We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Healthy Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saigon Sisters

Saigon Sisters
Reserve with OpenTable
Saigon Sisters is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,016 of 9,467 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Loop
Cross street: Clinton St.
Transit: Green and Pink line stop at Clinton
Description: Saigon Sisters Restaurant has captured the attention of both the Chicago food media and dining public with its uniquely innovative approach to traditional Vietnamese cuisine. For lunch, Saigon Sisters is a quick and easy casual stop for traditional and updated Vietnamese street food including: popular pho, banh mi, banh bao and spring rolls. For dinner, TimeOut Breakout Chef of the year, Executive Chef Matt Eversman takes Saigon Sisters to a more sophisticated, full-service dining experience.Chef Eversman brings modern culinary flair to the classic Vietnamese street food recipes of owner Mary Nguyen Aregoni. With "downtown" hip, minimalist interior and walls exhibiting original works by local contemporary artists, the unique Asian dining spot goes one step further by offering an impressive beverage selection including wines, artisanal beers, sake and specialty signature cocktails.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Healthy Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

They know how to bring out the flavors in food without excessive oils and soy sauces (salt). More of an Avant Garde Vietnamese none the less its dishes complete the Vietnamese tradition. The best way to eat here is to consider everything like a 'tapas" and share with all members at your table.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 513 helpful votes
“Missed Saigon”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This restaurant has been getting soem healthy buzz in the local press, so I was excited when my daughter booked us a table during a recent visit of mine to the Windy City. After reading the other reviews I can assume that my tastes are radically different from other peoples (dont think so) or that we caught them on an off night.

The restaurant was maybe 1/3 full, so getting a table wasn't that tough. The service was quick, efficient, knowledgable and maybe a little bit too overpowering, we felt that the waiter didn't have enough to do so kept coming by our table. We started off my sharing the Pork Belly Bao Buns, served with pickeled onions and assorted herbs. They were just OK. I'd actually say that the onions overpowered the pork on several bites, and the meat was very lightly seasoned. Comparing it to a similar dish, at say Sampan in Philadelphia, it was disappointing.

For entrees we ordered the Flank Steak (with coffee puree and cocao nibs) and the Lamb Luc Lac (with oyster sauce and onions). The Lamb was tasty, well cooked and seaoned and enjoyable. The flank steak was flavorless, rather fatty and just kind of sat there on a plate surrounded by arugula and coffee puree.

We ordered a couple of Asia-Pacific beers to go with the meal - good selection there - and a dessert special of sticky rice. Nothing special to light up the taste buds there either.

So although the restaurant has a good selection of fish, meat, vegetarian and gluten-free dishes, and it might not be fair to judge it on the basis of one visit, I'd rate it considerably below the other Viretnamese restaurants I've visted in the past couple of years - so hence the 2 stars.

Dining Tips.

1. Eating on a Monday or Tuesday evening is a good way to score a table.
2. Parking is available on-street (on Lake St.) - especially if you are early, as there is a no parking restriction from 4-6 on weekdays.
3. I wish I'd had more of a chance to sample the menu - so visit with a larger group and share!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Vietnam without the plane ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Saigon Sisters has grown from a stand at the French Market to several locations in the city. Another soon to open at Northwestern. The Bahn mi are delicious as are the summer rolls. The main restaurant features some amazing dishes. Only problem is the small size can make it hard to get a table.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patschicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quick in and out, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stopped in during a crunch and grabbed the fresh spring rolls. Delicious! Good food at value prices.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tnmarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
168 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience- not your everyday Vietnamese!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We came with zero expectations- a friend had recommended it to my friend as a place to try so the three of us went to see what it was all about. From start to finish, it was probably one of the best Asian- no best EVEr meals. We had reservations for a Friday night- when we got there, the place was packed - it's tiny. We ordered a bottle of wine and told our waiter (Chris) our dining dilemmas and let him steer us through our meal. The roll of the day was lobster with avocado, so with that decision out of the way, he advised us to try the monkfish fritters as our small plates to share. The Lobster rolls were exactly what you'd expect- divine. There was some kind of papaya (?) sauce to dip the roll in and it was a perfect addition. The monkfish fritters made on of my dining companions yell out, "oh. My God." and another one went straight to the Holy Trinity..." Seriously that good. The monkfish is sweet and flavorful and the breading on the outside is light and airy with the perfect amount of salt and pepper. They were not a bit greasy- just amazing. We were stunned. Then it was time for the larger plates- again we ordered to share. Chris recommended the Ssam special which that night was a whole trout atop the bed of rice, served with pickled carrots, kimchi (converted my two dining partners in to kimchi fans- it was smokey and subtle, not at all in your face hot) and cabbage that we wrapped in the lettuce leaves. He also recommended the sea scallops over farro. I can't even begin to describe how perfect these scallops were. Scallops can be over-cooked, under-cooked, and sadly, all too often served past their prime. These were perfect. PERFECT. I will likely never have a scallop as perfect as the scallop that I had there. I cut it into micro bites to make it last longer. For dessert we ordered the special of the day which was a sweet potato custard with a marshmallow (toasted of course) top. Again, amazing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jloreine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Sisters also viewed

 

Been to Saigon Sisters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing