We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt very welcome...and the male staff is hot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #40 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I moved on from the JW in Wash DC this week to the JW in Chicago. LIttle factoid - the bartender told me this was a former bank, and changed over to a hotel in 2010. So if you are looking for the structural beauty, they had to work with what they had, but did a nice job of creating luxury and that "big" feel of all JWs. I liked the room decor of this JW. The staff here again was nothing but smiles and pleasantness. And, good lucking from the bellman, to the bartender, to the server. Girls, think of this place for ladies weekend.

Since it was spring break, also a lot of families here too, and they accomodated them nicely and quietly. The fitness treadmills over look a nice looking pool. Mom can be on treadmill while kids in pool. The bartender made a great gin citrus herb fused drink, which I highly recommend. The concierge had a ready list and a fabulous restaurant recommendation (Gauge). Caroline at the desk was very helpful with my reservation which was a bit mixed up. The room lighting makes sense, the switches are easy to find and turn on the lights that seem logical. Sounds like a small detail but when you travel alot, you just want to press the easy button, and not try to figure everything out at every hotel. Overall, I was choose this hotel again. And if you have read my other reviews, yes it passes the door smudge test!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,143 - 1,149 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

I am not a big fan of the Marriott chain since in my opinion most all of the properties could use a major makeover/updating. I often feel Marriott is very dated but, not so with this property. The first impression from the lobby was good, it is modern, clean and some WOW factor with gleaming tile, mirrors and fresh flowers that scream luxury hotel. Our room was clean, well appointed with a deep soaker tub. The bed was very comfortable and linens were EXCELLENT. We had cocktails and appetizers in the lobby bar. Both were very good. The staff was knowledgable, pleasant and helpful. The concierge made a reservation on our behalf, the restaurant treated us like V.I.Ps and comped our appetizers! The location is slightly off the Magnificent Mile but, certainly is within (5-6 blocks) walking distance to that and more. So, now worries about getting around, taxi or otherwise. We were very happy overall with our stay. I would stay again. The only negative I have is the bath linens were subpar, very flimsy, almost bare thread. I wished for a more luxurious texture.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citigirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

So pleased with this choice for my Chicago stay! Close to my business dealings (I walked to my clients) and the hotel is beautiful! Staff was wonderful. Everyone I encountered was so polite and helpful. The Florentine was absolutely fantastic for breakfast (the only meal I had there) and reasonably priced for Chicago! Super quiet. . only downside is the site. My view was awful.. Fortunately the desk staff upgraded me to a room with "a view" but that view was the windows of the rooms across the way. My original room had NO view. Make sure if you stay and enjoy this fantastic property that you get above whatever floor it is that has no view. That would have been awful. Room somewhat on the small side, but bathroom on the LARGE side. . .I can live with that!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the floor with no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Rude unpleasant checkin experience: refused to let us change to a different room even though we arrived mid afternoon and were assigned to a closet sized room facing a airshaft. For $300+ per night there are really a lot better options in downtown Chicago. Internet service was horrible, constantly lossing connections -- and you have to pay $15 per day for the priviledge --- I was trying to work from hotel room while my wife was attending a conference; ended up having to do almost all of my work for 3 days from the hotel lobby where the internet connection was not much better (but at least free). The facility was clean and upscale. The service we received was definitely NOT upscale. We will not return.

Room Tip: Ask for a outward facing room, on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

For business or pleasure this hotel is the right choice. First of all the staff is amazing!! They seem to bend over backwards to make your stay pleasant. The rooms are super clean,the bathrooms are to die for. Two separate sinks, the toilet is separate, deep sunken tub you could almost swim in,and a separate shower. There were three of us (all women) and we could all fit in the bathroom to get ready.That should give you an example of how big it was! We walked to Giordanos Pizza around the corner. We had so much left, we ended up bringing some back to the hotel.The room service folks actually brought us a microwave to our room to use for the rest of our stay!! I can't say enough about the service, which to me is very important. Oh the fresh water with the fresh strawberries floating in it, located in the lobby was a nice touch. I felt like royalty.The rooms are also quiet, stayed on the 10th floor.

Room Tip: The higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlinsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is beautiful. I loved my room. The beds are really confortable. The rooom I stayed had a long hallway which was great for my 1yr old to run :) The hotel is right next to the train station so it is a quick ride to Michigan Ave. It is also next to the Sears Towers. Lots of restaurants around. Because it is in the financial district, it is very quiet on the weekends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sikc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

JW's are always a class act. The Chicago location is no different. They did a great job re-finishing a historic building. However, avoid staying on the side of the hotel with the elevated train outside your window. You will hear it...all night.

Room Tip: Avoid the side next to the elevated train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Mic9556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#17 of 192 in Chicago
1,727 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Hare
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
#111 of 192 in Chicago
617 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#115 of 192 in Chicago
2,604 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $193 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at JW Marriott Chicago. Our luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois is located at LaSalle & Adams and it soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, historic JW Marriott Chicago exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in one of our luxurious hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, JW Marriott Chicago provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing