We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros & Cons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #37 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pros & Cons”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Pros: comfortable beds and pillows; clean rooms and common areas; professional staff; wifi available in room (for a fee) ; free wifi in lobby; not noisy ; located in heart of financial district and 2 blocks from Sears/Willis Tower; within about a 5 min walking distance to Michigan Avenue; nice selection of items in the in room minibar ; Valeo Spa is located in the hotel and offers a relaxing atmosphere and a variety of treatments (stone massage was great) ; work out room has up to date equipment and cardio machines have individual TVs; cable tv in rooms with HBO; Irish pub 2 minutes away and W Hotel across the street ; lobby bar has a great selection of cocktails and a modernly cozy atmosphere.
Cons: hotel needs more food choices - the hotel has only two restaurants and if you are at the hotel over a weekend many of the surrounding restaurants are closed. Keep this in mind. Florentine restaurant in the hotel has great food but the menu is very limited and the service was slow. Food in the hotel is expensive for what you get .
Overall I would stay at the JW Marriott again. Great for business travelers. If you are planning on doing touristy things stay over off Michigan Avenue or Gold Coast. There's more tourist activity in that area . There's a Marriott in the Millennium Mile area if you are loyal to Marriott.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reino80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    394
    104
    25
    19
See reviews for
219
300
47
648
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was My first trip to Chicago, attending a wedding which was held at the JW. We totally enjoyed the accommodations our room was spacious with an extremely comfortable bed. We were provided all the essentials, coffee, iron, hair dryer, complimentary water bottles. The bathroom was beautifully laid out and the tub was a deep soaking tub that easily could accommodate two people. I enjoyed a nice soak, totally relaxing. We had drinks in the lobby bar which was a fun spot with lots of people. Breakfast at the Florentine was over the top delicious! This hotel is in the financial district so it is a little distance from shopping etc. but not so far that you can't walk to the area attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyArubaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Having read reviews which mentioned rooms with no bathtubs and/or no windows, (only frosted glass-yikes) I called ahead to put in a request for both clear windows and a tub! All was well.

We had two adjoining rooms, which is sometimes not possible. No "tired" carpet or upholstery. Tasteful decor. Beautiful fixtures and finished in the bathroom. Comfy beds.

One complaint--the lounge on the executive floor CLOSES at 5pm Friday for the entire weekend. Never heard of this before at ANY hotel group. Big bummer. We really enjoy having coffee and breakfasts right on our floor, but it sure wasn't happening on this trip! Mr. Marriott himself was in the lounge on Friday--I guess he didn't stay through the weekend.

Minor complaint-no HGTV or Food Channel on the cable lineup. This is primarily a business hotel, but still....

Some reviews mentioned that the location wasn't great, but we thought it was fantastic. Right next to the Art Institute, a half-block from the train. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a tub and actual CLEAR windows if these things matter to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingfamily08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Enjoyed our visit to the JW. Found room to be very comfortable and quiet. David in the lobby bar quite gracious. Only glitches were the cordless phone battery was dead in room 913 (disconnected my wife twice) and the remote "mouse" for the TV was frustratingly dead. While we were there Mr. JW Marrriott himself and his wife stopped by and greeted the staff which was cool. Looked at hipster hotel across the street but prefer the JW. Not sure how many rooms have nice views, ours did not but was luxurious nonetheless. Spa/Fitness room in basement is just okay, pretty gloomy but nice equipment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westlakeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very nice hotel, but to be honest, I expected more for the price. Pool is closed, due to the health department. They charge extra for EVERYTHING. Paid over $300 per night, and wireless internet is an extra $14.95 per day? Prices at the restaurants and mini bar were really high. Who pays $9 for M&Ms? The room was nice and clean. LOVED the tub. Good location, although no view. Gym was nice. Staff was friendly. Just not worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here and felt special from the moment we walked in. As we walked in to the Hotel we did not even need to approach reception. We were greeted by name in the vast lobby and our access cards were ready for us to go straight to our room. A lovely touch for travel weary guests.
On the executive floor we had access to an executive lounge where they served breakfast and supper. Maria and Demetrius were the concierges for breakfast and they were great with our children and gave great service. Oh, and my husband really loved the TV in the bathroom mirror!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmisic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

My room appeared to be next to the railway. Not very quiet. You could also hear the fire door throughout the night.Breakfast at lobby level very friendly, though double the price vs Starbucks across the street. Gym ok.
Location is very central. Check in/out efficient.
Room is ok with all standard equipment. Enough towels and pillows.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#7 of 190 in Chicago
241 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#106 of 190 in Chicago
2,518 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#89 of 190 in Chicago
569 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Property: JW Marriott Chicago
Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at this luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago, Illinois luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, the historic JW luxury hotel in Chicago, IL exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in our luxury Chicago, IL hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott Chicago hotel provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing