We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lang House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing experience”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Had the opportunity to stay for a long weekend. This was a treat from the clean quiet rooms to the rec room in the basement with games and magazines. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The choices for our breakfast were extraordinary and fresh. Wow this B & B is a hidden treasure in Rogers Park, IL. Its also next to a Frank Lloyd Wright house, the Emil Bach House.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Owzone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperChicago, Owner at Lang House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
The joy it brings us to know so many of our guests have a wonderful amazing experience here at our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
76
62
16
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is now the Lang House, formerly Cat’s Cradle. Very clean, quiet, and soothing. It’s like an oasis of calm and luxury. It’s quite cozy if you want to stay in and read or just a block from the lake if you want to go to the beach. Close enough to Loyola that if you have a child going there, it’s the perfect place to stay if you're coming up for homecoming or parent's weekend, etc. It's also beautifully decorated at the holidays. The prairie style architecture is authentic and the décor is quite beautiful inside – fits right in with the period. There’s a Frank Lloyd Wright house next door that has been restored. I think this was the last urban house Wright designed – it was on the Chicago architectural tour this fall. The train station is a five minute walk – about a block away, and there is also a very close express Lake Shore bus stop that takes you right down to Miracle Mile. Coming back on this bus, you are dropped right in front of the building. How great is that if your arms are full of bags? Has a few very nice restaurants and bars like the Public House (can walk to it – try the grapefruit beer, Stiegl Radler; very refreshing in the summer). The innkeepers are new – just took over a couple of months ago, and are very friendly and know the city and history of the house and the period well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Now named The Lang House, this B&B is an extremely attractive and comfortable accommodation. The design is Prairie style, elegant and not fussy. The property has been beautifully restored to the highest standard. Next door is a Frank Lloyd Wright property that is being restored as well; it will be available for tours in the near future. The train station is a block away for quick trips into the Loop. The neighborhood has many fine restaurants and shopping opportunities. Lake Michigan is a block away as well. Breakfasts are fresh and varied, and the coffee is excellent all day long. If we did not feel like going out, we could read or relax in comfort in the living area and the reading room.

The innkeepers are delightful people, friendly and extremely helpful. In the interests of full disclosure, we knew Wade and Bruce before they took over here, but that simply means we knew they would be perfect hosts. They did everything in their power to make our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayes_update
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at the Lang House (previously Cat's Cradle) B & B over Christmas while visiting our son who lives in the neighborhood. It could not have been a more perfect experience. We felt like the elegant architecture, tasteful interior, and modern conveniences were just for us. Our bedroom was large, spotlessly clean, quiet, and relaxing. We made breakfast at our convenience in the well-stocked kitchen. In the late afternoon there was a fire in the parlor fireplace. We even played shuffleboard in the downstairs game room. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on future visits to the Rogers Park neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My fiancee and I really lucked out when we came across the Cat's Cradle B&B. We were looking for a special place to spend our anniversary weekend in Chicago, and the Cat's Cradle Bed & Breakfast was PERFECT! It is a lovely, immaculately clean bed & breakfast, just a block from Lake Michigan. I really liked that we had our own private, full bathroom while also being able to experience the warm, cozy feeling that comes with the communal experience that a bed and breakfast provides. Bruce and Wayde were extremely welcoming, hospitable hosts that went out of their way to provide us with the inside scoop on best places to eat and visit while we were in Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Spent a long weekend in Chicago with my fiancé. Enjoyed our stay so much. The new innkeepers are fantastic. Really enjoyed the late night surprise of fresh baked chocolate chip cookies.

Bed was comfy, the other guests were considerate and the bathrooms clean. BopNgrill just down the street was as good as it looked on the food network.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckB4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013

It was my partner's first trip to Chicago and we stayed at the Cat's Cradle B&B. It was a charming B&B run by two wonderful inn keepers (Bruce and Wayde) who had a lot of knowledge of the architecture of the city of Chicago and the surrounding areas. The inn was next to a Frank Lloyd Wright house that they were remodeling back to its original glory of the 1920's. We stayed in a wonderful room that faced the Main Street. It was cozy and comfortable, but the best part was the bathroom had a heated floor perfect for the cold winters in Chicago. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sera C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
Super 8 Chicago IL
#7 of 8 in Evanston
410 reviews
The Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 190 in Chicago
322 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lang House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lang House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lang House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7421 N Sheridan Rd, Chicago, IL 60626-2011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Rogers Park
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lang House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the northern part of the city, only a half a block from Lake Michigan and right in-between Loyola and Northwestern University. Easy access to mass transit and plenty of room to stretch out after a long day. We are also able to host small weddings or gatherings of 40 people or less. Extra rates do apply for gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lang House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing