We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Petit Paris

Le Petit Paris
Ranked #615 of 9,493 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Streeterville
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

A few blocks east of the Magnificent Mile the entrance to La Petit Paris is inside the lobby of a condo. Although it has a small neon sign that can be seen from the street it can be easy to miss until you realize you are almost at the lake. The restaurant is small for Chicago with dark wood paneling, creative wall murals, high windows looking out at one of Mies van der Rohe's Lake Shore Drive buildings.
The owner welcomed us just inside the door and immediately ushered us to our table, took our drink orders and told us of the evening's specials. The menu is classic French with entrees like steak tartar, duck, calf liver, etc. The salads & vegetables were fresh & cooked perfectly. They have a great wine list with very reasonably priced selections. Our tab was 50% of our previous night's dinner at an Italian place two block's away and just as delicious.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank speedroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    25
    2
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Little Bit of Paris on the Gold Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We ate here over the July 4th weekend, as visitors from the NYC-NJ area, with a friend who now lives around the corner from this delightful bistro. It was not the first time we had visited here, and, as usual, we found the food, service and ambience absolutely first-rate. We were impressed that the owner, maitre d', server and bus boy are all wrapped up in one delightful, happy package. Prices are very fair, not over the top, as one might expect in this neighborhood. And, although there were patrons enough in this charming spot, it was not overcrowded on either of our two visits here. We heartily recommend this bistro for outstanding eating and service when you are in this vicinity. Kudos all around. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna, virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst dining experience possible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Last eveing, my mother who had had a particularly eventful day, decided to go to one of our family's favorite restaurants in Chicago- La Petit Paris on Chesnut street. The entire dining experience could only be described as ABSYMAL. Poor service, marginal food and plenty of attitude by the staff. It was apparent to me that this restaurant doesn't value their customers to say nothing of their regulars. As a general rule, when the experience of fine dining is more about the staff than the customer- you have chosen the wrong venue. Fortunately, Chicago offers many choices for fine dining- don't waste the experience on this one. When I called to speak with the manager about my mother's dreadful experience- he defended poor service and vilified the customer.......how tragic.

No mas...................

Profoundly disappointed

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank theresa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very French!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We went here for an 85th birthday party on a Sat. night. The service was very slow but very friendly. We didn't mind waiting because of the atmosphere. The escargot was excellent, lamb was great and desserts were delicious. The wine was very reasonable for a Gold Coast restaurant. The restaurant is old but does remind you of many places like that in France. The owner is attentive and makes it his personal business to make sure all is good. I would recommend it for a little out of the way place for something different.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best French Food In the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I can't say enough about this great place. The food was wonderful, the service was excellent and the price was less than eating at a Lettuce Entertain location with 3 times the taste.

I had the lamb chops which was a special that evening. They were perfect. In addition the pate was so smooth and silky tasting that I can't wait to go back and order it again.

So many great dishes to pick from on the menu. I know I will be going back again soon.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank froglogic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Paris also viewed

 

Been to Le Petit Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing