We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City life living!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
State and Grand by BridgeStreet Worldwide
Ranked #13 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
vegas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“City life living!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

What a great gem this service apartment hotel is! Conveniently located in River North and a couple of short blocks away from Magnificent Mile, the lake and amazing restaurants- this apartment made us feel more like home, than being in a hotel. The furnishings are upgraded, the building is safe and secure - and there is on-site parking which can be a hassle to find in downtown. Some hotels charge upwards of $60 for overnight parking. But not State and Grand! Reasonable, secure and convenient! The apartments are spacious and well appointed, however the televisions are crazy ridiculously small and the kitchens are minimally stocked with cookware, utensils and supplies. The cable channels are also very minimal and it can be a challenge to find something to watch if you like to kick your feet up, have a beverage and watch some late night tv. There is an indoor pool, fitness center and outside patio deck. Great place!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGirlWithAPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    28
    5
    4
    12
See reviews for
29
41
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mugla, Turkey
Level Contributor
211 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed at this apartment with my family appoximately four months and I'm happy to say that it was the right choice.
Many thanks to Anton, Mat, Jose, Tom and Tony for their kind approach and help to all of our needs.
If we come again to Chicago, we will surely choose the same place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yavuz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We picked this property because we had three adults and wanted separate bedrooms and bathrooms, which it definitely had. However, I did not realize that it is a Corporate Housing unit. The building is just down the street from The Langham and located in the same building as the Hotel Palomar. On the plus side the unit was very large, had excellent views, a full kitchen, and a washer & dryer. The staff was very friendly. There is a grocery store just down the street where we bought bagels and coffee every night for the following morning, but there is no toaster – so we used the broil feature in the oven. There was an onsite pool which looked nice, but we didn’t have time to try out, and the same with the gym. Negatives: the beds were squeaky, the mattress weren’t comfortable and the bedding was cheap and not sufficient in the cold Chicago winter; the master shower was incredibly small, the furniture is worn-down and of low quality - the drawers in the dresser kept sliding open; and we had trouble with slow internet service as well. I would not recommend corporate housing for short-term stays.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEGSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Found this place online because of price increase at embassy suites hotel we stayed at year before. Glad we did. Apartment was great size for 3 adults. 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom. Great living area and loved the balcony. Great view of the city. Will stay here again when we come back to Chicago.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

inconsistent rates and managed terribly. Doorman are never sitting at the desk and no notification of packages unless you continuously check downstairs...if the doorman is actually there which they are not.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Our apartment on the 23rd floor was spacious, stylishly furnished and equipped with everything we could possibly need. From the floor-to-ceiling windows we had a stunning view of the surrounding skyscrapers, especially impressive at night. Coming from the UK, we really did feel as if we were in a movie! The front desk staff were friendly and very helpful. The location was perfect, in easy walking distance of Magnificent Mile, Millennium Park and the Loop area. Many restaurants and bars and an excellent supermarket just across the road. We could hardly bear to tear ourselves away when we had to leave :-)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 2bristolians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We visited in early March 2014 when it was extremely cold. Fortunately the apartment was warm and well situated for the the main shopping areas and there are many restaurants within a short walk. The apartment was large and had a full kitchen so it wasn't necessary to eat out all the time. We were on the 18th floor and the floor to ceiling windows offer great views of the Chicago skyline. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and we were able to move into the apartment 2 hours early. I would recommend Bridgestreet as a flexible alternative alternative to a hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinnog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,304 reviews
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 189 in Chicago
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State and Grand by BridgeStreet Worldwide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State and Grand by BridgeStreet Worldwide

Property: State and Grand by BridgeStreet Worldwide
Address: 505 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654-4803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — State and Grand by BridgeStreet Worldwide 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the exciting surroundings and lifestyle of the River North neighborhood at State and Grand by BridgeStreet Worldwide. A uniquely spacious apartment presents an inspirational interior design within an exciting urban environment, where luxury and exemplary on-site service and exceptional amenities provide you with a level of comfort that transforms your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your State and Grand by BridgeStreet Worldwide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing