We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“complimentarty pickles and chips”
Review of Chicago Q

Chicago Q
Reserve with OpenTable
Chicago Q is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 9,530 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Gold Coast
Cross street: Division
Transit: Red line at Clark and Division. Walk east to Dearborn then South to 1160 N. Dearborn and you are at BBQ heaven. Bus 36 will take you to Clark and Division as well.
Description: Chicago q is not your ordinary barbecue joint. Since opening in 2010, Chef/Partner Lee Ann Whippen has created a barbecue experience like none other by using the highest quality meats seasoned with house-made rubs while served in a Savannah-style dining room, imbued with Southern charm and comfort. The restaurant serves Whippen's award-winning competition fare alongside regional favorites from the Carolinas, Texas, Missouri and Tennessee, which pair perfectly with the best selection of rare and exclusive bourbons in Chicago. Whether in the neighborhood or traveling to the city, a group of two or one of 50, Chicago q is the ideal space for any gathering or occasion.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“complimentarty pickles and chips”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

we had carrot cake pancakes! 2 of my favs in one. We also shared the flight of eggs benedict. Highly Recommend. the sweetpotato hash was a big oniony for me, but the grits were creamy and delishous. sat outside on a beautiful 70 Degree day. A perfect chicago saturday!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank somecallmeCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    172
    48
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best BBQ Ever!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

First of all, this resaurant is a good looking eatery. Casual, with a really warm and welcoming atmosphere. The service we had was spot on. Friendly and knowledgeable servers, who were very attentive. The BBQ was just excellent. I had the St. Louis ribs, and it was beyond tender. The meats are served with a variety of barbeque sauces to try. All tasted great. The value here is very good. We came with family and really enjoyed ourselves. Will definitely come back next time we are in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lawagner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All But The Sides”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great barbeques....especially the trio of pulled meats and the two types of ris. Greens were undercooked and mediocre, and the cole slaw was tasteless. Corn bread and sauces were great, and the staff and the front desk folks were attentive. Reasonably price for what is served.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Soooooo Good.....”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is probably one of the best BBQ ribs i ever had in USA.
The pork is tender and juicy and i like the sauce served separately.
The Cobb salad is very good. A great meal at Q.!
I still think about Q ribs whenever i have a craving for ribs........

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whereisfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Deeeeelicious BBQ!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I am from the south, so I tend to be picky about my BBQ. This place is so delicious, it's become my new favorite restaurant. The meats are tender and delicious, the sauces fit perfectly. Every time I have been here, the servers offer great suggestions (as does the owner herself). The staff are friendly and welcoming. And did I mention the fantastic selection of bourbon and cocktails? This is a great place to take family (I brought my brother and his girlfriend here, and regularly go with my boyfriend) I love this place, get there!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CowgirlInChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicago Q also viewed

 

Been to Chicago Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing