We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Chicago
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Chicago Detours
from $29.87
More Info
from $44.80
More Info
from $40.54
More Info
Reviews (727)
Filter reviews
727 results
Traveler rating
654
48
15
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
654
48
15
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews interior architecture walking tour bar tour the loop our tour guide historic bar methodist church scavenger hunt great tour enjoyable tour knew his stuff highly recommend this tour billy goat tavern fun facts wicker park downtown area pedway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 727 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2020 via mobile

Enjoyed the tour. Guide was knowledgeable and interesting Diverse group added to the fun. Love learning about the city

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank WineJunkie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaDetoursOwner, Manager at Chicago Detours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for joining us! Glad you enjoyed it and learned something new! Let us know how we can make it a five-star experience next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019 via mobile

Alex Bean was a fantastic tour guide. He is knowledgeable and it is evident that he is passionate about what he does. We went as a family because my oldest daughter is studying to become an architect and thought it might be a good experience. We learned a great deal about the history of the buildings and city. Alex kept the audience engaged during the entire time and we now look at the buildings with a different perspective.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank yusimih2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaDetoursOwner, Manager at Chicago Detours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for sharing this review! Glad you enjoyed your tour with Alex and were able to spend time as a family on the tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019

Being a Chicago native I don’t think too much about going on these tours, but having experienced one has changed my mind. There were several stops along the way I’ve never seen or even heard about before. Alex was an extremely knowledgeable and personable host, and the interactive nature of the various activities really made the experience and the people enjoyable. Definitely worth it!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Leananlefay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaDetoursOwner, Manager at Chicago Detours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for coming on the 1893 World's Fair Tour and for sharing your review! It's great to hear you learned something new and had a good time too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019

This was a fantastic tour of downtown Chicago, connecting it to the famous 1893 World's Fair tour. There's always something new to learn from a tour like this, and our tour guide (Alex) was fun, personable, and full of insightful facts and details about everything. Would highly recommend - come for the history, stay for the scavenger hunt competition!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank travisc955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaDetoursOwner, Manager at Chicago Detours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for coming on the tour! We love sharing Chicago history and architecture with our guests. Hope we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019

My girlfriend had booked this as a surprise for me for my first trip to Chicago and I have to say it’s definitely been a strong contender for the best thing I’ve done in the city so far. Our tour guide Alex was fantastic and we both loved his approach in being both informative and really fun with a few hidden treats along the way, it really made the information more digestible and memorable. Would highly recommend booking the world fair tour to uncover some hidden gems of Chicago.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank CameronFrasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaDetoursOwner, Manager at Chicago Detours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for joining our World's Fair History Tour in Chicago, so glad you enjoyed the experience. Hope we'll see you for another tour during your next trip to Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews