We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrumptious small-plate menu created by a clever chef, whose staff really knows what they're serving.”

Sable Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #204 of 9,899 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Illinois
Transit: Red Line to Grand Brown Line to Merchandise Mart Bus Routes: #29, #39 & #65
Description: Sable Kitchen & Bar: Classic Era Atmosphere in Chicago's River North Neighborhood Step into Sable Kitchen & Bar. Discover what you've been waiting for: A new American gastro-lounge that artfully reinstates the cocktail to its rightful throne, a place where you'll lose yourself in a menu of Chef Heather Terhune's soul-satisfying social plates of delectable hors d'oeuvres, fresh fish, meats, sustainable selections from the farm and garden, alongside a collection of hand-crafted brick-oven flatbreads. Adjacent to Kimpton's Hotel Palomar Chicago, Sable is a refreshing update for today, where the glamour of the 1940's mingles effortlessly with modern industrial touches. The effect is undeniably chic and immensely comfortable. Exceptional Food to Match Exquisite Drinks For some, Sable emerges as the spot of choice for dining any time of day. For others, it becomes a much-needed chance to revel in the purity of handcrafted cocktails and a chance to sample a diverse selection of wines. But for all, Sable surfaces as a dining destination in Chicago's River North neighborhood on par with the city's most acclaimed restaurants. Drop in for a very special drink. Share a plate or two. And enjoy Sable's special blend of contemporary class and soothing Chicago hospitality.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

For an apres-theatre dinner Sunday with four eaters with different needs/likes, Sable offered a winning combination of great variety, creative flavor combinations and a quick/smart server who knew how we could tweak some dishes. Everybody walked away happy, sated & surprised by the menu's options.

Naturally, the small plate trend works for a lot of folks. We ordered the small & med sizes of some items, and then got to try a lot of Heather Terhune's gourmet genius. Starting with the hefty portion of spiced almonds/cashews & the spicy fried kale chips, we were off to a great start. When my daughter wanted to know what items were "vegan," the server assured us that several items could be cooked without butter easily. The omnivores in the quartet wolfed down some tender lamb-meat sliders, some super-creamy deviled eggs, and perfectly spiced tuna tartare tostadas. My daughter was thrilled with a nice-sized crispy red-lentil cake, topped with a delicate, creamy curry-coconut sauce. We all dug into that one.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Sable & hope to return. Not trendy, just delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mcdeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sable505, Executive Chef at Sable Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you so much for joining us. We try to be very conscience of our vegetarian and vegan patrons. Offering a wide variety of menu items gives everyone a chance to enjoy what they like.

See you next time!
Heather Terhune

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 455 of 835 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Being from the south I don't usually eat at "Southern Food" places. This is a different spin. The deviled eggs are not like your grandma's - they are better. The chicken in waffels will make you slap your mama! Try the flat breads, the mushroom was great. Even then the drinks have their own ice cube spin. It is a fun dinning experience with whole or half plates. You could have almost the whole menu- we did!

1  Thank RayDunkin35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sable505, Executive Chef at Sable Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Well, I wouldn't say we are Southern, but I did live and work in the South which is where some of my inspiration comes from. Glad to hear you enjoyed some of our Sable favorites.

See you soon!
Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Tried this based on reviews.

Sampled a number of small plates. The corn brûlée was different and very good. The short rib sliders were good but not great and rather small. The oat risotto sounded very interesting but was a modest disappointment.

Likely the best item was a great Hemingway daiquiri. May be the best I have had and far better than the ones I concoct at home. The waiter graciously provided their recipe as well.

Overall, the food was somewhere between 3 and 4 stars. However, there was no bread provided whatsoever. To me, good bread makes for a great meal and great bread makes for an exceptional event. It is a given that any fine dining venue should offer well crafted "staff of life" with their meals. To not even attempt to do so is either an intent to trim costs or simply be inattentive to providing a complete dining experience. That omission swayed my rating meter to 3 stars.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ObscureDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sable505, Executive Chef at Sable Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for leaving your feedback. While we don't automatically offer bread service, but we do have it on request. Our sharable menu concept is a bit unconventional, but it allows our guests to try many of our 47 food items during the dining experience.

Come back and give us another try the next time you are in town.

Heather Terhune

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I dined her with two business colleagues and very much enjoyed the service and food.

The front section of the restaurant is an upscale bar, once you pass through the bar area you get to the restaurant section near the open kitchen. One of my colleagues knew enough to ask for a table in the back section. That area, away from the bar and open kitchen, allowed us to have good conversation while enjoying the meal.

The menu is excellent and the culture of the restaurant encourages sampling and sharing of food among diners. That worked well for us. We were not disappointed in any of the dishes, and I particularly enjoyed the mildly spicy shrimp and grits.

I'm told that the "bar scene" is also highly regarded, but we skipped that due to noise factor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fontek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

One of my better meals on this visit to the States - quality and innovative approach to tapas. Had 3 different half-size tapas and that was more than adequate for a meal - the pork belly was a knock-out.
A good wine list and excellent service and atmosphere.
A top meal at excellent value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sable Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sable Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing