We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be for breakfast”

Elly's Pancake House Chicago
Ranked #243 of 9,548 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2,916 reviews
1,665 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,934 helpful votes
“The place to be for breakfast”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

There is nothing more satisfying than breakfast at a neighborhood restaurant. For a few years, the southwest corner of Clark and North Ave. was vacant after a previous restaurant at the site went out of business. Finally, Elly's Pancake House opened and life is good again. Except on weekends, when Elly's is standing-room-only for breakfast. Like Yogi Berra once said: "Nobody goes there anymore because it's so crowded." The orange juice is fresh, the apple crepes are wonderful and I'm big on the Eggs Benedict and corned beef hash. The service is friendly. Try the New England clam chowder on Friday. The menu is good ole home cooking, nothing fancy, just good food and lots of neighborhood conversation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    47
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
943 reviews
709 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Consistently Great”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Some of the best omelettes in town. I like the chicken fried steak. Great service. I do wish that they would have fried matzos with fried salami at this location; they do in the suburbs.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarshBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Really delicious breakfasts. Pancakes. Eggs. Egg Skillets. Everything I tried was great. So if you love breakfast, you love Elly's.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lataylor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Food was uninspired and served by people who seemed to have many more interesting things to do than wait on our table. Not horrible, but definitely wouldn't return.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Worth the bus trip”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We went for Sunday brunch today and it was every bit as good as our previous visits. We had the special club breakfast that comes with juice eggs bacon sausage and 2 buttermilk pancakes and we ordered a side of hash browns.
We have also been to Wildberry after reading the reviews but we much prefer Ellys and wish there was palace like this near us in the UK.
Will be back

Helpful?
Thank ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elly's Pancake House Chicago also viewed

 

Been to Elly's Pancake House Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing