We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Ranked #19 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was my first time staying at this hotel, and I was very positively suprised.

I stayed for business 2 nights, and very professional and helpfull staff.

Nice large walk in shower, which was a perfect way to start the morning, after a cup of coffee from the coffemaker in the room.

I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your review! I am glad that your business trip was relaxing and enjoyable! I have shared your compliments with our team. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the city!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,273
    756
    247
    76
    49
See reviews for
880
1,261
146
1,568
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights for business/leisure. The room was nice but small even for an upgrade to corner king. The bathroom was nice sized and everything in the room was clean and new. I was concerned about the noise from the fire station next door but the interior was very quiet! The fitness center was great. I will say the bar was unappealing once you sat down to be served. Missed the mark on that one. Overall an ok stay for a reasonable amount of money. Not the place to bring kids or if you are trying to be a tourist - enough out of the way to make it a pain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClevelandFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for leaving us a review. I am happy that you enjoyed your overall experience at the hotel, but I would like to apologize that you did not enjoy the bar space or our location. I am truly sorry for any disappointment we caused for you and hope that you will consider returning in the future.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Cove, Barbados
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were very impressed with this hotel, we stayed here for 4 nights from the 14-18 September, the hotel staff were very professional (friendly and helpful), the rooms fantastic, very modern and spacious with good sized comfortable beds and an equally good sized bathroom with a large walk in shower room (heaven), the restaurant/bar although a little pricey was very nice and the reception area beautifully presented. The hotel is in a prime location, close to all the parks, museums, shops etc, this was our second trip to Chicago, we came here last year as part of a bigger trip staying at a different hotel (we spent 2 days in Chicago then flew to Las Vegas for 3 days then drove to San Diego and up along the west coast to San Francisco stopping off at various places along the way) but due to a cancelled flight and bad weather we didn't get time to see and do everything we wanted to, however because we'd been so impressed by what we'd seen of the City last year we decided to come back again this year and were so glad we did, if we came back to Chicago in the future I would have no hesitation in staying at the Radisson Blu or recommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giggles9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review! I couldn't be happier that you returned to the city and chose to stay with us! I am truly honored that you loved our hotel and location and that you took the time to recommend us to others. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I had never been to Chicago and knowing I had just 24 hours in the city made my choice of hotel extremely important. The Radisson Blu Aqua was everything I had hoped for. The location was fabulous - we were able to walk to Grant Park for free dance lessons, to Millennium Park to see the amazing Cloud Gate sculpture, Giordano's for the famous Chicago Stuffed Pizza, and a quick cab ride to Navy Pier to ride the carousel and enjoy the live music in the beer garden. The Radisson Blue is a new hotel, and the decor is modern but warm. The rooms are beautiful and the showers are HUGE! We had breakfast at Filini in the hotel, and it was one of the best I have ever had. Italian crepes with nutella, banana & strawberry compote were out of this world and the service was amazing. Every single staff member we dealt with at this hotel - from the waiters to the front desk - were friendly, happy to help, and knowledgeable. I hope I will get the chance to return to this wonderful city and this fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your review! It sounds like you had a wonderful 24 hours in the city, and I am honored that we were the perfect hotel to help you enjoy your time in Chicago. I hope that we see you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Everything in the hotel was ultra modern and done in shades of blue. Definitely made a hotel room look much different from the rest. This hotel used top technology to make everything very secure. There wasn't anything typical about this hotel, including the lobby, which there wasn't much of.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AR H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your review! I am happy that you enjoyed your time with us and that you liked the decor. We hope to see you back at the hotel soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at many, many hotels in the US and overseas for business and pleasure. From NYC to Arkansas to California and Alaska and I've seen both horrible hotels and excellent hotels so I can definitely leave an honest review. My stay in Chicago was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and professional. The hotel itself was updated, clean, and comfortable and had every amenity I needed; pool, gym, Internet, restaurant, etc. The food in the restaurant was actually very, very good unlike many hotel restaurants and the Chef even came out and spoke with me personally to ensure I was enjoying everything. I felt that was very professional and a great sign this hotel is always doing their best to please their guests and always looking to improve.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, the rates were very fair, the hotel was clean, modern, and comfortable, and the staff was wonderful. I look forward to returning to this hotel next time I am in Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your review! I couldn't be happier that you had a great stay with us or that you took the time to share your experience with others. I have shared your compliments with our Chef and the rest of our team and everyone was honored to have made an impact on your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Blu Aqua is aesthetically pleasing. Fresh, modern, inviting from the lobby and beyond. Not noisy. Great location and yet just off the busy streets.

Front desk personnel - friendly, professional, helpful. The hotel room - very impressive and still feels very new. View of lake and Navy pier - better than a postcard. The outdoor track - cushioned and not a boring oval. Meeting food - very good and the hot water and coffee urns were refreshed during the breaks so everyone had access to the beverage even if at the end of the line.

Loved the bathroom! Great tub, the shared frosted glass door that slid for privacy either for the toilet or the shower. Thankfully, there wasn't a third phone in the bathroom.

The coffee/tea station. High quality tea choices with mugs, not stryrofoam.

Why wasn't this absolutely excellent?
The elevators require a read of the room "key" - fine, but that includes going back down to the lobby after entering from a room floor and every single person needs to flash the room card to get upstairs and have the door open.
The rooms are configured differently - which is cool Finding my room from the elevators was an adventure for the first day.
The universal remote also includes buttons to turn off the room lights and control the thermostat. The features did not work on the remote I had - part of the fun the first night was finding out how to turn off the lights and choosing which of the 2 thermostats to use for the sleeping area.
The map for the property is not enough - signage to get to the Pacific ballroom would be helpful. the escalators are hidden. Getting from the guest room to the conference center requires getting to the lobby, crossing and then a meander to the conference area.
The appearance of the elevators for the condo owners and the apartment renters made locating the hotel elevators an active activity instead of a no-brainer push the button after exercising.
The night that was busy for the next door firehouse disrupted sleep with the siren of the trucks going out on calls.

Room Tip: The view from 1025 included the Navy Pier and sunrise over the lake. The view is to the east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugarsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your review! I am thrilled that you had a great time at the hotel and that your meetings went so well. I have shared your compliments with our Front Office and Banquets team. I would, however, like to apologize that some of the room features and meeting locations were not better explained. I am truly sorry for any inconvenience this caused for you. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-7801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the upper upscale tier of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing