We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tickle Me Ruxbin!”
Review of Ruxbin Kitchen

Ruxbin Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruxbin Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #692 of 9,544 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: American, French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tickle Me Ruxbin!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I visit Chicago several times a year and have found a new staple! Very imaginative cuisine and presentation in a cozy setting. Very small intimate setting with attentive wait staff and great food. This was our second visit in and can't wait to eat here again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L0ve2EatGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    13
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Small place, Big taste!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were there on a Thursday at 7:30pm & seated immediately. Heard that at times this restaurant can be a 2 hr. wait because it only seats about 30. Very small, but cool, "Steampunk/recycled like" interior design (Lighting made out of old theatre chairs). It's also BYOB, but there is a liquor store down the street who delivers. We had the grilled octopus, garlic fries, pork loin, shrimp & mussel bisque, s'more w/ cotton candy dessert. Everything was delicious! The octopus was very good & not rubbery, the pork loin was perfectly cooked & juicy, the shrimp & mussel bisque was very flavorful & delicious w/ a little spicyness. Our server was really awesome & very helpful with helping us decide. Before you leave, you must check out the bathroom! It is very inventive- like an old photography darkroom w/ revolving door. Overall we REALLY enjoyed the food/service & hope to visit again on another day when it's not too busy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just ok, better places with a similar vibe”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Got there at 6:00pm (doors open at 5:30) on a Friday night and got the last table for the 1st seating. Had the acorn squash soup, grilled octopus, shrimp and polenta, and osso bucco.

The grilled octopus was very good. Portion size for only 1. The shrimp and polenta was completely forgettable. A Little disappointing.

Would suggest Avec or Purple Pig for your dining adventures over this one.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rudy1150Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

What a great little spot! Junkyard chic with absolutely superb food. Very reasonably priced and a great atmosphere. Friendly service also helps. BYOB a rare plus. Definitely the coolest restaurant washroom I have seen (if you can work out how to get into it!).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ruxbin has it all... except for reservations”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The praise I have read for Ruxbin has been universal, and I need to add myself to the list. We arrived on a Saturday evening at 5:00, which was early enough for us to be first in line. By time it was 5:30 for the opening, there about 20 other people there. While the restaurant sits 32, they staggered the tables a bit so that some of the people had to wait outside a bit longer. The decor was very warm with lots of wood and very dim lighting. The tables are a bit close together, but we sat at the window table so it wasn't bad at all.

We were given an amuse bouche of popcorn flavored with salt and seaweed powder. That was followed with starters of a pork belly salad and a heaping bowl of garlic fries. The combination of pork, cornbread and grapefruit was inspired and delicious. For mains we had the pork loin and osso buco. I would have liked it if the pork loin was a bit of a bigger serving, The osso bucco was the perfect amount. Both were very flavorful and had a nice mix of ingredients.

Service was efficient and unintrusive. Several different servers waited on us and we felt very taken care of. One of the best things about Ruxbin is the feeling that you are participating in something special. Every person who worked there wanted to be right where they were. it was as if we had been invited into someone's home. Whether you live in or are just visiting Chicago, a visit is warranted.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelinT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruxbin Kitchen also viewed

 
 

Been to Ruxbin Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing