We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and able to accomodate a large group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #40 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The JW Marriott on Adams is a beautiful hotel that's spacious and nicely decorated. I was staying at the hotel for a conference which was easliy able to accomodate the large group as well as two others without feeling over crowded.The rooms are large and have very comfortable beds. The bathroom is beatiful with a huge seperate bath and shower. The fitness area is one of the most well equipt gyms I've seen in a hotel. They also have a nice indoor pool to swim laps or relax in a lounger. If you have a Marriotts rewards program and earn status you will have access to the executive lounge which provides a full breakfast spread, drinks all day and cocktails and appetizers in the evening. The staff was very friendly and helpful during my stay. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Join Marriott Rewards program so you can get reward points and access to the lounge
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcoopersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,486)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent Mother's day weekend at the JW Marriott, which became one of our favorite properties in the city. Rooms were large with high ceilings, lovely bathrooms and wonderful beds. We requested late checkout, which initially produced a frustrated response from the hotel employee - the individual quickly recovered and granted the late checkout. It was a slip in the otherwise wonderful service. Rooms with a city view have a view of the street or other buildings. If you are looking for a grander view, stay somewhere closer to the lake.

The hotel is located in the financial district, so not in the touristy area - however it is 0.6 miles straight down the road to the Art Institute or Lake Michigan. Very walkable to many places or a short cab ride. Across the street from the W (city). The only disappointment is that the club lounge is closed during the weekends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriangleTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed at the JW Marriott for 2 nights while in town for work. Paid $299/night for a standard king room.

Room: Small. There was no sitting chair. Only a desk chair and a couple of stools in front of the bed. Bathroom was large with a nice walk-in shower and a LARGE soaking tub. The toilet is separated from the rest of the bathroom by a sliding door, however it’s tight in there with the door closed! Interior rooms face an inner atrium with a view of absolutely nothing. Outer rooms have city views but presumably quite a bit of street noise. The rooms on the Wells side of the tower overlook the L and are presumably very noisy. While working one evening, I could hear my next door neighbor talking on her phone. I used the iPod dock to plug in my iPhone and amplify the WhiteNoise app on my phone to make sleeping easier. Room had a big closet with plenty of hangars.

Location: Good central location within the loop. The Quincy/Wells L stop (a stop on the Orange line from Midway airport) is directly on the side of the building. For blue line (O’Hare), the nearest stops are roughly 3 blocks away (Jackson at Dearborn or Monroe at Dearborn). The red line is 4 blocks away (from hotel to Wrigley, the trip was just short of 30 minutes).

Food: I didn’t try the restaurant in the hotel (The Florentine) however ordered the continental breakfast from room service the first day. $24 for fruit cup, toast, coffee, and apple juice. Nothing special and typical hotel prices. I ordered for 7:30am, it arrived at 7:26am. It served its purpose but didn’t wow. About an hour later, another gentleman dropped by to take my tray away. This was a nice touch. There are dozens of restaurants (fast food and otherwise) located within a few blocks of the hotel (including a convenient 24 hour/day Dunkin’ Donuts at Wells and Adams for cheap coffee) so you want go hungry if you don’t want to pay hotel prices.

Other: Gym in the basement had an excellent array of workout equipment (ranging from free weights to fancy machines). There was a small pool and hot tub there as well. Thermostat in the room worked very well.

Attention to Detail: My Marriott Rewards account requests extra towels. Much to my surprise (and delight), there was a large stack of them waiting for me when I first walked into the room! The staff I encountered were beyond professional and polite. Fancy hotels have free water in the lobby with strawberries in it – this one did.

Overall: I’d stay here again for sure if I am traveling alone for work. If I came with my wife and kids, I’d need some assurances that the rooms with double beds are larger.

Room Tip: Interior rooms face an inner atrium with a view of absolutely nothing. Outer rooms have city views...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edleo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in May 2013. Loved it! From the spotless room, to the ultra-comfortable bed, to the amazing gym (best hotel gym I've ever seen), this place has it all. It even has a first-rate spa; I had an expensive but so-worth-it massage. Also had a great Italian dinner at the hotel restaurant.
My one quibble is the gift shop, or lack thereof! I arrived late and needed contact lens solution. This place doesn't have a regular store to sell necessities! The front desk clerk tried to be helpful and checked to see if they had any on hand, but they didn't. Come on, JW! You can do better. Don't make a weary guest wander out onto Adams Street at 11 pm in search of contact lens solution. Either keep your complimentary stash fully stocked or open a gift shop! It's not hard.
Other than that a fantastic hotel in all respects!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poolgirl7705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed three days at the JW Marriott for a conference (held in the hotel). The rooms were clean, comfortable and looked very nice. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel is in the financial district, so it is not very close to the big tourist sites, but the cab rides were still fairly short and very cheap when we did travel around Chicago. It is very close to the Willis Tower (walking distance) if you plan on visiting that.
FYI, if you are looking for a good Chicago style pizza, we really liked Giordano's, nearby on Franklin and West Jackson (walking distance). We all agreed that it was better than Lou Malnati's, which had an absurd wait time on a Tuesday night.
The only complaint I would have about the JW Marriott is that the WiFi signal is absolutely terrible. It exists just enough to say that they have a guest WiFi, but I could hardly access it at all, and almost never from my room on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeuroTurista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I attended a conference at this hotel. The room was very nice. The bed was so comfortable and the sheets were great. Definitely a high end hotel. Checking in and out went smoothly. The dining room was set and serviced impeccably. The staff was so kind and accommodating. The food was good too, especially the deserts. This hotel would be great for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I went for a short weekend trip to Chicago and decided to try out two different locations, The first being the Blackstone on Michigan ave (see review). And then this JW On Adams. Side by Side the Michigan Ave Offers great views of the Lake and easy walking access to almost everything. However what the JW may lack in views (different views), more then makes up for in comfort and style. The JW is a nicely updated hotel in the financial district, still very easy to get around due to CTA being very easy to figure out. We did not have a car on our trip which was a lot more convenient then having one due to CTA being so easy! Parking is very expensive at both hotels so be prepared if you are driving in. From the moment you walk in to the friendly staff you can tell this hotel is clicking on all cylinders. Easy Check-in Process/Check-out. MR members seem to be well taken care of at this JW, We only stayed for 1 night, however the friendly check-in staff went out of their way to see about available upgrades. We are MR Gold, and were upgraded to a AMAZING Suite with Sears/Willis Tower views. The lounge is only open on Sunday Night - Friday, and no coupons or breakfast offered in-lue of the lounge on Saturday and Sunday being closed, This benefit is very convenient and in our situation actually is what swayed us to stay Saturday night at the nearby Blackstone. However the lounge is very large and offers great app's at night, with straightforward breakfast in the AM. I would HIGHLY recommend staying at this hotel if you are looking for the most Comfortable stay in Chicago!

Room Tip: Willis tower Views, Higher floors, as train is next to hotel and if on a lower floor may wake light...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 191 in Chicago
294 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#108 of 191 in Chicago
2,552 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $240 - $642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at this luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago, Illinois luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, the historic JW luxury hotel in Chicago, IL exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in our luxury Chicago, IL hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott Chicago hotel provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing