We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quietly classy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #46 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The staff really make this hotel. They are alert, pleasant, helpful and visible - as is management. A grand lobby with a good bar, comfortable, spacious, well-appointed rooms. An air of quiet order about the place. Even an interesting selection of magazines in the room. Slightly weak wi-fi where we were. Highly recommended. One slight niggle: We were given a $10 voucher instead of the usual welcome amenity for Platinum members. Well, yes, but anywhere can give you $10, whereas the amenity means doing (underlined) something special for them. That's what adds to class.

Room Tip: Upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for your positive review, and for recognizing the staff who truly separate the JW Marriott Chicago from its competition. One of our key drivers is looking for opportunities to enhance our guest's experience through silent anticipation, and your "quietly classy" reference indicates we may have achieved that goal.
We also appreciate your feedback regarding the recently revised Elite recognition program. We had hoped to follow the will of our Platinum guests who've indicated a credit towards a meal or respite of their choice had more value than an amenity; your viewpoint is sincerely respected and will be relayed to Marriott Rewards for future analysis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,112 - 1,118 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

I do agreed its on the pricy side but lets face it ,if you go to a city like Chicago, this is the place to experiences, large lobby great staff bathtub just amazing
tip ; if you can park somewhere else.. cuz at 55$ a day it adds up

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for your positive review and for recommending fellow travelers to experience Chicago's premiere luxury hotel. We take great pride in our hotel and staff, and in a competitive and ever more expensive market like Chicago, appreciative that we had the opportunity to have you as our guests. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have stayed at the JW Marriott several times. The big, clean rooms and attentive, efficient, and knowledgeable staff keep bringing us back. The rooms are always clean and well appointed, beds very comfortable and the bathrooms are very large. The location of the hotel is perfect if you are there on business or there for the Thanksgiving Day Parade. It is also close to shopping on State Street. It is, however, a long walk (or short cab ride) to the shopping on Michigan Ave. The lobby bar is comfortable and the food and drinks are delicious. The hotel restaurant is also top notch. The hotel is so comfortable we keep coming back time and time again. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are very spacious and really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casa1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for your favorable review, and especially for your continued patronage. While we enjoy having guests experience a new brand of luxury in the Chicago market for the first time, we depend upon our repeat guests who have come to expect nothing but the best from our staff and product. We are glad you have had and continue to have memorable stays, and appreciative that you have chosen to share your experience with fellow travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is near perfect. Perfect location. Perfect service. Perfect concierge service. Perfect lobby bar. The staff is extremely attentive and willing to help. Everyone has a great attitude. Made for a great stay in Chicago. Any negatives? The "L" station a half a block away. The train rumbles in and out.

Room Tip: Probably rooms in the back of the hotel would be isolated from the "L" station rumble. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denssull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you! Difficult to improve on perfect, your review is most appreciated. Apologies for the elevated train noise, maybe we can change your perception and make it one of those things that gives Chicago its unique character? Otherwise, our challenge is now to surpass your expectations and make sure future stays are "better than perfect", again thanks again for the exceptional review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This JW is as any other... very nice, clean, and comfortable. The staff is very attentive. My husband and I were spending a much needed weekend away without the children. There was an extra large tub in an extra large bathroom that came in handy. What I did not enjoy was check out time. Looking at the bill, there was all of the expected added city tax, state tax, business tax, etc. Also, a 15.00 fee for internet hook-up and a tax on that charge. Plus, of course, a charge to park the car overnight ($55.00). When it comes to staying in Chicago, I have stayed at places that are just as nice that have free internet, a nice manager's buffet in the evening, free breakfasts and charge less to park overnight. We requested a top floor and were given a room on floor 12. Wasn't really a need for that request as the hotel faces an office building. Our view was basically of someone's office cubicle. It was a very nice and an enjoyable stay. I don't know though that we would stay again for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimbill97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don L, Executive Assistant at JW Marriott Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for the favorable review of our hotel, even though there were some challenges.
Unfortunately taxes are something outside of our control, but something our competitors are also subject to imposing. One hopes the luxury standards of our rooms and the enhanced level of service remains a consideration when choosing a hotel in a demanding market. We do occupy just the first 12 floors of the building, so we were happy to meet your request for the top floor in as much as possible.
Hopefully our location in the heart of the Loop and Financial District was convenient to your needs, and the room decor and amenities within our walls will override the sometime limited views for your upcoming visits.
Thank you again for your time, feedback, and of course allowing us to accommodate you during your stay in Chicago, we do hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked two rooms for one night using Marriott reward points. Check in was smooth. Hotel staff members were helpful and friendly. The bellman made a great dinner recommendation, Rosebud Prime (see separate review). We used valet parking, service was prompt and efficient and for $55 per day, it should be! Room 1 was on the executive floor and was very clean and well-appointed. Room 2 on the 7th floor and was tidy and well-furnished also. The beds were comfortable but not superb. The bathrooms in both rooms were spacious and had a separate water closet. We checked out around 10 am but had the hotel store our bags since we had tickets to a Cubs game. This hotel was very convenient to public transportation. We returned from the game and had no trouble getting our luggage and car. Our experience was positive and on a 10 point scale, I'd give this hotel a 7.5.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank thequeenb615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was surprised at how quiet my room was, even though this hotel is located smack dab in the middle of The Loop in downtown Chicago. My room was large, very clean and, as I said, remarkably quiet. I stayed midweek and was on a high floor, so the high concentration of business travelers (vs. families with kids in tow) contributed to the restful environment.

The concierge lounge was a good one, with filling and "classy" evening refreshments (soup, pasta, salads in martini glasses, etc.) and a breakfast that included eggs, bacon, pastries, fresh fruit, breads and oatmeal. My one beef is that I wish the dairy products at breakfast had been stored in a refrigerator instead of set out on the counter. Otherwise, the food selection in the lounge was outstanding.

The location was excellent, half a block from the "El", the CBOT and the Chicago Fed, as well as right down the street from Millennium Park and the Art Institute. There are plenty of places to go for a walk or jog, and plenty of touristy things to do nearby.

I would highly recommend this hotel to travelers who are looking for a clean, high-quality hotel in a wonderful location. Though there are hotels in the area that are going for a trendy vibe, this isn't necessarily one of them, so if you're looking for a great lounge scene, etc. this might not be the best choice for you. However, if you need a comfortable and luxurious place to stay where you can get a good night's sleep and be fresh for your meeting or exploring the city the next morning, I can't think of a better place to be.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teefisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#118 of 191 in Chicago
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 191 in Chicago
403 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#8 of 191 in Chicago
2,288 reviews
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
#25 of 191 in Chicago
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#26 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $195 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at JW Marriott Chicago. Our luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois is located at LaSalle & Adams and it soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, historic JW Marriott Chicago exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in one of our luxurious hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, JW Marriott Chicago provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing