We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shared Plates - my favourite!”

Sable Kitchen & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Sable Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #194 of 9,882 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Illinois
Transit: Red Line to Grand Brown Line to Merchandise Mart Bus Routes: #29, #39 & #65
Description: Sable Kitchen & Bar: Classic Era Atmosphere in Chicago's River North Neighborhood Step into Sable Kitchen & Bar. Discover what you've been waiting for: A new American gastro-lounge that artfully reinstates the cocktail to its rightful throne, a place where you'll lose yourself in a menu of Chef Heather Terhune's soul-satisfying social plates of delectable hors d'oeuvres, fresh fish, meats, sustainable selections from the farm and garden, alongside a collection of hand-crafted brick-oven flatbreads. Adjacent to Kimpton's Hotel Palomar Chicago, Sable is a refreshing update for today, where the glamour of the 1940's mingles effortlessly with modern industrial touches. The effect is undeniably chic and immensely comfortable. Exceptional Food to Match Exquisite Drinks For some, Sable emerges as the spot of choice for dining any time of day. For others, it becomes a much-needed chance to revel in the purity of handcrafted cocktails and a chance to sample a diverse selection of wines. But for all, Sable surfaces as a dining destination in Chicago's River North neighborhood on par with the city's most acclaimed restaurants. Drop in for a very special drink. Share a plate or two. And enjoy Sable's special blend of contemporary class and soothing Chicago hospitality.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Wow! A hotel restaurant that rates well because it's good in it's own right and not just because all the Palomar hotel guests eat there! Lovely wine and delicious food on our first night in Chicago. Very busy but service was attentive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StrayKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sable505, General Manager at Sable Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thanks for the great feedback! I am so glad you see what our true potential can be. We really appreciate that. Please don't hesitate to reach out if we can be of assistance with making a reservation for you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 469 of 832 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

My sister and I were staying at Hotel Palomar and decided to have brunch at Sable. The restaurant was very busy with a vibrant bar scene every night we were there. By Sunday, we couldn't wait to have brunch there. Our server Eric was great as well as the chef explaining each dish. The scones w/ the tomato bacon jam and the chicken&waffles were our favorite.

Thank Vanntastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sable505, General Manager at Sable Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

I am so glad you were able to try us during your stay at the Palomar. Thanks for the great feedback. Let us know if you make your way back to our neck of the woods; we would love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Fantastic bar and bar menu on the weekends. Brunch menu was creative but didn't quite do it for me. Dinner menu looked amazing. Was staying in Palomar hotel above so wanted to venture out for most meals, but as good as a "hotel restaurant" as Ive experienced.

Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sable505, General Manager at Sable Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thanks for some really great feedback. I am sorry to hear that we did not come through for you with our brunch menu. We would love to know what didn't work. We hope you do make it back for dinner as I think you will be pleased. Thanks again for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

start to finish, this was a fabulous meal! we loved the small plates idea...it gave us lots of yummy options to try and share. favourites included: mini veggie wild mushroom burgers, roasted beets, bacon jam + ALL the desserts!!!! our server, christian, was super patient as we literally drooled over the menu and tried to decide what to order. i loved that he let us pace our meal by ordering in small batches (instead of ordering all our dishes right at the beginning)...we did not feel rushed at all and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. if you want to dine here, i encourage you to make a reservation ahead of time online to make sure you have a table...i would eat here again in a second!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelling_monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sable505, General Manager at Sable Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for so many kind words! We are so glad to hear that Christian took such great care of you. It sounds like you had the unique dining experience that we are so proud of. Thanks so much for stopping in and seeing us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stopped here for brunch. It was average. Plates were "small plates." So if you are really hungry, this is not the place. The food was room temperature, but the plates were warm. It was just okay.

Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sable Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sable Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing