We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Spot”
Review of Gilt Bar

Gilt Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Gilt Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #124 of 9,548 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Franklin
Transit: Merchandise Mart (Brown Line)
Description: An inviting River North bar and restaurant featuring classic craft cocktails and contemporary American cuisine designed for sharing. Guests can enjoy a curated menu of seasonally inspired small plates, pastas, seafood and grilled entrees, including the signature Tenderloin Steak Tartare, Truffle Pasta and Grilled Farm Chicken.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
652 reviews
563 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“What a Great Spot”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

How do you describe this place? It is almost sinfully good. A great bar and wine list, amazing cocktails, personable staff and comfort food to die for.

Our server, Jeff, was very thorough and helpful in his descriptions of the dishes and their ingredients. His acumen with the wine and bourbon selections was also good (one nit here--a bar at this level should have Angel's Envy on hand, although Heaven Hill is a nice sub).

We tried the healthy toast, with garlic and balsamic--um, um, good. But the steak tartare and burrata versions our neighbors were eating looked good as well.

Having had the pasta yesterday at Nightwood, I ignored my first impulse to try the orchiette pasta with pork, and instead had the pork meatballs with romesco sauce and kale--touchdown! My wife also loved her Caesar salad with whitefish and unsealed potato chips (with a portion of my meatballs as a complement).

The desserts look old school but good, but we did not partake after three days of dining Chicago.

This is a place to go to to drink, or to eat, or to listen to the soundtrack and watch the mostly young and good-looking folks walk by. You can't go wrong here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jays911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    104
    25
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I loved this place!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We walked in to a dark, hip, romantic atmosphere. The hostess directed us to the downstairs lounge while we waited for our table. We ordered drinks, listened to music (from record player... so cool), and people watched. The drinks were great! It was entertaining watching the bartender make an assortment of drinks for other guests. I could have stayed here all night. Alas, our table was ready and we went upstairs. Our waiter was attentive and helpful. Every food selection we made was perfect. And we were both surprised when the bill came. Not as expensive as we expected. I will definitely return to the Gilt on our next visit to Chicago.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ccoutlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
196 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very nice, Bartender amazing”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a beautiful restaurant. Dark and moody, romantic atmosphere. The bartender was absolutely fantastic. I had a cocktail, a littet rose, and it was so well made. She was very personable, from Boston, and I'm pretty sure making cocktails for the whole restaurant. It was a pleasure to watch her make these drinks, each one made with extreme attention to detail.
Then we sat down for dinner, and that was fabulous too. Small menu, but I guess if you do only a few things, then you have to do them well. I had the salmon, which had a nice buttery flavor to it. The boy had the Gnocci, which was also good, he enjoyed it a lot. His favorite part of the meal was blackened cauliflower, which was amazing. Prices were very reasonable for the quality of food. Our waitress was very good, not great, but was new. She brought us the wrong bill at first, but besides that was very nice and attentive but not too attentive. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. Great date place for people making a ton of money or not making a ton of money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 598Storm598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool place! Trendy and hip! Loved the music!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We did have reservations, but it was rediculously early as we were heading to the theater at 8:00pm. It was not crowded when we arrived. Within 30 minutes the place was packed. There were 6 of us and we orderd a variety of selections off the menu. We are foie gras people so when we saw it on the menu, we ordered-delicious with the grilled rustic bread, grainey mustard and cornichons. We also had the artichoke appetizer which was also delicious. Pair that with the $4.00 house wine and we were off to a great start. Our group went with the chicken and pasta dishes and absolutely no complaints from anyone. I'll vouch for the chicken since that is what I had. It was wonderful. Our waitress was flawless. Very accomodating. It was the best meal we had in the 4 days we were in Chicago!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cemorzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We had no dinner reservation..”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

It was the night before the Chicago Marathon and we had no resrevations because earlier that week we could not make up our minds and now nothing was available. We happened to be walking back from the merchandise mart and saw The Chop House (it was still early and they posted a Happy Hour) and knew they had a great rep..so we were about it go in as it was not busy yet. A group of people seemed to be headed in but a lady in a red jacket said,,Nope, we are not stopping here, we are going down there, pointing down Kinzie. we shrugged our shoulders and followed her to the Gilt Bar. ..what the heck. As I said it was early and aside from the bar it was not too busy so we got seated right away. What a great choice..great appitizers and drinks to start with. Service was great. we suddenly realized that the drinks were similar to the drinks on the menu of where we dined the previous night. Yep, Bavette's Bar is owned by the same fellow. Both were very young happening places. Gilt was a more rapid paced place, while Bavette's was more relaxing. We ate in the celler (dungeon) of Bavette's which I loved!
My friends insisted that we get a close look at the bar tenders. The reason was that the were realy mixologists! They used eye droppers to measure out some ingredients..the drinks were perfectly made and were so delicious. The only complaint was it was so dark everyone pulled out their cell phones..not becasue we were the mature crowd,,because it was dark! (the waiters carried flashlights) ..so if you can get a reservation try out Bevettes for a leisure dinner or Gilt for a quicker paced meal. (they did not rush us, it was just the vibe of the place),,and you can really people watch as the night gets going.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlumaFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilt Bar also viewed

 

Been to Gilt Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing