We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a pleasure.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Ranked #19 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Troy, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It was a pleasure.”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I am not from a big city and this was my first experience in Chicago. The hotel staff first pleased me by just staying on the phone and getting me there! Check in was a breeze and I was able to check in early which was great. The greatest part of any hotel experience starts with the staff and they did not disappoint. When I got to my room I was pleasantly surprised by the beauty of the room. I was on the 11th floor and the view was just fine. The bathroom had a large walk in shower with a rain type shower head. The only complaints I have is no fridge space to stash my water bottle and a sweet treat I had for myself and that if you do not pay the extra for valet you can't take your car in and out. Just say you only offer valet!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and that our team was helpful with all of your needs. I will be sure to share your compliments with each of them. I would, however, like to apologize that you did not like the self parking option. I am truly sorry for any disappointment this caused for you. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,357
    774
    258
    78
    49
See reviews for
904
1,291
152
1,613
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 5yr wedding anniversary at the Radisson Blu Chicago during the Labor Day weekend. The outside of the hotel is beautiful! Indeed, even the architectural river cruise tour mentions the Radisson Blu's unique design.

The Radisson Blu Chicago is also conveniently located. We walked almost everywhere. There are a lot of restaurants, stores, and bars nearby.

The lobby of the hotel is breathtaking. It's large, but not too large. It is also very elegant, modern, and classy. We really liked the lighting and the restaurant in the background.

Despite it being Labor Day weekend, we were given a complimentary upgrade to a spacious room with a view of the park and the lake. The room was very modern. It was the most modern hotel that I have every stayed at. It had hard wood floors, a wrap around balcony, a fridge, flat screen tv, and a very nice bathroom. Everything was clean.

With all that being said, the hotel staff is what makes this hotel so special. Everyone from the check-in desk employee to the manager treated us as though we were the only hotel guests staying at the property. They were all very nice and very helpful.

In conclusion, we really enjoyed our stay at the Radisson Blu Chicago. If we ever go back to Chicago, we will be sure to stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor so you can appreciate the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! I am honored you spent your anniversary with us, and I could not be happier that you had such a wonderful experience at the hotel. I will be sure to share your compliments with our team. I hope we see you again soon!

Happy Anniversary,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hi all,

I'm from Ireland and just back home after spending 7 nights in Radisson Blu Aqua, Chicago.
There is nothing I could fault with this hotel. Amazing location right beside millenium park, art gallery and 5 mins from Michigen Avenue where all the shops are. The restaurant filinis is fab and so is bar. The rooms are so comfy and swimming pool was amazing with hot tub also...be sure to get up there early! and lastly staff were so great!

Room Tip: we had great room but some had a balcony which would have been nice as it was great weather when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy that you loved both the hotel and Filini and that you enjoyed the location and view. I hope we see you again the next time you are in Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop's Stortford, Herts, England
Level Contributor
403 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were in room 1625, balcony, park view. I took a previous reviewers advice and asked for a corner room - great recommendation!

The room was massive in size, spotlessly clean, very comfortable bed - we slept SO well - very large bathroom with huge bath which I loved, seperate walk in shower and loo, plus work area with large desk at one end (with second tv!).

There was mini bar but we never touched it. Coffee maker and assorted tea bags. We took a kettle as the coffee maker is useless for brewing tea! Lovely large mugs and complimentary bottled water in the room.

The room had 3 sets of floor to ceiling double windows and one single, so it felt incredibly light and airy. Two windows opened and the balcony was a big bonus. We turned the a/c off and had a super cool breeze come through the balcony and windows. We were not disturbed at night either with everything open. The view over the park was lovely and we could see Navy Pier - at sunrise and at night the view was even more special.

Very large safe in room plus high quality iron and ironing board and hairdryer. Wifi was free, why can't UK hotels be sensible and do this!!

The hotel's location is spot on for tourists, everything to see is not far away and easily walkable. The excellent Mariano's supermarket and cafe are 2 minutes walk away and we got first class food and fruit etc from there so didn't eat in the hotel.

All the staff we met were wonderfully friendly, cheerful and helpful.

It was a lovely touch to find the 'birthday' plate in the room on arrival!

I'd recommend the Blu Aqua whole heartedly and really hope we can go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, park view with balcony if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dedicatedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
I can't thank you enough for your wonderful review. I am honored that you spent your birthday celebration with us, and I am happy that you loved your room and view. I am also glad that our location was ideal for all of your favorite destinations here in the city. I hope that we see you again on your next trip to Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We've just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel. I chose it on the basis of the reviews from the Trip Advisor community. They didn't let us down. (We normally do our own travel arrangements but this was a big birthday - the big 60 - for me so we let an agent handle it all. BUT we named the hotel we wanted.)
I can only reiterate all the postives that have been published. The location is wonderful, there is a business centre with free internet access, the rooms are spacious and as for the bathrooms - well I wanted to ship the bath tub home....!
Also it's right across the street from the Fairmont, which although bigger I don't think could be any better than the Radisson. Highly recommended, we had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: If you want a bath tub as well as a high tech shower don't forget to ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KokoLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! I am truly honored that you chose to spend your 60th birthday celebration with us! I am glad that you loved your room and had a great experience in Chicago. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stunning / unique architectural "must stay" top shelf hotel. It is the first Radisson Blu Hotel in the United States. The management and staff were focused on the customer experience. This was business trip with a little pleasure thrown in. The views were great, the room was comfortable, clean, and ultra modern / contemporary design. The hotel is within walking distance from Millennium Park, North Michigan Avenue and the Chicago lakefront. We enjoyed the Fitness Centre and spa couple with the outdoor garden, complete with running trail and lap pool. A stunning / unique architectural "must stay" top shelf hotel.

By the way, the bacon a breakfast was the "BEST" ever.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaptownCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am thrilled that you loved everything about your stay, right down to the bacon served at breakfast! I will be sure to share your compliments with our team. I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Chicago!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here for three nights for a conference hosted there.

The room was clean and modern, with a very funky wardrobe. I always appreciate hotels where they have iron & ironing boards in the room without you having to ask. Wi-fi was fast and free, another plus.

I had no mobile reception whatsoever in my room (with T-mobile) which was a real nuisance.

I had a Park View room with a balcony, from where I could see Millennium Park, just. It was a really easy stroll to the park from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yevs19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. I am also glad to hear that your conference went well. I would, however, like to apologize that you did not have a proper phone connection in your room. I am looking further into this with our IT Manager, and I am sorry for any inconvenience this caused. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,302 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,045 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 189 in Chicago
989 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-7801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the upper upscale tier of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing