We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! Loved this place!”

Sable Kitchen & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Sable Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #146 of 9,520 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Illinois
Transit: Red Line to Grand Brown Line to Merchandise Mart Bus Routes: #29, #39 & #65
Description: Sable Kitchen & Bar: Classic Era Atmosphere in Chicago's River North Neighborhood Step into Sable Kitchen & Bar. Discover what you've been waiting for: A new American gastro-lounge that artfully reinstates the cocktail to its rightful throne, a place where you'll lose yourself in a menu of Chef Heather Terhune's soul-satisfying social plates of delectable hors d'oeuvres, fresh fish, meats, sustainable selections from the farm and garden, alongside a collection of hand-crafted brick-oven flatbreads. Adjacent to Kimpton's Hotel Palomar Chicago, Sable is a refreshing update for today, where the glamour of the 1940's mingles effortlessly with modern industrial touches. The effect is undeniably chic and immensely comfortable. Exceptional Food to Match Exquisite Drinks For some, Sable emerges as the spot of choice for dining any time of day. For others, it becomes a much-needed chance to revel in the purity of handcrafted cocktails and a chance to sample a diverse selection of wines. But for all, Sable surfaces as a dining destination in Chicago's River North neighborhood on par with the city's most acclaimed restaurants. Drop in for a very special drink. Share a plate or two. And enjoy Sable's special blend of contemporary class and soothing Chicago hospitality.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wow! Loved this place!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Went here with my whole family...ages 23 to 53. Amazing bar menu...so many fun, delicious and creative cocktails. Loved the touch of the fun "sayings" on the menu. Food was delicious, inventive and beautifully prepared. We were all pleased with our choices...the most difficult part was deciding which to order! Great service, fun vibe...when can we go back? I hope soon!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jillz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sable505, Executive Chef at Sable Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the feedback. We are happy that your guests found something they could all enjoy. Stop by and see us soon so that you can try the rest of the menu.

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    227
    72
    25
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Where to begin”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had so much fun and such great food. The war of the roses drink was great. Had two. Yum! Loved the deviled eggs, jerky, Dates tuna tostada,quail, scallops and the corn brûlée. Oh wait I forgot the desserts, two wonderful desserts. Everything was great. I would order it all again. Christian and Heather were great as well. Love the small plates. You can try a lot of different tastes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jukie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sable505, Executive Chef at Sable Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Great meeting you both! So happy you had a great time and took my recommendation for the Sticky Toffee Pudding Cake and the Dark Chocolate Souffle Cake. Christian is a gem and we are happy he is on our team. See you next time!

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We went for dinner, great atmosphere, busy and fun, have a killer bar up front and a smaller eating area in the back. The food, small plates, was imaginative and fabulous. We are pretty fussy and we were very impressed. Service was good. We went back the next day for breakfast simply because thery were close to the hotel and open at 8am and we are early risers - breakfast is phenomenal! Get an egg dish and then the home made donuts. Boyfriend was in heaven. Would recommend highly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sharkleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sable505, Executive Chef at Sable Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for joining us for dinner and brunch. Happy to hear you enjoyed the doughnuts, it's a variation of my grandmother's recipe.

See you next time!
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narbonne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too good”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Accidentally stumbled into Sable on first night in Chicago and what a start - felt good from the moment I sat down. Relaxed but efficient service (really difficult combo to achieve) and ideas like small plates meant we tried both starters and mains. On the food front - I now like kale, date/cheese/bacon rolls delicate and delicious, pork and smoked butternut squash, hard to fault. Drank an insane cocktail called Ziggy's Stardust and Napa sparkling which was excellent. I'm hard to please but this was one of the greats.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sable505, Executive Chef at Sable Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We love when guests "stumble upon us" during a visit. Thanks for joining us and we are so happy to hear you like our food and cocktail program. See you next time.

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“We ate here TWICE in Chicago and LOVED it!!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

In a city like Chicago, it is crazy to eat at the same place twice....unless it as good as this!! We were blown away by the friendly staff and the wondeful selection of menu items. We were staying in the Hotel Palomar which is in the same building. We don't often eat at hotel restaurants, but this place isn't your ordinary restaurant. The interior is totally hip, with nice decor and big windows to enjoy some people watching or big city life. The menu is really smart, as it allows you to order food to share, tapas - style, or you can order something just for yourself, with a whole order, or a half order on most dishes. We had the corn brulee on both visits, as my wife craved this dish from the start. We also had the butter infused gormet slider burgers with carmelized onions, scallops with golden raisens and a tasty thai-like curry sauce. We also had the fried cheese curds and the crispy fried kale, two great dishes to share. A DO NOT MISS dish is the Fried Chicken and Waffles with bouron maple syrup. When I showed a picture of these to my co-workers back home, they went into orbit. It is a delicious dish and hard to beat. We also had a lentil cake with shredded vegetables in a peanut satay-like (thai) sauce. The Ahi Tuna tostadas were also yummy. Our server was great too. His name is Eric. We got him on both visits. I figured I might do a review on Trip Advisor, so I asked his name and if he spelled it with a K on the end. He was very funny and said he had always aspired to having a K.....thus here it offically is, ERICK, you gave rocKin' service thay was beyond oKay....thanks for the great meal and service. Your restaurant does a great service to those who stay at the Hotel Palomar, and I hope the Kimpton properties knows what a treasure they have with the affiliation of your restaurant. The prices are mid-range. We spent around $30 per head. We did not order alcohol, but apparently their mixologist is highly respected, so I'm sure if you would enjoy having a drink, this would be a great place to stop.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sable505, Executive Chef at Sable Kitchen & Bar, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Wow...it means a lot to hear from out of town guests that they ate here twice during you visit. Eric is new to our team and a lovely server and we are so happy to hear he took extra special care of you. We hope to see you next time you are in Chicago.

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sable Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing