet lag, meet some fun people and learn about American beers.
The guide was very knowledgable, the pubs and beers were great. The location was find and we would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Chicago who likes good beer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ridiculousness”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The other reviews give a sense of what you experience, 5 bars, a great host in Jen, good beer. We went with myself, my girlfriend, my brother and his girlfriend. We met a couple from Canada on the tour. I will just give one warning; it is imperative to eat before this tour, especially the females. The ABV of the beer and the amount that you get is a lot, and the girls felt it when we left, and the next morning. Please heed this warning.

All in all--- this tour and experience has my highest recommendation.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank awval999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent & fun tour”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We came up from Texas to see a friend & catch a game @ Wrigley. He recommended this tour. It was great. The young woman that hosted was amazing. She was charismatic, engaging, good story teller, & had some really interesting facts regarding Chicago. Each bar was it's own experience. From the bar where they serve different types of bacon paired up with certain beers to the whiskey bar that serves over 500 whiskeys. It was a great experience & highly recommend.

Will do again in future,
Shane C

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicago Beer Experience also viewed

 

Been to Chicago Beer Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing