We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Calamari Ever”

Francesca's on Chestnut
Reserve with OpenTable
Francesca's on Chestnut is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #209 of 9,525 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Streeterville
Cross street: Michigan Ave
Transit: We are accessible via the Chicago red line stop as well as the 151, 145, 146 and 147 Chestnut & Michigan CTA bus stop.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Calamari Ever”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is a wonderful restaurant with excellent service. The calamari is to-die-for. Must try this wonderful and refreshingly different way of presenting calamari, which is GLUTEN FREE!!!! It is not breaded, but has a sauce that I have been all over the web trying to recreate in my own calamari experiment at home. The gluten free menu was very complete and I felt very comfortable with the safety of the preparation, as I am very sensitive to gluten. The whole dinner was excellent. Loved the greens. Wish I lived closer, as I would be a regular without a doubt. Parking was valet and this experience was seamless, though $16.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah43022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    111
    32
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great choice for a wedding rehearsal dinner!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were there as out of town guests at a wedding rehearsal dinner. The food was really great I lost count of the number of courses. The Chicken was cooked to perfection. The fried calamari was excellent. The service was fantastic. I plan to return there for another fine meal the next time I visit Chicago.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linacwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incomparable”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant will not disappoint you! I was looking with a group of friends for a restaurant and got advised to go here by some locals. It was just what we were looking for, and blew away all of our expectations. It is a very cozy, warm lit venue. We had the privilege of live Jazz during dinner as well. Dinner was absolutely incredible!! My friends who didn't manage to finish their meals loved them so much that they ate them for breakfast the next day. Food ranged from $15-20 for main courses, but for this quality, that was an incredible steal. What was most outstanding however was the service. The waiter for my group was charismatic, humorous and kind, and made our visit unforgettable. He talked to us for a long time, and after we had paid the bill, he said he enjoyed our company so much, that he brought us each a wonderful gelato filled pastry.. From his own wallet!!
I guarantee I will go here every time we are in town.
It is a must!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank qwertycheez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, Indiana
Level Contributor
143 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Around the corner from Water Tower Place”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We walked in around dinner time on a Sunday and were seated promptly. We were dining with our two kids (one of which is EXTREMELY picky about his "noodles")....

The décor is very nice with large windows looking out onto Chestnut. The service was excellent and the food was even better!!! We all had something different and my daughter was really craving good ole mostacholli (sp) with meatballs, but it wasn't offered on the menu, so the waitress went to the back and said the chef would be happy to accommodate her request. My son said he wants to go back there soon and I told him there were other Francesca's closer to our home but he said, "No, I want to come back to this one". Each of our meals were excellent and the portions were more than enough for each of us, with 3 of us going home with doggie bags.

The desserts were excellent too! Two of us had tiramisu and one had mint gelato, which was really, really good.

We ended up paying $100 +/- for 4 meals....that's not bad at all considering your right off the Mag Mile.

Thanks for making our quick stop after shopping SO ENJOYABLE!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raynor5fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another great meal!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was my third trip to Francesca's over the past 6 months. Each time I'm impressed. This excellent restaurant will remain a staple for me.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PuckHowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francesca's on Chestnut also viewed

 

Been to Francesca's on Chestnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing