We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Value in the City!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Ensemble Theatre

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Black Ensemble Theatre
Ranked #172 of 624 things to do in Chicago
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Small theatre. Five play season -- mostly original musicals.. Current production, Nothing But the Blues is outstanding.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Value in the City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is the place to go for great entertainment at a reasonable price. Some of the past shows were:
"The Other Cinderella"
"One Name Only"
"The Marvin Gaye Story"
"The Jackie Wilson Story"
My wife and I have been going for years and always felt that it was worth the money. We've been there for about a dozen shows and always take family and friends whenever we get together in the city.
The new theater on Clark opened about 2 years ago and provides indoor valet parking for $11.00. Don't miss this one!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“From Doo Wop to Hip Hop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

A musical extravaganza with all the singalong tunes of the 50s and 60s together with some modern styles. A brand new and intimate theatre at the North end of town.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank blazer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Doo Whop to Hip Hop was the play. It was good. But my first play at the theatre was a play about Marvin Gaye...it will be very hard to top that one. It was wonderful. I'll be back to the Black Ensemble theatre. Very nice facility.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank delisemaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
110 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Other Cinderella”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The play was great and there is not a bad seat in the house. I was surprised by the level of talent in the show. The numbers were top notch and the building was quite nice. I surely plan to be back and would recommend it to anyone. We were recommended by a friend and quite thankful for it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MMBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Night at the Theatre!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

I attended the performance about the Life of Jackie Wilson, an R&B performer. The cast was fabulous!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SHIRLEY F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Ensemble Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Black Ensemble Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing