We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dynamic”
Review of Yolk

Yolk
Ranked #60 of 9,604 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Streeterville
Description: Yolk is a breakfast & lunch restaurant. We use top quality ingredients & fresh produce to serve the best breakfast in Chicago! (BYOB)
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dynamic”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

while on a holiday in sept 2012 with my wife I was fortunate enough to be only 3 blocks from yolk, I honestly have to say it was the best restaurant fr service, friendlyness nd the food excusid with a great range of dishes, go early do or you cud be in a long queue. 10 out 10

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raymmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    295
    75
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“If you like breakfast...”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Get up early if you have to, but don't miss at least having one breakfast at Yolk. I always make it to Yolk when I'm in town on business.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wish I could have brunch here every day!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

I've been here 3 times and loved the first 2 meals (third was just ok). It's always crowded on the weekends, but it's worth the wait!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dts07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“American breakfast at its best”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I heard about this place before already, so we thought we need to try it out for breakfast at least once during our stay in Chicago.
When we got there the place was almost full already and this was not a weekend, so probably reservations would be goo to do, just to be on the safe side. The choice of different kinds of breakfast and the number of possible add ons and variations is huge.
The quality of the food and the service is as it should be, just the amount of food is way to big.
Although this is very common in US, still I believe it is not necessary as too much food is returned a wasted therefore.
Overall I would recommend every Chicago visitor to try this place as well as I do not see a reason why you would not like it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christoph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 541 helpful votes
“An Eggs-citing Breakfast!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I usually reserve my 5-star restaurant ratings for those places that go way above and beyond my expectations, and as I sat down to rate Yolk - I decided it met those criteria. To the point that my wife and I, on a recent Windy City visit, actually went here twice!

Yolk does Breakfast - and does it eggs-ceedingly well. It's open 6am-3pm on weekdays, with alater 7am start on the weekend. The menu consists of a fabulous selection of Benedicts, Skillet Frittatas, Oatmeals, Omelets, Pancakes, Various Egg Platters and anything else you could loosely label as "Breakfast". Plus any place that serves Green Tea in its own little pot, and provides honey without me asking automatically gets a plus in my book!

It's all reasonably priced, served quickly and efficiently with a smile. There is plenty of on-street parking (bring quarters) and it's within walking distance of the Magnificent Mile of Michigan Avenue. So if you are staying downtown at the Marriott or other locations that charge you $20+ for a breakfast - try Yolk. You'll love it. Eggs-tremely good and you'll find no batter(!)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing