We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Ranked #19 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

I really wanted to love this hotel. With the great reviews and description on the website, I was really excited about staying here. However, as I listen to the elevator as it dings constantly, I am truly disappointed. Why, oh why, is it necessary to ding everytime it stops? I have never been in a hotel that has the elevator do that. Also, my door doesn't close properly. I can barely get in unless I push down extremely hard on the handle. Once inside the room, I have to put my entire weight against the door to be able to close it properly and lock it. Then when I leave, I have to put my entire weight against it to unlock while slamming it shut to make sure it closes when I leave. That is simply ridiculous. I will not return.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the elevators or you'll be annoyed all day and up all night listening to the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMom249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for the review. I am very sorry to see that you did not enjoy your time at the hotel and would like to apologize for the issues that you mentioned. I have sent you a private message in the hopes to get more information regarding your room so that we can properly look into this problem. We are fully ADA compliant which is why the elevators have an indicator on each floor, but we are looking into the volume level to see if this can be adjusted. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to recoup your confidence in us in the future.

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,206
    741
    238
    76
    47
See reviews for
847
1,240
144
1,540
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

I recently stayed at the Radisson Blu Aqua on business, and can highly recommend it for a business or leisure stay in Chicago. I found the rooms great value for money, the gym is MASSIVE, the rooms are good size and the bathrooms are very modern, the service at reception and in the restaurant is fantastic. And only one block from Michigan Ave, I'm definitely staying here next time I'm in Chicago!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AusKMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments! I am thrilled to hear that you plan to return on your next trip to the city and that you had a great stay. We hope to see you soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha County
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

This was the most interesting, futuristic, exciting hotel my wife and I have ever stayed in. It has features in the room not seen in any hotels in Chicago: wave your card at the lock, and the door opens; walk into the room, the lights automatically turn on; wonderful and super-designed bathroom with interesting features; great view of the Chicago River, Wriggley building and other cool building, Navy Pier, and the lake - and we were not in a premium room!; in the "Near Eastside" neighborhood, which has its own 2 sq. block city park next to it; also very near was the fantastic Mariano's Fresh Market grocery store for great eats and groceries and wine/beer; it is also across the street from the Prudential Building, Standard Oil Building, and a block from Millenium Park and Michgan Ave. You cannot be more in the midst of city life - restaurants, museums, cinemas, and shopping than here. This hotel was so much fun to stay at for a few nights (New Years weekend), and we loved it!

Room Tip: You pay a little extra for a "park view". May not be worth it. We loved the view toward t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dzookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thanks for your great review! I am happy that you spent your New Year's celebration with us and enjoyed all of the room features and the view! I hope that we see you back at the hotel soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

I had no complaints at all.
The room was beautiful, clean, quiet and comfortable. The bathroom also was beautiful and clean. Wifi was fast. I was located 15 floors directly above a fire station and had no problems any of the 4 nights I was there with noise. It's a quiet location but walking distance to Michigan Ave, Millenium Park, the Loop, and a beautiful new market. Best gym facilities of any hotel I've stayed at in Chicago (of 10).
New favourite for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaerolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you everything went so well! It is truly an honor to be your new favorite in Chicago! We hope to see you back again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

A great choice- well located and well priced. The rooms are brand new and the facilities are great. Hotel is paperless so that I found unique and the gym/ spa facilities are great- even have an outdoor running track!

Highly recommended and just a good hotel- well done!

Room Tip: Enjoy the running track- free Wifi in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed the facilities and got to try the outdoor running track! I hope to see you back again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
213 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed a weekend in January. Beautiful rooms, though the doors in the bathrooms are a bit unusual and not so pratical... But nice design. The coffee machine in the room is great. Ordrer room service on my first night and it arrived promptly and was very nice. Had breakfast there every day and I felt the value for money was good - great service by the breakfast staff. Reception staff was also verey firendly and the door man is such a nice guy! Had dinner in the Filini restaurant one night and the food was great, but there was a cold wind coming from the windows - so if the night is cold I recommend asking for a table away from the windows. Location: great - walking distance to everywhere!

Room Tip: The higher up your room is the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for the review! I am so happy to see that you enjoyed the hotel and Filini! I have passed your compliments on to our team and everyone was honored that you took the time to leave such a nice review. We hope to see you back again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

I travel to Chicago often, but I don't often review the hotels because let's face it - Most Chicago hotels have small rooms, dark hallways and that "musty" building smell.

The Radisson Blue Aqua was NONE of these things. My city-view room actually had a view of the city! The rooms were large and comfortable with a great desk space, VERY comfortable bed with superior linens and love the squishy pillows. The wonderful lighting options in the room were a great benefit. The furnishings were modern without giving an "Ikea modern" vibe. The bathroom was fabulous with a chic glass door walk-in shower that I now depserately want in my own home. :-) There was also great light in the hallways which are lined with fun wall art. Best of all? It was quiet. Peope were coming and going, but the solidly built room ensured those noises didn't impact me.

I arrived early for check-in and they greeted me promptly, they found me a room and even escorted me to the elevators. My room service lunch was delicious and the concierge recommened Asian cuisine was a divine (and delivered!) dinner.

I attended an on-site conference the second day. The food at the conference FAR surpassed that which has been provided at other conference sites (hotels & clubs) in the city. The servers at our conference also far surpassed the typical service. They were attentive, helpful, respectful and friendly.

And when I left something behind? They Fed-Exed it to me next day!

I have a new favorite work hotel and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting an exciting night on the town - just for fun. They have really done a great job here. Go check them out!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radissonbluaqua, General Manager at Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
I can't thank you enough for the wonderful review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed everything from your checkin experience to room service to or banquets department! I have passed your compliments on to everyone and you really put a smile on our team's face! Thanks again! I hope that we see you back again soon!

All the best,

Pierre-Louis Giacotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#12 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#16 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Address: 221 N. Columbus Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-7801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel Chicago is the contemporary debut of Radisson Blu in North America. A true representation of the brand, it is designed to become a destination in itself. Radisson Blu is the luxury division of our global hotel brand, focusing on design, style and attention to detail in every respect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Travelocity, Agoda, Jetsetter and Despegar.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing