We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #39 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Highly recommend this location. Great service, staff and location. Very clean, quiet. Only downfall -- the extremely low AC temps when it gets even just a tad warm outside. It gets uncomfortable when you are shivering through the lobby and hallways! But if you can get past that, it's a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agj789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    402
    106
    26
    20
See reviews for
229
305
47
656
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois, USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel. Rooms were clean and very nice. Bathroom was huge, large separate shower and deep tube. Staff friendly at check in and check out. Great location. You can walk to many restaurants and shops in the area. Taxi ride to navy pier for 4 people was around $12. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed only one night at the JW Chicago and was very impressed. The location is close to city attractions, the hotel gym was more than enough. My 14 yr old loved the pool and in room dinning. We had a wonderful stay and great service

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent Memorial Day weekend in Chicago and stayed at the JW Marriott. The hotel was beautiful. The room was quite large for an city hotel, including the bathroom which had a full tub and separate shower. Also, the beds and pillows were comfortable.

The location of the hotel was very close to the Willis Tower (about 1 1/2 blocks) and had a Dunkin Donuts and Starbucks Coffee at the end of the block. Unfortunately, my hubby had a little cold, but a Walgreens was also within 1/2 block. The location worked for us, but it was a little off the Magnificent Mile and the more touristy areas (Millennium Park, Buckingham Fountain etc). We took a trip to the Field Museum and Second City and both were about a $10 cab ride. Also, the El stop is about three blocks away. Armed with printed directions from the concierge, we were able to make to Wrigley and US Cellular Field easily on the El.

All and all, it was a very nice hotel to stay in, as long as you anticipate taking some transportation to other parts of the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TruBurgher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Superb hotel! Great location, very comfortable bed, free bottled water, efficient elevator. And it is very considerate to provide cable to connect computer to TV. Great for family entertaining in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luciya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stay at a lot of Marriotts, and always try out the JW when we can. This one did not disappoint. The hotel is in a historic building, so the rooms are of modest size, but they have done beautiful things with the space they have. The hallways are wide and inviting, the bedding and towels are soft and luxurious, and the bathrooms are stunning. This is the first time I've seen the tv in the bathroom mirror! The doorman and check-in desk were welcoming and very efficient. The location is fabulous with shopping, dining and museums within easy walking distance. And only a few blocks away from our favorite Chicago restaurant, the Bergoff. We will definitely be back next time we are in Chicago.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MichelleKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have to say that this is the largest hotel I've stayed at in Chicago. I stayed with my sister, who was in town for work, earlier this month. The room was a great size, not too big or too small, very clean. The lobby was vast but with personal touches, like the infused water cooler (raspberries the first day). The location in the loop two blocks from Sears Tower (Willis Tower, no) is great for business travelers, yet still close enough to all the attractions for tourists. The only small annoyance was a cement truck noise outside the window quite late into the night, but probably not something the hotel could control. We took advantage of room service for breakfast and it was delivered quickly, and was very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aymee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 190 in Chicago
264 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#105 of 190 in Chicago
2,537 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#89 of 190 in Chicago
574 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Property: JW Marriott Chicago
Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at this luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago, Illinois luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, the historic JW luxury hotel in Chicago, IL exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in our luxury Chicago, IL hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott Chicago hotel provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing