We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #28 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Briarcliff Manor, New York, United States
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Pretty good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel is big and in the financial area of Chicago. Don't love area. Rooms are very nice with beautiful bathroom and big shower. Towels were substandard and turn down service inadequate as they did not replace towels or tidy up bathroom. Food at conference was very good and they are pretty attentive in terms of service. No major complaints about hotel and fine for a conference but nothing super special.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredSiegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your candid review, I regret that every aspect of your visit was not what you would have expected. Our management team evaluates every review to ensure we are delivering a quality experience worthy of a luxury tier hotel.
On a positive note, thank you for the recognition of our culinary team and banquet staff, we are proud of all of our associates whether they have direct guest interaction or not. Their commitment in delivering a memorable experience surpasses any of our competitors in the Chicago market.
Hopefully we will be able to have you as our guest again in the future, and be able to convert a pretty good stay into an exceptional one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    339
    81
    22
    15
See reviews for
172
261
41
539
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in April of 2013 with a friend after arriving back from Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. It was for her birthday celebration and I must say that this property is astounding! It includes a beautiful lobby, newly remodeled décor in every room and a restaurant and bar as well. The spa is nothing short of amazing, with every type of spa service a person could want! The spa is 20,000 square feet! Shopping and dining is literally right outside of this properties front door. If you're visiting Chicago, this hotel is a must stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnathon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Perfect. Your generous review is greatly appreciated and I can assure you the leadership team of the JW Chicago also enjoys reading about these memorable stays. Recognition of the physical attributes of our hotel delights not only the designers who sought to keep the grandeur from a century ago, but to the staff that ensures every feature is polished and in working order. While we are grateful for the recommendation for other visitors to experience our hotel, Indianapolis is a relatively short distance away and hopefully you'll be able to be our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effingham, Illinois
Level Contributor
177 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Typical conference stay. We were given a handicap room which was a surprise. Handicap shower was large enough for a wheel chair, shower was an out of order hand held. No door on the shower so towels had to be used for mats which defeats the green concept. No bath tub. Bedroom is pretty typical, linens were what you expect for a JW Marriott. Restaurant was average. Service was pretty typical. Ok location if you need to be in the area but there are better. I would only come back if it were for another conference held in this establishment and it was winter in Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Sorry to hear your stay wasn't as you expected, one would hope for future stays with us or our competitors any issues you feel warrant attention are brought to the attention of hotel management in order to be rectified while you are still in-house. We have had much success with both the product and service our associates provide, and regret if your experience was anything less. Accessible rooms may be of a slightly different design, but are held to the same luxury standards for all of our guests regardless of need. We would ask you consider staying with us again on your next visit to Chicago, and allow us to see your stay is made more pleasurable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

really friendly staff. great room and bathroom with big bath, iPod player and internet connection. cool lobby nice place to meet colleagues and unwind a bit with a good wine list. It was noticeable that every time we finished in a meeting room the staff were there to clear up quickly and were always very polite. will come back when in town.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LordH64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you, as most travelers may equate luxury to their room and facilities, we have tried to not only deliver excellence as a hotel, but also as a meeting destination. Our associates, be they in Reception, Housekeeping, Culinary, or Catering all have the same training and expertise to ensure every guest's experience is perfect. We're delighted you had a memorable visit and truly look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I recently stayed at the JW Marriott in Chicago, and I wanted to express how impressed I was with this stay. If I am in the Chicago area again, I will certainly stay at the JW again. The hotel itself is absolutely gorgeous and deserves praise for how well maintained and beautiful it is. What really sets this stay apart for me was the staff. From the time I checked in, the gentleman that checked me in (I didn't catch his name) provided excellent service at check in. Additionally, the concierge lounge staff, particularly Maria and Demetrius went above and beyond to make me feel comfortable during my stay. Wanted to send my sincere thanks to the hotel staff for making my stay wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you! While we may pride ourselves on being the only luxury tier hotel in Chicago's Loop, we also realize it is our associates who set the JW Chicago apart from the competition. Thank you for this public recognition on their behalf, please note your review is not only read by fellow travelers, but also the leadership team within the hotel and the Marriott organization and your gracious comments are warmly received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
466 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Located on Adams Street in the Loop.

Clean, nicely designed public spaces. Lobby spacious, well lit. Lobby bar open, but at the same time out of the traffic. Gym facilities nice - lots of cardio machines and a good selection of free weights. Any hotel gym that has a squat rack is ok by me.
Check in and check out fast and efficient.
Our room was on 8th floor. No street noise. Bed comfortable.
The only drawback is that the area seemed a little seedy, with lots of panhandlers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for the positive review, our lobby was designed to be reminiscent of a bygone era and in keeping with the building’s historical background. Always appreciate when guests take notice of this grand scale concept rarely found in today's hotel designs.
Our staff is here to see your needs were met expeditiously, but we will also take whatever time is necessary to ensure your entire stay is perfect.
As for the neighborhood, with any urban location certain elements are beyond our control, but rest assured our guests are in one of Chicago's safest areas, even more so than our competitors on the Magnificent Mile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Wonderful Clean Hotel.

Rooms were a decent size and very clean with all the modern amenities you need. The service was subtle and to a very high standard, with staff being very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is a decent walk to Michigan avenue but still really central for the park and State St Macys. Despite the hotel being full the foyer layout means that you never feel crowded, which was a real positive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlane766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for the positive review, we have sincerely tried to revive the experience of staying in a grand hotel reminiscent of 100 years ago. From a spacious lobby to service standards unparalleled in today's hospitality sector, juxtaposed with the modern rooms and amenities of the new millennium. As noted, Chicago is very walkable, although other methods of transportation are readily available, but it is our associates with their Midwestern warmth that have brought our hotel success and we would be honored to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#10 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,823 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Burnham Hotel
Kimpton Burnham Hotel
#20 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#95 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Property: JW Marriott Chicago
Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Green Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at this luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago, Illinois luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, the historic JW luxury hotel in Chicago, IL exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in our luxury Chicago, IL hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott Chicago hotel provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing