We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WELL WORTH IT”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chicago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flats at Loyola Station
Ranked #10 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WELL WORTH IT”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Everything was well maintained and clean. Very convenient if you are staying for awhile as there is a washer and dryer. The kitchen was well equipped. If we needed assistance it was just a phone call away and somebody came right down. It would be my first choice if I go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon8107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    22
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
68
15
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have stayed at the Flats on several occasions and have had a great experience each time. It is the most convenient place to stay if visiting a student at Loyola. The apartments are upscale and well-appointed. It is always my first choice when visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our family (one child) stayed here for a one week vacation. We have been to Chicago many times and were looking for an apartment or suite to enjoy a week of city living. First the pros - Competitive rates in summer. Free parking. Nice neighborhood.

Apartment is decently designed and on the newer-side. Good appliances, washer/dryer. Kitchen is stocked, but bring extra supplies if you really plan to cook. (I brought a cutting board, knife and pan.) As other reviews have mentioned, there is no dining table, just three stools at the counter. Worked for my family, but seemed strange in a two bedroom apartment. Electronics - Big TV, DVD player and Ipod doc.

The largest cons for me were dealing with the student management. I am a college professor, so I really wanted to support a college business, but reservations were unresponsive, often not answering emails for days, and I even had to argue for a refund when there was a rate change. As for the apartment itself, it could have been a lot cleaner. We are a shoes off family and our socks were black after walking around at home. It was not as clean as comparable professional hotels or vacation homes. We did run into some students on the property painting and gardening who were very friendly.

In the end, I would only return to the flats if I wanted a place to stay in that area. It is a great area, close to ethnic eateries (walking or public transport) and near the beach. But it is far from downtown and museums, and Chicago public transportation is not as fast as other cities (like NYC). Budget a half hour to get anywhere. The price, management, and cleanliness don't make up for the distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Iowa, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Loved staying at the Flats! The facilities are top notch with very convenient parking, wonderful kitchen, laundry in the unit, nice sitting areas inside and out, nice sized bathroom and a home like environment. We really enjoyed the convenience of it being so close to Loyola University, the businesses in Rogers Park and public transit. As mentioned before in another review, the reservation experience is unique, but seems to work very effectively. We will stay again, for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We've stayed here multiple times since it opened. Our son is a student at Loyola and it is the only place to stay overnight near the campus. We've always had a great experience but we ran into some problems with this visit. I don't know if it was due to turn-over of the students (management) or what. I paid for the stay ahead of time on the website but due to printer problems I forgot to send the lease agreement for several weeks. Fortunately, they kept the reservation and sent me a reminder to send in the agreement. Good follow-up, and appreciated. Unfortunately, we never received the email "Welcome Packet" with information on how to get into the building and the room. After realizing this on my way to Chicago, I emailed (no way to contact by phone) to ask what to do. I received another email telling me they had sent the Welcome Packet but would send it again, which they did promptly. They also called my cell phone to talk to me but got my voice mail, leaving a number for me to call (which I did). I received the information before arriving in Chicago and was all set to start my stay. Again, this follow-up was appreciated. I arrived in my assigned room at about 5 or 6 pm, only to find it uncleaned from the previous tenant. I called back the number from my voicemail (it was also in the binder of information in the room) and reached someone right away. She came and gave us the identical room on a different floor. We settled in. Then we had multiple issues with the "key" working, which were resolved but we found out that they had programmed it for the wrong check out date. They resolved that only to have it malfunction again....and tell us that we had to change rooms on the second day because the room we were now in was booked. We moved back into our originally assigned room. From then on we had no problems and many apologies including some reimbursement for our troubles, all appropriate and appreciated.

Part of this visit was during "move-in" weekend and there was a lot of noise outside on Saturday night.

Although there was a LOT of inconvenience with this stay it all turned out well and we enjoyed staying there as we always do. The location is great if your destination is Loyola and the accommodations are very nice with a lot of space. The price is reasonable considering it is Chicago and there is no fee for parking. Communication only through email is a bit cumbersome and inconvenient as is the lack of anyone available IN the building when problems arise. But, the response time and professionalism are terrific. I still will recommend it to others traveling to the area but advise them of the inconveniences (email, lack of phone contact ability until in the room).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stumbled upon The Flats at Loyola Station online while searching for a place for me and my 5 buddies to stay while in Chicago for a weekend. I honestly don't think we could have found a better place. Steps from the "L", very updated and modern, comfortably slept 6 people, great price, DUNKIN DONUTS within steps of my door, two great bathrooms, amazing kitchen, easy parking, and provided easy access for us to get to a White Sox game as well as a Cubs game. I was a little nervous communicating only through e-mail at first, but that feeling quickly turned to calm when we had an issue with our door key code and upon calling the service number, someone was there to help us before I could even hang the phone up. We raved about this place the whole time we were there. The Loyola students had a great idea with this one, and I commend their courage to attempt a non-traditional lodging experience. I was extremely impressed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradfurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband, kids and I stayed in 401 with my In-Laws. My MIL has some health limitations, oxygen, etc and requires use of the elevators. The elevators were under routine maintenance and my MIL could not get out to go to the store. One of the staff at the Flats offered to take her grocery list and go to the store for her. I thought this was an incredible act of kindness and well outside of what is required when you are visiting another city. The flat was clean and I felt like it was a home away from home. If you ever in Chicago I would recommend this as a must stay location. I honestly wouldn't stay anywhere else when going back. Great job to the staff - you should be proud of the work you are doing!!!

Room Tip: I really enjoyed 401 if you need more than 1 bedroom. The balcony was adorable with a grill and gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
Rogers Park
Hampton Inn Chicago North - Loyola Station
The Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 190 in Chicago
319 reviews
Super 8 Chicago IL
#6 of 8 in Evanston
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#52 of 190 in Chicago
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flats at Loyola Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flats at Loyola Station

Property: The Flats at Loyola Station
Address: 1216 W Arthur Ave, Chicago, IL 60626-6345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Rogers Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flats at Loyola Station is an upscale, luxury guesthouse hotel located in the heart of Rogers Park, a vibrant North side Chicago neighborhood. Across the street from Loyola University Chicago, this 10-unit renaissance-style guesthouse is a fully furnished state-of-the-art building that creates a unique experience for every guest. Steps away from the Loyola Red Line El stop, the Flats at Loyola Station sits in a prime location as it is only a short train ride to downtown Chicago and ten minute car ride from Evanston. Next time you're in Chicago, stay in your own flat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing