We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place but the administration needs a little polishing.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chicago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flats at Loyola Station
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2011

These are beautiful rooms. It is an excellent location. We stayed over the Christmas holiday with our family, were very comfortable and had a great time. The reservation and check-in procedures were a bit awkward.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 117 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2011

Was thoroughly pleased with our stay! Convenient yet quiet location, next to the Red Line, CVS, amazing restaurants (Thai Spice, Uncommon Ground), and the Lake. My husband and teenage boys stayed there while our oldest toured Loyola Campus, then spent 2 days enjoying the rest of the City. We parked our car in the garage and didn't use it until we left. The decor inside the condo is even better than pictured on the website. Loved having a washer/dryer. The condo was well stocked with plenty of linens, laundry and dish detergent. One should be self-sufficient enough to access the building and condo w/o a front desk and via the lockbox. The only thing it could use is a mirror in the bedroom if sharing a bathroom with others.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We have stayed here multiple times, and had a great experience every time. We have had dinner parties there, entertained friends, and visited our child at Loyola University. It is a convenient location, close to the Red Line on the train so you can get anywhere in Chicago -- shopping, the theatre district, etc. It is a wonderful location and a great value. If you drive to Chicago, the parking is actually included in the price of the Flat.

Room Tip: Some of the flats have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

What a find!! Location is great, very clean, nicely decorated, fantastic kitchen. On the down side...a few more dishes, more and better quality towels, mirror in the bedroom and a tv would have been a nice addition too. However, I hope to stay here many more times to come. Thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Great location, great rooms for a great price, considering the cost of hotels in the area. We figured our cost for the room was equivalent to the cost of a room at the Hilton Garden Inn in Evanston with parking, 20 minutes away. But here we had a great kitchen - even got to cook a meal for my son and his friends and entertain on a Saturday night during football season. Great new decor, CVS footsteps away for all your needs.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pcamarata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The Flats at Loyola Station are in an excellent location to both Loyola University and the el. The parking space provided is invalubale if you are bringing a car. The flat is comfortable, large, and clean. Although we were only there 2 nights, it would also be excellent for an extended stay with a full kitchen and a washer and dryer.
My one complaint about the unit is it could use more towels. The bath towels are fairly small and there were only 2 of them for 3 people.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wife-o-matic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

For quite reasonable rates, we were very pleased with the accommodations at The Flats. The units (we stayed in two different ones on different stays) are really beautifully decorated. (I think each unit has a bit of its own personality.) The location in Rodgers Park is good, very close to the El and to Loyola Chicago. Even if I were mainly in Chicago to be downtown, I think I would stay here...it's roomier than any hotel I've stayed in, has a full kitchen and laundry facilities in the unit, and it even includes free parking!

I just hope this review doesn't convince so many people to stay there that I can't get a room myself next time I plan to be in Chicago!

Room Tip: If you have 3 people, a 1-bedroom is fine, with the fold-out bed in the living room. The sofa bed is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnMarie843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Rogers Park
Hampton Inn Chicago North - Loyola Station
The Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 192 in Chicago
330 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flats at Loyola Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flats at Loyola Station

Address: 1216 W Arthur Ave, Chicago, IL 60626-6345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Rogers Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flats at Loyola Station is an upscale, luxury guesthouse hotel located in the heart of Rogers Park, a vibrant North side Chicago neighborhood. Across the street from Loyola University Chicago, this 10-unit renaissance-style guesthouse is a fully furnished state-of-the-art building that creates a unique experience for every guest. Steps away from the Loyola Red Line El stop, the Flats at Loyola Station sits in a prime location as it is only a short train ride to downtown Chicago and ten minute car ride from Evanston. Next time you're in Chicago, stay in your own flat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing