We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel near Art Institute”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #39 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
mobile, alabama
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good hotel near Art Institute”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the JW for a combined business and pleasure trip. The room was nice with a comfortable bed and lots of pillows but the bathroom was what made the room worth the money. The deepest most comfortable soaking tub I have been in with a separate big shower. On the negative side, housekeeping didn't replenish the bath products after the first day and absolutely no view at all. Lovely open public spaces, helpful front desk, readily available taxis. Short walk to art institute but a $8 taxi ride to shopping on Michigan. Decent service and good food in bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rapjkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Exectutive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Appreciate the positive review, while we may sometimes not be able to deliver a view, we are delighted when the attention to the room amenities are fully realized. My apologies regarding the service failure regarding bath products, it appears to be an oversight on our part and your experience has been shared with the respective department managers.
Thank you for also highlighting our proximity to the Art Institute, Chicago is a very walkable city (although we have an efficient and readily available public transportation system), and our location in the financial and architectural hub of the Midwest can turn any walk into a sightseeing adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    376
    98
    25
    19
See reviews for
204
291
44
613
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were greeted with a very nice lady who directed us to the check in area with Matt. Matt signed us in and he was very helpful. It was an anniversary stay so they sent us a bottle of champagne and some fruit later after dinner. Matt kudos to you!! Very nice touch. We called later that night for some decaf coffee they forgot to put in the room and it took them a bit to do. Also the lady on the phone appeared to be a bit put out that someone had to bring it up (where's the "its my pleasure") Also, the next morning we had some breakfast dietary needs at the table and again it seemed an inconvenience we had to ask for that. For a JW Marriott, I thought they might have ceramic mugs in the room for coffee instead of a single paper cup my wife and I had to share. For parking stay at the Traders Self Park (bestparking.com) on Franklin St. its about 2 blocks away. Overall its a beautiful hotel in a historic building. Workout rooms are vey nice, wish we had time to try them out. The only problem is the area, when we went out in the morning the first 4 people that greeted us were homeless.

Room Tip: Room was very nice, Eighth floor rooms were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the kind and constructive review. We appreciate feedback regarding your entire experience, not just to evaluate what we are doing right, but to continually better ourselves and look for training opportunities when something did not meet your expectations. Your review has been shared with our leadership team, I'm hopeful we will see you again in the near future and trust your next visit will be perfect from start to finish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights a year ago and I still think about how beautiful the building is inside and out, how nice the rooms are, the great food and bar service we had and the wonderful big tub in the bathroom - a great place to relax after a hard day walking around Chicago and seeing the sights. Very convenient location and great staff too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrayKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you! Very uplifting to hear that even after a year you have fond memories of your visit to Chicago and our hotel. Hopefully the opportunity to travel to the States will avail itself soon and we can once again have you as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The JW Marriott brand is supposed to be somewhat upscale from the other Marriott hotels but I was surprised to learn that over half the rooms at this supposedly fine hotel open onto an air shaft. I was completely claustrophobic and requested a room change only to be put in a handicapped accessible room. I then asked about a Marriott Gold upgrade and was told that nothing was available. Funny, I have been a Gold member for quite awhile and have NEVER been able to get upgraded. I am still loyal to the Marriott brand but there are a bunch of hotels in Chicago I would stay at before considering this "air tunnel" experience again. Try the regular Marriott on Michigan or maybe the Renaissance, but I would stay here only if it is 30 below outside and you have business in the Sears Tower.

Room Tip: Demand something on the outside of the hotel, but even then, expect to be looking into the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I'm sorry to read this stay did not meet your expectations; one of our greatest challenges was how to format an elegant hotel into an historical structure in the center of an urban landscape. We approached this from the inside out, by providing larger, upscale, and modern rooms then staff and deliver services one should expect from a luxury product. Our commitment to quality and comfort carry through to our accessible rooms and regret any displeasure this may have caused you. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty to the Marriott Brand and hope in retrospect your overall experience and interaction with our associates will bring you back for a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were told by the reservations dept. three days before we arrived that we had two adjoining rooms with two queen beds in each. When we arrived we found out that there is no such combination at this Marriott. Instead we had to put a cot in a king room that was adjoined to a room with two queens. Although this was not ideal, the rest of the hotel accommodations and services were excellent. I probably will not stay there again because of not having the room combination we needed for our party.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 824traveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the positive review, and my apologies for any miscommunication regarding your reservations. We do take your comments to heart, and will use this as a learning tool to ensure that going forward adjoining, or side by side room requests, are fully explained and differentiated from connecting room requests, which have a privacy door between the rooms. Hopefully sometime in the future you will find a reason to revisit Chicago and our hotel, and our available room type combinations will be more in sync with your accommodation needs. Our intent is for every stay to be perfect, and we look forward to the opportunity to meet or exceed your expectations whenever possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Spent two nights in the hotel on business. From the efficient and friendly check-in, the well appointed room, this hotel is ideal for business or pleasure. Despite being downtown, the room was ultra quiet. The room was surprisingly large, extremely clean and everything looked very new. The front lobby bar adds ideal life to the hotel. The bartender was extremely efficient and quick. The facilities on LL are pristine!

This location is very well managed with extremely attentive staff who are always willing to assist. This is what hotels should aspire to be.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromToronto2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your favorable review and sharing your stay not only with fellow travelers, but with the management and staff who appreciate the positive ratings.
What sets your review apart though is referencing "what hotels should aspire to be". What a humbling yet rewarding comment, high praise indeed. We hope to continue to set the standards for a new level of luxury in Chicago, and promise to meet or exceed the expectations of guests like yourself for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lonerganmm
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the JW. The lobby is gorgeous, room very comfortable. We also ate at the bar in the lobby and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. My husband said his scallops were exceptionally fresh. The food here is nothing like the typical fare you find at hotels. Service was also exceptional. Our housekeeper even lined up my shoes!
The hotel is located a few easy-walking blocks from the Art Institute. We took the "L" from Midway. The hotel is just around the corner from the train! Couldn't be easier to fly into town and avoid needing a car!! We will definitely coming back. Thank you to all the staff at the JW for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonerganmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you! We're delighted you had an enjoyable weekend in the City and happy that we could be a part of that experience.
Your comments touched on almost every aspect of our hotel and appreciate you sharing your stay with your fellow travelers.
Please allow us to host you again in the near future, and we hope the JW Marriott becomes your home away from home whenever visiting Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#7 of 187 in Chicago
163 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#104 of 187 in Chicago
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 187 in Chicago
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Property: JW Marriott Chicago
Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at this luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago, Illinois luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, the historic JW luxury hotel in Chicago, IL exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in our luxury Chicago, IL hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott Chicago hotel provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing