We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect dinner”

Sable Kitchen & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Sable Kitchen & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #172 of 9,604 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Illinois
Transit: Red Line to Grand Brown Line to Merchandise Mart Bus Routes: #29, #39 & #65
Description: Sable Kitchen & Bar: Classic Era Atmosphere in Chicago's River North Neighborhood Step into Sable Kitchen & Bar. Discover what you've been waiting for: A new American gastro-lounge that artfully reinstates the cocktail to its rightful throne, a place where you'll lose yourself in a menu of Chef Heather Terhune's soul-satisfying social plates of delectable hors d'oeuvres, fresh fish, meats, sustainable selections from the farm and garden, alongside a collection of hand-crafted brick-oven flatbreads. Adjacent to Kimpton's Hotel Palomar Chicago, Sable is a refreshing update for today, where the glamour of the 1940's mingles effortlessly with modern industrial touches. The effect is undeniably chic and immensely comfortable. Exceptional Food to Match Exquisite Drinks For some, Sable emerges as the spot of choice for dining any time of day. For others, it becomes a much-needed chance to revel in the purity of handcrafted cocktails and a chance to sample a diverse selection of wines. But for all, Sable surfaces as a dining destination in Chicago's River North neighborhood on par with the city's most acclaimed restaurants. Drop in for a very special drink. Share a plate or two. And enjoy Sable's special blend of contemporary class and soothing Chicago hospitality.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A perfect dinner”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We went to Sable on 30 Dec 2012 around 9pm without reservation. We ordered 4 tapas in small portion to share and found all the goods were very great. Sweet Corn Creme Brulee was especially good. The taste was wonderfu. Another one we highly recommend is Grilled Pork Belly. It was awesome. That's the last night of our 6-day trip in Chicago and Sales put a perfect full stop for our trip.

Helpful?
Thank weslau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    230
    73
    26
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent tastes, great small bites, perfect brunch experience.”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Food had such amazing tastes, it was like being back in Brooklyn eating at one of my best foodie places.

We visited during the holidays during brunch and was very please with what we got. Overall package was amazing and the food left us full and very pleased.

Decor: Modern Chic.

Service: Our waiter was very attentive and kind.

Food: We ordered the fried chicken and waffles to share, which I could not be more please with. The syrup was such a delight. It was a maple bourbon mix which was such an amazing new take to chicken and waffles. We also ordered the black bean and cheese enchilada, which was more than plenty to share. It had a great spice to it that left me more than pleased.

All in all, we could not be happier with our brunch decision to visit Sable. I would definitely suggest this location to friends for a sensible brunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iamchrismai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun Foodie Find”
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I ate here on a recent Sat night for our wedding anniversary. We stayed at the Palomar Hotel so the location was pretty perfect for us. We consider ourselves foodies and I can now place Sable in my top 5 restaurants. We shared 5 small plates so we could sample plenty of dishes. The portions were perfect for 2 people to share. We had the Wisconsin Cheese Curds with spicy ketchup, Tuna Tartar Tostada, Lobster Roll Sliders, Buttermilk Chicken & Waffles, and Pork Belly Flatbread. It was hard to pick a favorite of the five dishes. The decor and mood were great with a perfect view of the open kitchen. The cocktail menu was extensive and allowed me to try a drink I'd never had before. I would highly recommend Sable.

Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElvisCountry
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“excellent small plates, so many great choices”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Food was better than described. Service was very helpful and spot on with recommendations with drinks and food. A tad slow with service, but I feel they have been shorthanded.
The bar is very lively. The drink menu can be overwhelming, asking for recommendations is helpful. Trendy, but comfortable scene.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank memphomomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good is great-atmosphere is loud”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We got to Sable w/out reservation at around 9pm. We were lucky in getting a seat - communial seating and bar seating were only available as the dining area was packed and full. The bar started getting even louder and more busy after we arrived. The food came out very quickly. We tried the butternut squash soup, salad, lamb sliders and short rib/root beer sliders and tuna smear. All tasted great and I would get them again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sable Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sable Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing