We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B Outside the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lang House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 23 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B Outside the City”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Cat's Cradle for 3 nights in August, 2012. We highly recommend this B&B! Here are a few details:

Location: It is located in Roger's Park, which is the farthest north one can go in Chicago before leaving the city proper. It is also two blocks from the Lake. The neighborhood is safe and there are a lot of people bustling around. And cameras, my gosh, there are cameras everywhere! There are lots of neighborhoods in the area to explore if you desire. We had oru car so we drove to Evanston one evening to Lou Minalti'es for pizza and to Andersonville one day just to explore.

Transportation: Right across the street is the bus depot where we caught the city bus for 50-minute ride into the city. I think it was $2.25 pp each way. It have us a chance to see the city so we didn't mind. On the way back from the city we rode the express bus so the ride was only about 30 minutes. We did not use the rail system at all during our visit.

The B&B - Well, it's a beautifully restored home with beautiful woodwork and architectural details. The main rooms are on the first floor, bedrooms and private baths on the 2nd, the innkeepers live on the 3rd. We only ran into the innkeeper a couple times during our visit (just a quick 'hello, enjoy your day' in passing), The kitchen on the main floor is fully accessible to guests and is always stocked with coffee, tea, yogurt, cereal, milk, fresh fruit and pastries. The have a sun deck where we ate our breakfast each morning. We know there were others guest but we never ran into them. Our bedroom had the most comfortable bed and the sheets were divine. So nice to come home to after a day of walking around the city.

One more thing......this B&B is right next door to a house built by Frank Lloyd Wright. My husband just thought that was so cool. What a pleasant surprise to find that out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Speakeasy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
71
60
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vinemont, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Having never stayed in a B&B before, I wasn't sure what to expect. Upon arrival at Cat's Cradle, I was warmly greeted by the owner and given a tour of the magnificant home. The detail to restoration was extraordinary and the house had a rich history to the area. Everything was immaculate! The community kitchen was fully stocked with all a traveler's breakfast and snacking needs including gormet coffee and tasty pasteries. My room was beautiful and maintained the air of "Old Chicago" in the walls and decor with an updated bathroom including fluffy robes and all ammenities one could hope for. Since it was summer, I didn't try the heated floors or towel rack...but what a luxury that would be on a cold morning! The bed was fitted with soft sheets and coverings and was so comfortable that except for family packed days, I could have lounged there for the entire stay. I would recommend this cozy B&B to anyone traveling to the Chicago area. Bus lines, taxis and the EL are close by so a journey into the city is no issue at all. The lake is within walking distance for swimming or strolling and the neighborhood is a joy to walk through, with families out and about. Anytime I am in Chicago again I will make this B&B my home away from home...I hope you will do the same!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Members of my bridal party and family stayed at Cat's Cradle for my wedding last week and we also used some of their space for our rehearsal dinner and post-wedding brunch. The house is beautifully restored and the public spaces (living and dining rooms, sun room & basement) are spacious, comfortable, and homey. They offered us use of their grill for our rehearsal dinner bbq and since we had rented out the whole house, we could make full use of the kitchen as well. (Though as far as I know, even if you're just staying in one room, you can still use the kitchen to cook yourself breakfast in the morning -- check with the proprietors first, though, to make sure). They're flexible, friendly, and generally great people there. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: To see photos of the individual rooms, start the process of actually reserving a room (for some far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saeri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We have just returned from a four night stay. During that time the trash was emptied once at our request. The beds were not made, the room and bathroom not cleaned, supplies were not restocked. We had one face cloth, one face towel and one bath towel apiece for four days. When we left the waste baskets were overflowing. We were told that housekeeping services we not provided. This was not an inexpensive bed and breakfast. Location great and good self service breakfast but poor in other respects.

Room Tip: Ask about housekeeping services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperChicago, Owner at Lang House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Chicago.

As is with most smaller B&B's we do not offer daily room service. We were unaware of your concerns until you told us at check out.

We will make it a point to add that there is no daily room service such as larger hotels offer to our reservation policies and it currently is listed already under our rooms description that we do not enter your room during your stay unless requested and that sheets and towels are only changed for stays of one week or longer in an effort to help the environment.

Thank you for choosing us as your lodging of choice and hope you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful B&B and The Windy City.

Regards,

Bob & Susan Patrick
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We agree with the comments made by all previous reviews. Will add that it is more like you own home away from home, right next door to a Frank Lloyd Wright house as well, much in the same line. Breakfast selection is great and well stocked in a completely modernized kitchen, please of room for dinning and just plain relaxation. Rooms are great, clean and charmingly comfortable.

Room Tip: If you need more that just hooks on a wall to hang your clothes ask for a room with a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Lovely bed and breakfast. They have thought of everything you might need. Great location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowbunny8358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperChicago, Owner at Lang House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. As the new owners and Innkeepers we hope to meet you soon on your return to theChicago area. We've added some new amenities and hope your enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed in a nice, clean room in this beautiful house. It's all very new, bright and shiny! Two blocks away from L-train, 20 minutes ride from downtown Chicago, and very close to the lakefront. And lovely hosts as well!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rula03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperChicago, Owner at Lang House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Come back again, we are the new Owners and Innkeepers and would love to have the chance to meet you. Also the opportunity to improve your stay even more! We have some nice new additions and comforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
Rogers Park
Hampton Inn Chicago North - Loyola Station
Super 8 Chicago IL
#7 of 8 in Evanston
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 189 in Chicago
317 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#13 of 189 in Chicago
2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lang House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lang House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lang House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7421 N Sheridan Rd, Chicago, IL 60626-2011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Rogers Park
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lang House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the northern part of the city, only a half a block from Lake Michigan and right in-between Loyola and Northwestern University. Easy access to mass transit and plenty of room to stretch out after a long day. We are also able to host small weddings or gatherings of 40 people or less. Extra rates do apply for gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lang House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing