We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, comfortable and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lang House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at the Lang House (previously Cat's Cradle) B & B over Christmas while visiting our son who lives in the neighborhood. It could not have been a more perfect experience. We felt like the elegant architecture, tasteful interior, and modern conveniences were just for us. Our bedroom was large, spotlessly clean, quiet, and relaxing. We made breakfast at our convenience in the well-stocked kitchen. In the late afternoon there was a fire in the parlor fireplace. We even played shuffleboard in the downstairs game room. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on future visits to the Rogers Park neighborhood.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 222 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

My fiancee and I really lucked out when we came across the Cat's Cradle B&B. We were looking for a special place to spend our anniversary weekend in Chicago, and the Cat's Cradle Bed & Breakfast was PERFECT! It is a lovely, immaculately clean bed & breakfast, just a block from Lake Michigan. I really liked that we had our own private, full bathroom while also being able to experience the warm, cozy feeling that comes with the communal experience that a bed and breakfast provides. Bruce and Wayde were extremely welcoming, hospitable hosts that went out of their way to provide us with the inside scoop on best places to eat and visit while we were in Chicago.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Spent a long weekend in Chicago with my fiancé. Enjoyed our stay so much. The new innkeepers are fantastic. Really enjoyed the late night surprise of fresh baked chocolate chip cookies.

Bed was comfy, the other guests were considerate and the bathrooms clean. BopNgrill just down the street was as good as it looked on the food network.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuckB4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

It was my partner's first trip to Chicago and we stayed at the Cat's Cradle B&B. It was a charming B&B run by two wonderful inn keepers (Bruce and Wayde) who had a lot of knowledge of the architecture of the city of Chicago and the surrounding areas. The inn was next to a Frank Lloyd Wright house that they were remodeling back to its original glory of the 1920's. We stayed in a wonderful room that faced the Main Street. It was cozy and comfortable, but the best part was the bathroom had a heated floor perfect for the cold winters in Chicago. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sera C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was actually my first experience with a Bed & Breakfast and absolutely loved it! The house is gorgeous - down to the heated tile floors in the bathrooms. We stayed three nights and I probably had some of the best sleep of my life. The innkeepers are warm and eager to assist but also appreciate your privacy. The inn is within walking distance to a quaint neighborhood with a lovely cafe and bar. Visitors can also easily walk to the nearby train line. When possible, we will definitely stay here each time we visit Chicago!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachwriter67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed here for four nights, first for Loyola Family Weekend and then for business. Susan, the owner/innkeeper, was a helpful, cordial host. The home has been stunningly restored to the year in which it was built (1919), but not at the expense of modern luxuries. For Loyola families, it's an easy, safe, 20-minute walk to the Lakeshore Campus or a five-minute bus ride just steps from the front door of the house. The "L" red line Jarvis stop is a five minute walk away, and there is a great little restaurant (Tow Bar) and wine bar (Taste) near the Jarvis stop as well. Rogers Park is one of Chicago's most eclectic neighborhoods. I can't imagine staying in a sterile hotel when comfortable and cozy accommodations such as Cat's Cradle in such a cool neighborhood are available at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the immaculate Cat's Cradle twice in July. The innkeeper, Susan, is always hospitable and welcoming, ready always with any assistance you might need, but unobtrusive. The large 'Craftsman' house has been sensitively restored, with good clean lines in quiet good taste (thankfully unadorned by the kitschy clutter of many B&Bs.) The guest rooms, each with bathroom, are attractive, large, clean, comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast is self serve, with a lavish array of options. We breakfasted on the large deck, but the large dining room and lounge are equally attractive options. There's a large games room and excellent laundry. A block to the lakeside, two blocks to the L, buses right outside, in a safe, pretty, quiet area 30 minutes from down town, Cat's Cradle was perfect for our requirements. There's even a Frank Lloyd Wright house being restored next door.
We're looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilaryJ04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Lincoln Park
Villa D'Citta
Villa D'Citta
#4 of 22 in Chicago
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
West Loop
The Publishing House Bed and Breakfast
Near North Side
The Sono Chicago
The Sono Chicago
#5 of 22 in Chicago
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lang House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lang House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7421 N Sheridan Rd, Chicago, IL 60626-2011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Rogers Park
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range: $137 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lang House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the northern part of the city, only a half a block from Lake Michigan and right in-between Loyola and Northwestern University. Easy access to mass transit and plenty of room to stretch out after a long day. We are also able to host small weddings or gatherings of 40 people or less. Extra rates do apply for gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Lang House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing