We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Weekend, Thanks to the JW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #40 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I spent Sept 6-8th in Chicago and had an incredible visit, thanks to our choice of hotels. The JW is conveniently located within walking distance from most tourist attractions and theaters. Its lobby, restaurants and rooms are comfortable but definitely upscale!.

We were upgraded to a beautiful corner suite on the 9th floor. When we opened the door and walked inside I couldn't believe we were so lucky! Everything about the suite was plush and marvelous. The bathroom was gigantic, with two granite vanities, a large marble tub, a walk-in shower for 2 and separate toilet area. I loved the lighted make-up mirror and soaking in the tub while watching a movie on HBO in the bathroom mirror (yes, there was a TV in our bathroom mirror!).

On Friday evening, the doorman quickly hailed a cab for the ride to our restaurant (Roy's) and provided walking directions so that we could stroll back from dinner. Very safe and easy walk from downtown.

We enjoyed a dreamy night of sleep in our large bed and woke up to following morning to a some truly unusual sights and sounds.

I looked out the bedroom window just as a helicopter came speeding by. It turns out that several city blocks/roads below our hotel were closed for filming of the movie "Transformers 4". Cars and aliens were exploding in the streets below and we laughed as we drank coffee and stared out of our huge bathroom windows. It made for a really funny morning.

Watching the filming antics made us hungry so we decided to go exploring. We asked the valet for a breakfast recommendation. He did not steer us wrong, as we walked to Lou Mitchell's diner and had a very entertaining and filling breakfast/lunch. I highly recommend their Eggs Benedict and omelettes.

Our living room & large screen TV was great for watching college football games before dinner at the Florentine.

Our hotel dinning experience was exceptional. They have a comprehensive list of wine and a unique selection of entrees. Our server made recommendations and we went with them (duck and cornish game hens). The manager/sommelier was very friendly and helpful. He even provided his business card, in case we needed advice about Italian wines in the future. They offered free desert but we both were to full to indulge.

We were in town to see Michael Buble' at the Untied Center so we had plenty of time to catch a cab after dinner. We made a quick stop in our room and discovered it had already been cleaned, restocked and turned down for the evening. Great house keeping staff!

After the concert, the front desk staff printed off airline boarding passes for me. He was so friendly and helpful.

We believe the JW Marriott is the place to stay while visiting Chicago and will gladly return in the future. You can count on Impeccable customer service and luxurious surroundings. This is why I always chose Marriott!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank You! There is nothing I could possibly add to your very gracious review. We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and memorable weekend in Chicago. We hope to have you as our guests again soon, can't promise a movie shoot, but we will do our best to sustain the level of luxury you have now come to expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,024 - 1,030 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our room on the 11th floor overlooked the "L". The staff was excellent and made our stay that much better. Close to shopping, eating, Skydeck, Grant/Millennium Park and museums all within walking distance. (okay we walk a lot in downtown areas, so museums may not be walking distance for everyone). The beds were comfortable and the room was bigger than we had expected. The bathroom was huge with a huge tub and toilet separated off by a sliding door. We will stay at this location again and have already recommended it to our friends going that way.

Room Tip: We have kids ranging from almost two to teenagers so we liked overlooking the "L". The ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DachK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you, always happy to read a positive review from a family perspective as our younger guests can sometimes be our toughest critics. As you pointed out, the "L" is part of Chicago's character, and even though we've double paned and sound proofed the windows, it still brings a certain charm to see the trains making their way around the Loop. Chicago is also an easy city to walk and navigate, as you've discovered, and hopefully your fellow travelers will appreciate your enthusiasm and follow your recommendations when visiting the Windy City. St. Louis isn't too far (and if you take the train, we're only two blocks from Union Station), so hopefully soon you will once again be our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

All in all it is a very nice hotel. The rooms and other areas are very tastefully decorated. The staff was extremely efficient and attentive and the lobby bar had superior service and excellent drinks, for a Marriott.
I only have a few complaints and and two are typical of all Marriott's.
1) Why does the more expensive of their brand charge for WiFi? I just don't understand the logic of supplying it for free in low budget brands and charging at the top of the line.
2) Some people like Coke and some people like Pepsi. I realize they get a deal to make more money buy making one of them exclusive but what about the customers preference?

The Florentine restaurant had very good service but what I consider a very strange breakfast menu. They are fixated with field greens on all the breakfast plates. I actually enjoyed my unusual dish which included a spicy tomato sauce but could have done without the field greens on top of the sunny side up eggs.
The Orange juice is not fresh squeezed and for some reason they don't carry V-8.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rreishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for the overall positive review, while certain items may be outside of our control, we do appreciate your recognition of the rooms and attentive staff.
As meeting the customer needs has always been Marriott's intent, your comments regarding the internet and beverages are noted both internally and on a corporate level.
Our goal is to elevate your stay from a little less than great to perfect, and assure you all of your comments will be reviewed and acted upon by the management team. We would be delighted to have you as our guest again soon, and now with your expectations increased would like to see your next review come back hopefully a little better than great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great hotel, very nicely refurnished - other hotels should take note, THIS is what an update/ hotel makeover should look like. It's not a regular Marriott, it's actually VERY NICE. Great service, excellent location downtown, nice gym, rooms, and great bed. I really liked the place and would stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floors may give you a view. I had no view but it really didn't bother me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelNatL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you! While we would hope all Marriott's are able to deliver a higher level of service than our competitors, the JW Marriott brand is expected to elevate that expectation to a luxury level and trust we provided you with a memorable stay. Very appreciative of the high marks across the board, and sincerely hope you will be our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

we spent three nights here and everything worked out really well. if you are in Chicago for leisure especially during we's location is not the best but still very convenient. All the rest worked out really well from reception to concierge, to cleanliness and spaciousness of the rooms. A minor mishap in the check was promptly corrected. To recommend

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriBologna_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Grazie, we are delighted you chose our hotel during your visit to Chicago. Although we are readily accessible to public transportation, and within walking distance to many popular tourist sites, shopping and after hour dining venues have also increased dramatically in the Financial District since our opening. We are confident this trend will continue and would like for you and your family to be a part of this transformation. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed at the JW Marriott for a business meeting - we had a great room rate for this hotel.
The hotel is in the middle of everything. I have stayed here before and had a better room; this time the king bed seemed a bit tight for the space but is very comfortable. I had an interior room (no view of anything) so it was quiet. The lobby bar is open and lively. The concierge level (per Marriott Platinum level) is pretty good - it is quite packed in the morning and the staff needs to work a bit harder to keep up with the turnover.
My room was pretty far from the elevator.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mabarrett88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for the positive review and sharing both some good points and weaknesses. We strive to ensure every stay is perfect, and while we have may have some physical constraints regarding room size and location, we appreciate your acknowledgement that even with these challenges we can still deliver a quality stay.
Our Executive Lounge staff is intent to see each of their guests are happy and I'm sure they will take your comments to heart. As more Marriott Rewards members continue to make the JW Marriott their hotel of choice in Chicago, we too will continue to look for ways to meet the demand in order that all of your needs are met.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Recently we had a weeks worth of business meeting at the JW Marriott Chicago. From the hotel rooms, meeting space and the food - everything was EXCELLENT! Staff was wonderful to deal with especially when we needed additional items at the last minute. A good number of our attendees travel on regular basis worldwide; all complimented on how great the the hotel was. Thank you JW Marriott Chicago Staff for such a wonderful week!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chulesm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for the excellent review. As most travelers tend to differentiate luxury hotels from meeting hotels, you've discovered one of our best kept secrets. Our Banquet and Catering staff is keen on delivering the same level of quality service as their counterparts in the Rooms area. Our Sales and Event Managers most definitely appreciate the recognition and we will continue our quest in making the JW Marriott Chicago an all-inclusive location for business, leisure, and convention needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#17 of 192 in Chicago
1,727 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Hare
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
#111 of 192 in Chicago
617 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#115 of 192 in Chicago
2,604 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $193 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at JW Marriott Chicago. Our luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois is located at LaSalle & Adams and it soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, historic JW Marriott Chicago exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in one of our luxurious hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, JW Marriott Chicago provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing