We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dark Rye Bread”
Review of Austrian Bakery

Austrian Bakery
Ranked #61 of 267 Bakeries in Chicago
Cuisines: Cafe, German, Austrian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Lincoln Park
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
928 reviews
698 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Great Dark Rye Bread”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Welcome to Austria. Great bakery goods. Small breakfast menu. Ambiance average. A place to sit down and relax. Not Frances' or Eleven Diner, but still a good choice. Do order their dark rye bread which is like pumpernickel bread.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarshBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“croissant + omelette sandwich = mind blown”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

LOVED the croissant omelette sandwich - perfect croissant; flaky and buttery goodness.
Schnitzel was sooo tasty as well (cordon bleu)
Everyone loved the apple strudel (me not so much...)

more details here: http://inagoodfoodmood.wordpress.com/2013/05/31/austrian-bakery-chicago/

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thought I died & woke up in heaven”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I'm only posting this because I won't be in this part of the city any more. I kept this one secret for a long time.... Sadly, I will give this one up so someone else can "find" it - though plenty of people have. Amazing baked desserts and cookies...but don't miss breakfast. The orange juice is fresh squeezed and virtually liquid oranges.....heavenly. I recommend the breakfast croissants or the brie and fruit breakfast with a pastry on the side - two of my favorites. Coffee is good. Service is great. The place is tiny - but hey that's how it goes with a one of a kind, eh?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank midwestmomforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cozy neighborhood cafe with European charm”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a great place to have breakfast or grab a coffee and pastry to go. The cranberry bread is excellent and all the baked goods are fresh. They have some central European classics like Apple Strudel and Linzertorte. I try to go here whenever I'm in Chicago.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rychlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It's not just a bakery..”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Oh yes. It does have lots of delicious european baked goods but don't miss out on their soups and sandwiches. Small place but staff is very attentive to customers whether they be picking out the pastry or sitting at a table.
Good fresh brewed coffee. I even got a sample of a cookie I was undecided about. Bought some of them, too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Medalert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austrian Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Austrian Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing