We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JW Marriott Chicago
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,556)
Filter reviews
1,556 results
Traveler rating
968
425
113
28
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
968
425
113
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe financial districtthe executive loungewillis towerthe loopsoaking tubseparate showerlobby barbeautiful hotelhuge bathroomhotel gymbeautiful lobbyart museumunion stationbusiness meetingking roomfitness centerchecking in
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,104 - 1,109 of 1,556 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the JW for a combined business and pleasure trip. The room was nice with a comfortable bed and lots of pillows but the bathroom was what made the room worth the money. The deepest most comfortable soaking tub I have been in with a separate big shower. On the negative side, housekeeping didn't replenish the bath products after the first day and absolutely no view at all. Lovely open public spaces, helpful front desk, readily available taxis. Short walk to art institute but a $8 taxi ride to shopping on Michigan. Decent service and good food in bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rapjkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Exectutive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Appreciate the positive review, while we may sometimes not be able to deliver a view, we are delighted when the attention to the room amenities are fully realized. My apologies regarding the service failure regarding bath products, it appears to be an oversight on our part and your experience has been shared with the respective department managers.
Thank you for also highlighting our proximity to the Art Institute, Chicago is a very walkable city (although we have an efficient and readily available public transportation system), and our location in the financial and architectural hub of the Midwest can turn any walk into a sightseeing adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were greeted with a very nice lady who directed us to the check in area with Matt. Matt signed us in and he was very helpful. It was an anniversary stay so they sent us a bottle of champagne and some fruit later after dinner. Matt kudos to you!! Very nice touch. We called later that night for some decaf coffee they forgot to put in the room and it took them a bit to do. Also the lady on the phone appeared to be a bit put out that someone had to bring it up (where's the "its my pleasure") Also, the next morning we had some breakfast dietary needs at the table and again it seemed an inconvenience we had to ask for that. For a JW Marriott, I thought they might have ceramic mugs in the room for coffee instead of a single paper cup my wife and I had to share. For parking stay at the Traders Self Park (bestparking.com) on Franklin St. its about 2 blocks away. Overall its a beautiful hotel in a historic building. Workout rooms are vey nice, wish we had time to try them out. The only problem is the area, when we went out in the morning the first 4 people that greeted us were homeless.

Room Tip: Room was very nice, Eighth floor rooms were nice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackson1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for the kind and constructive review. We appreciate feedback regarding your entire experience, not just to evaluate what we are doing right, but to continually better ourselves and look for training opportunities when something did not meet your expectations. Your review has been shared with our leadership team, I'm hopeful we will see you again in the near future and trust your next visit will be perfect from start to finish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights a year ago and I still think about how beautiful the building is inside and out, how nice the rooms are, the great food and bar service we had and the wonderful big tub in the bathroom - a great place to relax after a hard day walking around Chicago and seeing the sights. Very convenient location and great staff too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StrayKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you! Very uplifting to hear that even after a year you have fond memories of your visit to Chicago and our hotel. Hopefully the opportunity to travel to the States will avail itself soon and we can once again have you as our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The JW Marriott brand is supposed to be somewhat upscale from the other Marriott hotels but I was surprised to learn that over half the rooms at this supposedly fine hotel open onto an air shaft. I was completely claustrophobic and requested a room change only to be put in a handicapped accessible room. I then asked about a Marriott Gold upgrade and was told that nothing was available. Funny, I have been a Gold member for quite awhile and have NEVER been able to get upgraded. I am still loyal to the Marriott brand but there are a bunch of hotels in Chicago I would stay at before considering this "air tunnel" experience again. Try the regular Marriott on Michigan or maybe the Renaissance, but I would stay here only if it is 30 below outside and you have business in the Sears Tower.

Room Tip: Demand something on the outside of the hotel, but even then, expect to be looking into the building next door. There are some great hotel views in Chicago. This hotel just doesn't have any.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

I'm sorry to read this stay did not meet your expectations; one of our greatest challenges was how to format an elegant hotel into an historical structure in the center of an urban landscape. We approached this from the inside out, by providing larger, upscale, and modern rooms then staff and deliver services one should expect from a luxury product. Our commitment to quality and comfort carry through to our accessible rooms and regret any displeasure this may have caused you. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty to the Marriott Brand and hope in retrospect your overall experience and interaction with our associates will bring you back for a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were told by the reservations dept. three days before we arrived that we had two adjoining rooms with two queen beds in each. When we arrived we found out that there is no such combination at this Marriott. Instead we had to put a cot in a king room that was adjoined to a room with two queens. Although this was not ideal, the rest of the hotel accommodations and services were excellent. I probably will not stay there again because of not having the room combination we needed for our party.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 824traveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for the positive review, and my apologies for any miscommunication regarding your reservations. We do take your comments to heart, and will use this as a learning tool to ensure that going forward adjoining, or side by side room requests, are fully explained and differentiated from connecting room requests, which have a privacy door between the rooms. Hopefully sometime in the future you will find a reason to revisit Chicago and our hotel, and our available room type combinations will be more in sync with your accommodation needs. Our intent is for every stay to be perfect, and we look forward to the opportunity to meet or exceed your expectations whenever possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews