We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, great fitness facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Ranked #20 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Central location, great fitness facilities”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on business for one night. The room was comfortable and spacious. The bathroom well layer out and all reasonable amenities. The thing that really made a difference though was a large well equipped gym which meant I had a great workout in comfort and not too crowded!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank HT1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am thrilled that you loved your stay and were able to enjoy the fitness center. I hope that you return again the next time you are in town.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,361
    775
    259
    78
    49
See reviews for
905
1,292
152
1,617
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
199 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were in Chicago for the weekend to see the George Straight concert and enjoy a bit of Chicago. The hotel was very impressive upon arrival. Gorgeous lobby! I do not tend to have modern taste and would not incorporate the look into my own home, but I enjoyed stepping outside of myself and having that experience at the Radisson Blu Aqua. Check-in was easy and we (husband and I + one other couple) received an upgrade to the business floor 17. (My husband is a reward points member.) It was nice to have access to the business lounge and we took advantage of the complimentary continental breakfast 2x during our stay. Our rooms were different styles. Our room had the great balcony and a view of Navy Pier and frozen Lake Michigan (so neat to see this) and a view of Millennium Park/Cloud Gate. Our room was very different from any other hotel room we have ever stayed in. For us, it was a bit of an odd layout and I didn't like that the cupboard was directly in front of the door when you entered the room, and then you walked down a bit of a hallway and around a bend to enter the rest of the room. So clothes, shoes, etc. were a bit out of the way. Also the sink was not large enough for my liking, my husband did not care for the wood floors, and I felt the lighting was a bit dim. Now these are trivial complaints -- the kind that I typically pay no mind to when reading TA reviews. :) So take these comments loosely. Otherwise, the bed was very comfortable with a ton of pillows. I also GREATLY appreciated the 2x a day housekeeping service and the restocking of the wonderful products that they supply. We enjoyed drinks 2x in the Filini Lounge with great service at a wonderful large booth on our first night in town. The Pinot Noir and Bruschetta were both lovely. We had drinks a second night, but opted to relax on the large comfortable couches by the wonderfully warm fireplace in the Lobby area. We would return to the Radisson Blu for that "unique for us" modern experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach Bum Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am happy that you and your friends enjoyed your experience with us and that you loved the upgrade to the business class lounge. I am also glad that you enjoyed having drinks in Filini. I look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Modern & luxurious Great service, friendly staff, spacious rooms with incredible views! The double shower & bathtub were an added bonus. The hotel breakfast was Devine & reasonably priced (off the menu).
Cocktails enjoyed in the bar or curled up In front of the open fires! Was busy & bustling but we never felt uncomfortable & we always had privacy. Perfect location to shops & parks.
Loved every minute of our 5night stay!

Room Tip: A room facing Millennium park & views of Lake Michigan 12-13 floor is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are thrilled that you loved your stay and that our location was perfect for shopping and going to parks. I am also happy that you loved both breakfast and drink service in Filini. I hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We packed up our preschooler and headed from the suburbs to the city for a mid-winter weekend get away and couldn't have been more pleased. The Blu Aqua Hotel and it's restaurant, the Filini, are esthetically attractive and relaxing. The interior design of the room was stunning. My son loved going swimming every day and we could walk or cab it to the Aquarium and the museums. The service was excellent all around. We ate breakfast and dinner at the Filini Restaurant everyday and loved the food but what was best was the special service we got with our 4 year old in tow. Tomas and the other staff went out of their way to make sure our kiddo had an entertaining view from his seat and whatever he wanted to eat. The kitchen even sent out a Mickey Mouse pancake for breakfast one day! I had always heard good things about the Blu Aqua from my single friends and was happy to find that it was family-friendly as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are honored that you and your family had such a wonderful experience at both the hotel and Filini! I will be sure to share your compliments with Tomas and our team. I am happy that you loved the location and that you were able to utilize the pool. I hope that we have another opportunity to welcome you back soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was our 4th time staying at Radisson Blu Hotel. I am not sure what I love most about this hotel. Oh, yeah, EVERYTHING!!! I love how I'm greeted by the door man every time I come in the door. I love how everyone says "hi" to me where ever I go in the hotel. I love the WARM sitting area with the wall fireplace in the lobby to warm up after being out in the cold brutal winter. I love the workout area and the pool with the hot tub. The best thing we did this time was we upgraded to include the business center. We had our son along and we were concerned how we could let him sleep in and still work. It was so relaxing and it had snacks and drinks for us also. There was always a host in the center that was extremely attentive and helped us with some sites we wanted to check out. Our room was the best. We had 2 queens with a balcony and it was beautiful and CLEAN and had a beautiful view. The rooms are very quiet also. With our business we spend a lot of time at hotels and I have to say this is our one treat we do for ourselves is to stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel. We want to try the Minneapolis one soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
We can't thank you enough for making us your home here in the city! We are honored that you continue to return and that your enite family loves the hotel! I am also glad that the Business Lounge was perfect for your needs. I hope we see you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Indiana
Level Contributor
89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was our first stay at the Blu Aqua hotel and our experience was excellent. The lobby and the bar were nicely decorated and provided plenty of comfortable seating, especially next to the fire during this cold winter. We had a few bar snacks and a couple drinks and both were very good. Just enough food and drink offerings to be a nice place to start your night. Our room was well sized and was well appointed for what you would need for your stay. The bathroom was extremely clean and had a nice soaking tub and shower with a rain shower option in it. We found the bed to be very comfortable and the rest of the room matched the bathroom in cleanliness. As far as location goes you can't go wrong with this hotel. You are within walking distance to Millennium Park, Michigan Ave shopping and many great restaurants. We used the indoor workout area which was large and well equipped for whatever type of workout you would want to do. We did not get a chance to use the outdoor area with running track which also seems like it would be a nice feature. All in all it was a great experience and we will be back. P.S. The only little snafu we did have was with the parking situation. If you want to get the $49 rate per night you need to park the car yourself in their parking garage located below the hotel. Otherwise it will be $61 a night if you pull up to the front lobby and valet. Just a minor problem since we thought the valet would park the car for us and we would just have no in and out privileges for the $49 rate.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandBCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you loved every aspect of your stay and that our location was ideal for experiencing Chicago! I am also glad that you were able to utlize the fitness center. I hope that we see you again the next time you are in Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Architectual gem in the heart of Chicago - resembling the waves of Lake Michigan...!
You enter en oriental-like lobby - find a nice bar and restaurant Filini.
The room we had was normal 'Norwegian' size - and had a very comportable bed!
Clean and beautiful interior and a very nice bathroom!!!
Very nice and hospitable staff!
I'll be back - for sure!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobolina78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your review! I am glad that you plan to return and that the room was perfect for your needs. I am also happy that the design of both the interior and exterior exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,304 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,047 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 189 in Chicago
993 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-7801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the upper upscale tier of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing