We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Blu standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Ranked #19 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not up to Blu standard”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is the first Radisson Blu in North America. It does not meet the standard for the brand that you see in Europe. The rooms are nice and are fine. But the hotel seems designed to minimize staffing. No one offered to help with our bags. One morning no one was on the front desk to check-in customers for a while. No attendant at the pool or the gym. There are also no towels for the gym, or for the steam or sauna. That is weak for a hotel of this standard. Basically the hotel is only one part of a skyscraper that is mostly condos and apartments. On the plus side, the hotel is well-located, and the pool and health club are large and very nice since they are for both the residents and the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for leaving us a review. I am truly sorry that you had a disappointing experience with us and that you did not feel we lived up to the Radisson Blu standard of other European hotels. I am sharing your comments with our team and am truly sorry for any delay we caused for you. I hope that you will return to the hotel so that we can recoup your confidence in us and show you the service levels we strive to reach.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,357
    774
    258
    78
    49
See reviews for
904
1,291
152
1,613
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Castroville, TX
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is the outside balconies and the overall effect they have on the exterior of the building. But once inside, things become claustrophobic, cluttered and confusing. One guest told me he felt like he was in the interior of a cruise ship, with passageways to nowhere. Multiple banks of elevators scattered here and there, hallway graphics that clash and cryptically inform. To top it off, every move you make has to be done with your room key card, even getting towels at the pool. Only James Bond would be happy with this set up.

Checking in the lobby is for some reason is something of an afterthought, in a cramped area to the left of the main door. Yet there is a huge volume of space when you first enter extending into infinite space dedicated to just sitting on large sofas and chairs looking cool and very Blu. Maybe these people have given up looking for their rooms.

The rooms themselves are light, airy, and very over lit. A dimmer would have been nice. Bathroom doors slide but never really close, and you have to enter the shower to turn on the water as it rains on you overhead. A perfect symbol to the many minor annoyances that this hotel offers. 

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Castrolandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for leaving us a review. I am happy that you enjoyed the exterior of the hotel and your balcony, but I would like to apologize that you were disappointed by the interior design. I also understand your frustration regarding using your key to access amenity areas. We do this to ensure guest safety since we are a mixed-use building. I am truly sorry for any inconvenience this caused for you. We hope that you will return so that we can recoup your confidence in us.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumont, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

RADISSON BLU HOTEL, CHICAGO: We recently stayed two nights at the new Radisson Blu Hotel in Chicago on our way back to New Jersey. We had tickets to a Chicago Cubs game at Wrigley Field on Sunday so just really needed a nice place to stay. I found the hotel online and liked that they had an optional upgrade to a balcony room if available for $11 and they had great facilities (indoor/outdoor pool, gym, restaurant, etc.).
We loved this hotel and would go back there in a heartbeat. First of all, the check-in was welcoming, efficient, and knowledgeable. Our upgrade was available. The concierge told us the best way to get to Wrigley. The room was beautiful! New, boutique décor, spotlessly clean, impeccably equipped; the floor of the foyer is covered with large black galaxy tiles that contain little flecks of metal. Small, high-intensity lights from the ceiling bounce light off the metal, creating little circles of light on the walls and furniture. Very bling! The tile carries through to the bathroom which also has a black galaxy sink. The ceiling lights are here, also, flashing little lights everywhere. The shower is large and in a separate room next to it there is a toilet. The opaque glass door to the shower is hung on a barn-door fixture so it can slide. You can have privacy either in the shower area or the toilet area. If the shower is left open, it is large enough so water does not go out in the room. I can’t say enough about the décor. I took notes because I’m redoing a bathroom at home.
We had a delicious meal at the hotel restaurant, Fellini. Only complaint was the noise level which I suspect was the result of putting small (8” square?) tiles on the ceiling which are sure to bounce sound all over. The next night the Concierge recommended a French restaurant to us within walking distance which was delicious, quiet, and appropriately priced.

Thanks to this hotel, we had a great weekend. And the Cubbies won!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveMerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your review! I am happy that you had a great stay and dinner in Filini! We really appreciate that you took the time to share your experience and are honored that you are taking some of our design element ideas back to use at your own home. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the city!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My parents were planning on going to Chicago for my father's 81st birthday and their 43rd wedding anniversary. When I asked where they were planning on staying, they replied 'Red Roof Inn'. Noooooooo! I quickly called Blu Aqua Hotel and booked a 2-night stay (my treat!) for them. Blu Aqua was awesome! They first looked to see if there were any specials they had for seniors. They didn't at the time, so they offered a breakfast and balcony room package deal.

Blu Aqua upgraded my parents room to a corner room (much bigger) with wrap around balcony. They had beautiful chocolates waiting in their room (a birthday and anniversary gift from hotel). They also allowed my parents a super late check out.

While in Chicago, my Dad got his wallet snatched (not anywhere near the hotel). The Concierge totally helped Dad cancel his cards by looking online for phone numbers, etc. This would have taken a huge amount of time (and a lot of stress) for my non-tech savvy parents to do this on their own. I totally appreciate how Blu Aqu took care of my parents (especially after the wallet snatching - and helped make such an enjoyable trip).

My parents are older (Mom - 72, Dad - 81). It's nice to know someone (Blu Aqu) is looking out for them - when I'm thousands of miles away. THANK YOU, Blu Aqu!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeekendWarrior_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your review! It was an honor to host your parents during their celebration and we very much appreciate your kind words. I am sorry to hear about your father's wallet, but I am happy that our team was able to assist. I have shared your compliments with everyone; we hope to see you and your parents back at the hotel soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was here for a conference and was fully prepared to find an over-hyped, average hotel geared towards mid-week business travelers (i.e. not bad, not great), but I was pleasantly surprised. The wonderful location aside, the decor is very cool and modern (but not overtly abstract or funky), service was impeccable, and my room was super-clean and comfortable (that shower!). Not to mention the meeting facilities were actually really great, and the continental breakfast quite above-average. I would definitely stay here again....maybe next time I'll even get a chance to try out the outdoor sundeck + pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYerrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your review! I am thrilled that you were impressed with our facilities and that you thought we lived up to the hype! I have shared your comments with our team and everyone was happy that you had a great stay and a great experience with our banquests department. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed four nights in Chicago and the location of this hotel was great. The building itself is worth seeing even if you don't stay there. The service was impeccable everywhere, specially in the restaurant. We had a standard room, which even though was rather small, had everything we needed and was stylishly decorated. The only thing that I didn't like much is something I've seen more and more in modern hotels: the bathroom had a sliding door and not a "real" door. That gave us a sense of loss of privacy while in the toilette. I consider this a case of "over design". Quite likely we will return in a future visit to Chicago, city that is worth many visits and the Radisson Blu Aqua is a place we'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PH2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for leaving us a review! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and have shared your compliments with our team. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the city!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Outstanding staff, comfortable stay, great view and a location that puts you wherever you want to be in minutes. We were impressed. The rooms are modern, clean and anticipate all your nees. A wonderful stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dascoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your review! I couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay and that our location was perfect for everything you wanted to do in the city. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,302 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 189 in Chicago
2,044 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 189 in Chicago
989 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-7801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the upper upscale tier of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing