We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Chicago Gem”
Review of IPO

IPO
Reserve with OpenTable
IPO is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,040 of 9,614 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $31 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Cross street: LaSalle/Adams
Transit: Blue Line "Jackson", Brown Line "Quincy" or "Monroe"
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“A Chicago Gem”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

In a word fabulous! The plating was gorgeous, the food eclectic and absolutely delicious. The combination of ingredients on each plate was extraordinary in its uniqueness, with a synergy of flavor that left us marveling. The scallops are pure genious. We were seated at the front of the restaurant, where the ambience was chic but inviting, the music interesting and just the right volume. The portions were adequate to generous, and the pricing very reasonable. Our server was a pleasant young man who was attentive without being smothering. If I had one suggestion, it would be that the service staff be more informed about the food and be able to provide a description of the elements of the dish. Our poor fellow spent a lot of time running back and forth to the chef in order to get the answers to our many questions about what was on our plates. That aside, it was the best dining experience we had in a weekend of sampling a number of fine establishments. High praise for a city known for its culinary competitiveness.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    21
    20
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food Inside W - City Center”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were staying at the W - City Center and didn't have plans for dinner, so we decided to try the hotel restaurant. IPO is "New Urban Cuisine" and I have to tell you, I wasn't real sure what that would mean. Luckily, it meant really good food!

There are all kinds of things on the menu, from garlic gorgonzola cheese bread to grilled octopus to mac & cheese to beef tenderloin. I ended up with seared duck and it was awesome.

The dessert menu looks incredible, of course. I had a really hard time choosing and settled on Mexican Inspired. It was fantastic!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“fantastic service and food”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great hostess at the front (10/2/12 dinner). Great service from wait staff. Food was excellent. Hostess was notable in that she asked if I wanted iPad or newspaper as I was dining alone.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Talisker T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We ate at the IPO during a stay at the W Hotel. We arrived quite late, but the restaurant was open, staff was friendly and very hospitable. The food was well cooked and presented. The food is also reasonably priced.

The menu is not very extensive, so keep this in mind if you are looking for a big variety of choice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SATraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The service was great, the portions huge and the price is reasonable. We stayed at the "W" where IPO is located, there was so many choices to choose from. Enjoy!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IPO also viewed

 

Been to IPO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing