We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy place”
Review of IPO

IPO
Reserve with OpenTable
IPO is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,032 of 9,602 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $31 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Cross street: LaSalle/Adams
Transit: Blue Line "Jackson", Brown Line "Quincy" or "Monroe"
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Trendy place”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Location, location, location: this restaurant is inside the uber-chic W Hotel on Adams St. Sumptuous and trendy décor define the ambiance. I ordered mushroom encrusted salmon, which was a bit dry, but that's what you get with meaty fish that's not cooked in its skin. Grilled brussel sprouts with bacon made this childhood "yuck" dish quite edible. Colleagues had steak salad, which got thumbs up, and ahi tuna sandwich, which was devoured. Overall, food was good not great, but like the surroundings.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    21
    20
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
“IPO @ W City Center Chicago - Great place”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Friendly staff, great food and very quick. I had a meeting at the Willis Tower at 8:30 am - I walked into IPO at 8:05 and told the staff I had to eat quickly and get moving - they were very accomodating. Food was great and I made it to my meeting with a few minutes to spare.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
652 reviews
472 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Initial Public Offering of New Urban Cuisine”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Looking for a Loop restaurant that does not disappoint? This fits the bill!

Inspired: Javiola was great, the crab cake sandwich

Pro: atmosphere, location, food, W hotel’s 1928 beaux-arts architecture

Con: a little noisy

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 275GTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“A Chicago Gem”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

In a word fabulous! The plating was gorgeous, the food eclectic and absolutely delicious. The combination of ingredients on each plate was extraordinary in its uniqueness, with a synergy of flavor that left us marveling. The scallops are pure genious. We were seated at the front of the restaurant, where the ambience was chic but inviting, the music interesting and just the right volume. The portions were adequate to generous, and the pricing very reasonable. Our server was a pleasant young man who was attentive without being smothering. If I had one suggestion, it would be that the service staff be more informed about the food and be able to provide a description of the elements of the dish. Our poor fellow spent a lot of time running back and forth to the chef in order to get the answers to our many questions about what was on our plates. That aside, it was the best dining experience we had in a weekend of sampling a number of fine establishments. High praise for a city known for its culinary competitiveness.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food Inside W - City Center”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were staying at the W - City Center and didn't have plans for dinner, so we decided to try the hotel restaurant. IPO is "New Urban Cuisine" and I have to tell you, I wasn't real sure what that would mean. Luckily, it meant really good food!

There are all kinds of things on the menu, from garlic gorgonzola cheese bread to grilled octopus to mac & cheese to beef tenderloin. I ended up with seared duck and it was awesome.

The dessert menu looks incredible, of course. I had a really hard time choosing and settled on Mexican Inspired. It was fantastic!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IPO also viewed

 

Been to IPO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing