We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Pacing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sable Kitchen & Bar

Sable Kitchen & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Sable Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #152 of 9,467 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Illinois
Transit: Red Line to Grand Brown Line to Merchandise Mart Bus Routes: #29, #39 & #65
Description: Sable Kitchen & Bar: Classic Era Atmosphere in Chicago's River North Neighborhood Step into Sable Kitchen & Bar. Discover what you've been waiting for: A new American gastro-lounge that artfully reinstates the cocktail to its rightful throne, a place where you'll lose yourself in a menu of Chef Heather Terhune's soul-satisfying social plates of delectable hors d'oeuvres, fresh fish, meats, sustainable selections from the farm and garden, alongside a collection of hand-crafted brick-oven flatbreads. Adjacent to Kimpton's Hotel Palomar Chicago, Sable is a refreshing update for today, where the glamour of the 1940's mingles effortlessly with modern industrial touches. The effect is undeniably chic and immensely comfortable. Exceptional Food to Match Exquisite Drinks For some, Sable emerges as the spot of choice for dining any time of day. For others, it becomes a much-needed chance to revel in the purity of handcrafted cocktails and a chance to sample a diverse selection of wines. But for all, Sable surfaces as a dining destination in Chicago's River North neighborhood on par with the city's most acclaimed restaurants. Drop in for a very special drink. Share a plate or two. And enjoy Sable's special blend of contemporary class and soothing Chicago hospitality.
indianapolis, in
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect Pacing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

A "small plate" type of restaurant where you are able to order a half or full portion makes this an excellent choice to sample a range of their offerings. The menu items were unique, well presented, and delicious. My wife and I most enjoyed the fact that even on a busy Friday night, each successive offering was brought to our table with seemingly perfect timing, not the "pile-it-on" that you often see in restaurants of this type. Waitress was friendly and knowledgeable. Would heartily recommend the restaurant and will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank builder51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sable505, Executive Chef at Sable Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you so much for joining us. To hear you had a great experience makes us so happy. Please come back and see us soon.

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    225
    70
    25
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Our server was friendly and helpful. I appreciated how kind he was to my young daughter!! He concocted a mocktail for her after asking about different things she liked and then presented our dessert with a candle! He knew it wasn't our birthday, but surely we'd have one soon. Happy un-birthday! We will return next time we visit the hotel - which we also highly recommend

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank swc740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sable505, Executive Chef at Sable Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for joining us while you were staying in the hotel. It is nice to hear our server went out of his way to make you feel welcome.

See you next time.
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
122 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Bring a friend - shared plates are amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We went to Sable on a recommendation, and are now recommending it to all. Fun venue, with GREAT variety of food. We followed our friend's suggestion, and purchased half plates which we shared. The deviled eggs with truffle oil were amazing. Shrimp and grits were perfection. We also had lobster rolls - grilled sandwiches which were good but not great, and chicken & waffles - also good but not great. There are so many options on the menu -- definitely worth going again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Milwaukeetraveler-dj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sable505, Executive Chef at Sable Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed our shareable concept. Please come back and see us again soon.

Thank you-
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Drinks and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Great food and drinks. A trendy place with an awesome menu. Service was great and we had a great time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sable505, Executive Chef at Sable Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for joining us and leaving us such positive feedback. Please come back and see us soon.

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had a wonderful meal here with 5 of us at the table. It was crowded but our waiter was quick and responsive to our needs. We shared deviled eggs, scallops, mussels, flatbread, tuna tartar tostados, lobster roll and 4 desserts. We were anxious to try this restaurant and it did not disappoint.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fairyprincess69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sable505, Executive Chef at Sable Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for joining us, we are so happy to hear that we did not disappoint you during your visit.

Please come back sometime soon.

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sable Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sable Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing