We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this property!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #44 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is one of my favorite Marriots. I love the decor. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Front desk Alex Kleppe and Beth Worman were very helpful. Lots of nearby shopping on State St or short cab ride or walk to Michigan Ave.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,173 - 1,179 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was in a beautiful suite. Could be the nicest Marriott Hotel I have been. The service is particulary exceptional. Very well located near to traían stations and nice restaurants. I was in a kick off company meeting and the production and support for the meeting was incredíble.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUCABogota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week during January.

The hotel was centrally located and convenient to a number of restaurants. My room on the 11th floor was impressive. It had a long entry way, double sinks and separate areas for the toilet and shower. As for the shower, it was massive I could of held a party in there for 50 close friends. The bed was supremely comfortable.

This is one of the best JW Marriott properties I have ever stated in and the most luxurious.

Bravo JW Marriott Chicago!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here for two nights to attend a firm business meeting and it was a really great stay. This hotel is the nicest Marriott I have ever stayed in. Both the common areas as well as the rooms feel new and beautifully furnished. I was particularly impressed with the excellent service. When I walked up to the reception desk, the associate actually knew my last name without my telling her. I asked her how she knew that and she said that the doorman had communicated that to her using their Secret Service style devices. In fact, on my way out of the hotel, I had forgotten to check out. The doorman simply used his device to let the front desk know that I was checking out and we were done. I travel for business frequently and I found this hotel to be terrific for working. The rooms are nicely lit and there are ample outlets. The gym is also worth mentioning because it is one of the most well equipped hotel gyms that I have seen. It even has an exercise studio, large inddor pool, and spa. I managed to squeeze in a massage at the spa which was excellent albeit a bit overpriced at $150 for an hour. The only detraction was the very bright unpleasant lighting in the locker room. The spa space is functional but not exactly inspiring. Overall this was an excellent hotel that I would describe as a more modern Ritz Carlton.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank minhnvu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The JW in Chicago is my first choice for business travel to Chicago. After at least a dozen stays, the hotel staff and accomodations continue to please. During my last stay, there was loud construction noise coming from the space above the hotel, after 10pm. Despite being outside the Marriot’s purview, the staff was able to stop the construction and insisted on sending me home with a bottle of wine, which was above and beyond my expectations. I will continue to stay and recommend this very reasonably priced, high-end property.

Room Tip: If you can get upgraded to the 12th floor, it's worth it for the breakfast alone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We came to Chicago to celebrate a wedding and that's where everyone was staying. The wedding party price was actually more than the AAA price. I wrote ahead to request a special room with a view since our son was joining us and it had been 3 months since he left for college. When we checked in we did not get a room with a view but instead a room looking at a building through an interior courtyard about 30 feet wide. No sun came through the window and we hardly had space to walk around when the rollaway arrived. We asked for an extra chair so we could have two chairs and the hotel brought up a banquet chair.

The restaurants were on strange operating hours and the bars closed at midnight on Saturday evening so when we arrived back from wedding reception we had to go to another hotel to get a nightcap.

The bathroom was great and so were the hallways but we would rather have had the extra room in our room.

Sorry Marriott, we have had better rooms at your Courtyard brand.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abby m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here over St. Patrick's Day weekend in 2012. My friends and I arrived on Friday AM for a spa day in the basement spa (can't recall the name!), and all of our treatments were excellent. The front desk staff were able to check us in early to our room as well, which was an added bonus. The best part of this hotel was the location, as it is literally located on an Orange Line stop, making getting to/from the hotel a breeze (note: it's an elevated stop, so you have to carry your luggage up/down the stairs--nothing too terrible, but I didn't see an option for wheelchair access, etc...I wasn't looking for it though, so I could've just missed it). Excellent hotel bar with lots of seating and TVs (March Madness was going on, so we hung out there before dinner). I didn't eat in the hotel though. There's a Dunkin' Donuts located about 2 blocks away, and the former Sears Tower is about 3-4 blocks away. The only con? There's not a lot of restaurants located nearby that are open on Sundays, as this is primarily the financial area, so just be aware of that. Otherwise, it was nice and quiet on the weekends. I will DEFINITELY return!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank go4elk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#15 of 192 in Chicago
1,741 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,233 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#116 of 192 in Chicago
2,622 reviews
O'Hare
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
#115 of 192 in Chicago
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Green Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $173 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at JW Marriott Chicago. Our luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois is located at LaSalle & Adams and it soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, historic JW Marriott Chicago exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in one of our luxurious hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, JW Marriott Chicago provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing