We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty cool! And free!”

Smith Museum of Stained Glass Windows
Attraction details
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Pretty cool! And free!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I had never been to the Pier before. Everything opens on the Pier at 10am. Well, we didn't know that and happened to get there around 8:30am. It's a long Pier so it took awhile to walk the entire length of it. Relaxing. Quiet. (Remember this is before everything opened.)

We discovered this "museum" quite by accident. We didn't know what was inside the building on the Pier. Well, this is one thing that is! It seems to span the entire building length. There are exhibits along the walls and also meandering into alcoves off the main walkway. They are well lit and beautiful. All who even casually walk by can enjoy the beauty of the stained glass. If you take the time to read and stop and look, you'll be even more impressed and enlightened.

A great use of space. Loved it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CinnaPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    82
    20
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent collection, even if it is on Navy Pier”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Gorgeous, large, unexpected collection of great stained glass windows, with Healy & Millet, Tiffany, LaFarge, FL Wright and, unexpectedly, the contemporary pieces really standing out. I recommend this especially to Chicagoans, who naturally avoid Navy Pier like the plague. Go during a quiet period, it is well worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LBorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An isle of calm on the Pier”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stumbled on this while trying to stay cool during a very hot day in Chicago. It was quiet and cool and interesting. Great collection of Tiffany stained glass, and totally unexpected. Pop in while you're at the Pier.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank UpstateNYLawchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant Free Surprise”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just walking through Navy Pier and you will come across the Smith Museum of Stained Glass. Absolutely beautiful pieces of work from personal collections to commissioned pieces. These pieces are so well done and have survived the test of time. It's amazing to me that someone would think to hold on tho these as treasures. All of them hold their own distinct beauty. Best of all the attraction is free and is a great way to get out of the heat and enjoy something that not to many people see or care to look at as being individual pieces of art.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcF475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing history”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This was just an all around great visit. I love history and would bring anyone to see this. I will be back with more people that's for sure.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrinityG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith Museum of Stained Glass Windows also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing