We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make your own bowl of dinner”
Review of Flat Top Grill

Flat Top Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Flat Top Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #274 of 9,544 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Description: Flat Top Grill, the pioneers of the create-your-own meal concept, offers a variety of vegan, vegetarian, allergy-friendly and meat protein options. You can package fresh, hand-picked ingredients to create your own burritos, soups, lettuce wraps, Roti tacos, stuffed sandwiches or traditional bowls. All military veterans and active service members receive 25% off their entire bill always and kids eat free every Monday!
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Make your own bowl of dinner”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The ingredients were fresh and prepared and seasoned well. Dessert was delicious! Waiters were great and informative

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gypsytrvlr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    104
    27
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Have fun with your own DIY food!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We spent quite sometimes to understand the 'procedures' explained by the waiter. It sound complicated but it get easier once you started at the food bar. Quite a variety of food to choose from and having fun on creating the combination with the food for your own meal. A lot of surprises there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeeNee_Cho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, IL
Level Contributor
112 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Create your own unique Stir Fry, Fun and Satisfying!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The combinations are endless when creating your own Stir Fry, Lettuce Wrap or Mu-Shu.
You will be given a larger bowl to fill with rice, noodles and a variety of vegetables. We were behind some veteran diners and watched them carefully stack their bowls full and we followed their lead. Same thing with the small “protein” bowl, fill up with a variety of chicken, beef, fish, sausage. The combinations are what make your dish taste fantastic! Have your server give you some suggestions for the sauces as ours gave us great advice and had us try a few combinations before we made our final decision. Don’t forget to add a “stick” that indicates that your dish needs Egg, Cheese or Roti Prata bread added or if you want your dish to be a Lettuce Wrap or Mu-Shu. I would suggest reviewing the Flat Top web site prior to dining to familiarize your sell to how this restaurant works as it is unusual but lots of fun. All of our dishes turned out different but we all thought they tasted fresh and wonderful.

* This was the perfect meal prior to our night at the Oriental Theater; we are already planning a return trip to Flat Top Grill. *

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Supercleaner64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good variety to choose from”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I'm vegan and finding a restaurant that has vegan options is wonderful. The food choices were good, I like the freedom to create my own dish. The bowls provided to use to pick the items you want are a bit small, but that kept me from over eating. It appeared that all of the food; meat and non-meat are cooked on the same grill. So there's a huge possibility of getting animal grease absorbed into a vegan meal which is not good. That was my my only issues with the food. The service was good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fun Asian Food at its Finest”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

YUMMY!!! This was our 2nd time eatting here and it didi not let us down. SO GOOD and different. There is a menu to pick a few dishes from BUT the reason why we go there and why we will come back is for the buffet style picking rice or noddles, then picking over 25 different foods to put in your bowl. Then picking and mixing over 25 different Asian sausces. And last but not least picking with or without meat. Giving the bowl of food that you pick out over the cook and they grill it up. At the grill you can also pick if you want extra things add like egg or cheese or shrimp... In a short time your server brings it to your talbe ready to eat.
After you are done with that bowl you can go up again and try something very different from your 1st dishes....love that...
Good prices
Good and nice servers and hosts.
Nice atmosphere, different types of setting
Can't wait to come back, wish they would come to Rockford, IL
Families would like this place too, especially if you have a picky eatter. There is an aera for strollers and they have highchairs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flat Top Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing