We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely hotel, great service, fab location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Ranked #14 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great service, fab location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My mum and I splashed out on our last 3 days in the states here in June. Okay not that expensive, but we could have got a cheaper hotel. But we chose the 'Aqua' because it had everything we wanted on paper, and the reviews were fantastic.
We had a great experience throughout - very friendly checking in staff, very chatty doormen, helpful porters...everyone was always very polite and seemed genuinely happy and glad to see us.
Our room was great, it was just a basic double (2 queens) city view room, but it was spacious, and had everything we needed. We didn't have a bath, but I don't imagine many rooms did. However to relax after a long day, there was a jacuzzi by the pool side.
The Aqua itself is now known as one of Chicago's most iconic buildings, due to its 'wave' design. It stands out from the river and the lake and from millenium park too. It is a great location, literally a 2 minute walk from Michigan Avenue and Millenium Park. Also there is a great little cut through to the river walk via Marianos...just a little further up Randolph Road, via Lake Shore East Park. We found that out via our Chicago Greeter - which I also recommend to any new visitors to Chicago!
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again...Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffybridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your review! I am honored that you had such a great stay and that you were able to relax in the pool and spa at the end of your day! I am also happy that the location was perfect for your needs. I hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,936
    671
    215
    68
    41
See reviews for
770
1,140
135
1,387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Itasca, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The good - This is an absolutely beautiful hotel with a magnificent atrium and amazing bar/patio. The room (1620) was great and in general, I would recommend a stay at this hotel.

The very bad - We arrived at 1:30pm and proceeded to the front desk to check-in. We were informed that, yes rooms were available for an additional $40 or we could wait until 3:00pm. I understand trying to maximize the bottom line however I found it repugnant. Note: my wife is 9.5 months pregnant and was standing right next to me. We waddled around until 3:00pm.

This hotel gets an average rating because of this sub-par service. Great hotel overall, however that policy is a total turn-off for this traveler.

Room Tip: Request a high floor, great views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JetNJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your overall experience at the hotel. I would, however, like to apologize that you were disappointed with your arrival experience and that our team was not more helpful in getting you and your wife a room for early arrival. I am sharing your comments so we can improve our operations moving forward, and I am truly sorry for any disappointment you experienced. I hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Always wanted to spend a night in downtown Chicago! Great experience in a beautiful hotel. Didn't want to leave, great room, great service...and everything you could possibly want. Our room had a view of river, Lake Michigan, Navy Pier, and Millenium Park... Awesome (plus a balcony!)

Room Tip: Ask for any upgrades. And a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving us a review! I am honored that you had a great stay and that you took the time to recommend us to others! I hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Beautiful building on a great location, nice rooms with a design touch, interiors in that trendy Radisson Blu style and a friendly, accommodating staff all over (with the guys in front of the hotel leading the pack): we very satisfied with our stay. Two little remarks: service at the outside terrace was not always attentive - one time we spend a good 20 minutes to get the attention of the (friendly!) waitress - and due to the strict anti-smoking policy of Chicago you are not allowed to smoke on your own balcony... We'd come back here without a doubt, though.

Room Tip: Do realize that if you choose a room with a balcony, you're now allowed to smoke there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonT58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review! I am honored that you had such a fantastic experience and that you took the time to recommend us to others. I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Chicago.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here for three nights while attending a conference. Really nice hotel. Clean and new. Close to Millenium Park and Michigan Ave. The bar in the hotel has really good food. The staff are polite and helpful. The one downside is it isnt cheap. $300 plus for a weekday night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cantona15212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you took the time to recommend us to others. Our pricing does vary based on occupancy and events in the city. I hope that we see you again the next time you are in Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Hotel is chic, centrally located, great service, exceptional rooms with wonderful amenities. Kelly K. in Marketing/Media took great care of my needs at a personally challenging time for me. Lovely person, extremely competent, and having an amazing knowledge of the hotel and area. Nice to see when someone loves their job! Food in Fellini's was delicious, inventive, and beautifully presented. Maitre'd was very accommodating, pleasant, attentive, as was the wait staff. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesia1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving us a review. I couldn't be happier that you had a fantastic stay and that our team made it even better! I will share your compliments with Kelly. I hope that we have another opportunity to welcome you back soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The lobby is beautiful. Upgraded to a business suite because we were traveling with our 1 year old baby. This way we could put her to bed and still function. Got a decent rate on the upgrade, but was hoping for a little more space for the money. Lovely room, not so lovely in-room dining. Overpriced and not very tasty. The pools were great, although not quite as modern as the lobby & guest rooms. Business lounge was a great perk for suite guests. Free snacks, beers, wine, and a decent sized balcony.

I really loved this hotel. Seems perfect for business travelers. Rating it 4 instead of 5 because of room service and the good-not-great pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review. I am thrilled that you and you family had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed your upgrade to business class. I do, however, apologize that you were disappointed with the room service selections and the pool design. I am truly sorry for any inconvenience this caused for you and hope it won't prevent you from returning in the future.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 189 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,798 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#10 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#3 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,508 reviews
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-7801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the luxury division of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Carlson, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing