We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value in the City!”

Black Ensemble Theater
Ranked #189 of 648 things to do in Chicago
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Black Ensemble Theater (BE), Founded in 1976 by the phenomenal actress, producer, and playwright Jackie Taylor, has grown from a small community arts organization to a vibrant nationally and internationally renowned arts institution. A leader and innovator in the African-American and mainstream arts communities, Black Ensemble Theater is recognized as one of the most diverse theaters in the country, producing excellent musical theater. On November 18, 2011, BE celebrated the Grand Opening of the Black Ensemble Theater Cultural Center, the theater’s first permanent home located at 4450 N. Clark Street, in the heart of Chicago’s Uptown neighborhood. The mission of the Black Ensemble Theater is to eradicate racism and its damaging effects upon our society through the utilization of theater arts. BE is the only theater in the nation whose mission is to eradicate racism. We utilize theater and educational outreach programs to bring races together in a community which embraces similarities and fosters dialogue, understanding and acceptance.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Value in the City!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is the place to go for great entertainment at a reasonable price. Some of the past shows were:
"The Other Cinderella"
"One Name Only"
"The Marvin Gaye Story"
"The Jackie Wilson Story"
My wife and I have been going for years and always felt that it was worth the money. We've been there for about a dozen shows and always take family and friends whenever we get together in the city.
The new theater on Clark opened about 2 years ago and provides indoor valet parking for $11.00. Don't miss this one!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“From Doo Wop to Hip Hop”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

A musical extravaganza with all the singalong tunes of the 50s and 60s together with some modern styles. A brand new and intimate theatre at the North end of town.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank blazer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great theatre”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Doo Whop to Hip Hop was the play. It was good. But my first play at the theatre was a play about Marvin Gaye...it will be very hard to top that one. It was wonderful. I'll be back to the Black Ensemble theatre. Very nice facility.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank delisemaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Other Cinderella”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The play was great and there is not a bad seat in the house. I was surprised by the level of talent in the show. The numbers were top notch and the building was quite nice. I surely plan to be back and would recommend it to anyone. We were recommended by a friend and quite thankful for it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MMBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Night at the Theatre!”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I attended the performance about the Life of Jackie Wilson, an R&B performer. The cast was fabulous!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SHIRLEY F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Ensemble Theater also viewed

 

Been to Black Ensemble Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing