We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No housekeeping services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lang House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We have just returned from a four night stay. During that time the trash was emptied once at our request. The beds were not made, the room and bathroom not cleaned, supplies were not restocked. We had one face cloth, one face towel and one bath towel apiece for four days. When we left the waste baskets were overflowing. We were told that housekeeping services we not provided. This was not an inexpensive bed and breakfast. Location great and good self service breakfast but poor in other respects.

Room Tip: Ask about housekeeping services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperChicago, Owner at Lang House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Chicago.

As is with most smaller B&B's we do not offer daily room service. We were unaware of your concerns until you told us at check out.

We will make it a point to add that there is no daily room service such as larger hotels offer to our reservation policies and it currently is listed already under our rooms description that we do not enter your room during your stay unless requested and that sheets and towels are only changed for stays of one week or longer in an effort to help the environment.

Thank you for choosing us as your lodging of choice and hope you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful B&B and The Windy City.

Regards,

Bob & Susan Patrick
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 217 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

We agree with the comments made by all previous reviews. Will add that it is more like you own home away from home, right next door to a Frank Lloyd Wright house as well, much in the same line. Breakfast selection is great and well stocked in a completely modernized kitchen, please of room for dinning and just plain relaxation. Rooms are great, clean and charmingly comfortable.

Room Tip: If you need more that just hooks on a wall to hang your clothes ask for a room with a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Lovely bed and breakfast. They have thought of everything you might need. Great location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowbunny8358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperChicago, Owner at Lang House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. As the new owners and Innkeepers we hope to meet you soon on your return to theChicago area. We've added some new amenities and hope your enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed in a nice, clean room in this beautiful house. It's all very new, bright and shiny! Two blocks away from L-train, 20 minutes ride from downtown Chicago, and very close to the lakefront. And lovely hosts as well!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rula03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperChicago, Owner at Lang House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Come back again, we are the new Owners and Innkeepers and would love to have the chance to meet you. Also the opportunity to improve your stay even more! We have some nice new additions and comforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Luigi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruce202014, Owner at Lang House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Philippe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panda1968_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
Rogers Park
Hampton Inn Chicago North - Loyola Station
Super 8 Chicago IL
#7 of 7 in Evanston
421 reviews
The Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 192 in Chicago
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Villa D'Citta
Villa D'Citta
#3 of 22 in Chicago
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lang House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lang House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7421 N Sheridan Rd, Chicago, IL 60626-2011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Rogers Park
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range: $177 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lang House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the northern part of the city, only a half a block from Lake Michigan and right in-between Loyola and Northwestern University. Easy access to mass transit and plenty of room to stretch out after a long day. We are also able to host small weddings or gatherings of 40 people or less. Extra rates do apply for gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Lang House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing