We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the loop of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #37 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“In the loop of luxury”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Chicago JW Marriott is a comfortable, well-appointed hotel with a location that may be unbeatable IF (a) you've flown to the city on Southwest or (b) intend to visit the Art Institute and the adjacent Millennium Park. The CTA Orange Line connects Midway Airport (Southwest's hub) to the city center and the Quincy stop on that line is literally steps away from the JW. A 15-minute stroll down West Adams Street in the other direction brings you to the front steps of the Art Institute, next door to which are the artistic attractions of Millennium Park. In good weather, the walk north along Michigan Avenue (aka The Magnificent Mile after it crosses the Chicago River) is a pleasant diversion. Hotel staff are friendly and accommodating. An erroneous minibar charge was removed immediately from my bill at checkout and a charge for an un-made long-distance call, discovered only after I got home, was also promptly reversed after I advised the billing department.
The reason for the minibar charge involves my only criticism: the minibar fridge is so full of items that I had to shift things around to squeeze in a pint-sized bottle of orange juice which I'd purchased at a nearby Walgreen's (there's also a nearby Starbucks for those desiring a smaller, cheaper and [probably] quicker breakfast than the hotel dining room). The shifting made it appear that I'd scarfed down one of minibar's $12 can of nuts. Horrors!
I believe the hotel has a pool, but it was out of action during our two-day stay at the end of September. My lap-swimming spouse made do with morning visits to a nearby health club at Union Station. Unless the hotel pool is a plunge pool putting on airs, it would be another reason, for a swimmer, to stay at the Chicago JW Marrriott.

Room Tip: Nothing except our 7th floor room overlooked the Quincy "L" station and we heard nothing f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeHoulahan5832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    394
    104
    25
    19
See reviews for
220
300
47
648
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Located on Adams Street (financial district), th JW is wonderful. Friendly helpful staff. Rooms well appointed, comfortable, with everything a business traveler needs. The hotel is within walking distant but you must like to walk as it's not right on the mag mile.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lbaker3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Typical JW Marriott with clean, comfortable rooms and nice lobby with bar. We took the train from St. Louis for the Cards Cub series in July. It's an easy walk from Union Station to the Marriott even with luggage. The L is a few blocks away too for when you go to Wrigley. The only real complaint, and it is not the fault of the hotel, is that it is further south of all the restaurants and bars and shopping along Michigan Avenue. However, you are close to Millenium Park. I would stay here again if going to Cards Cub seris and taking train. Otherwise, I'd try and stay at one of the Marriotts north of here along Michigan Ave.

Room Tip: We had an interior room and it was fine. Since we are not in our room that much...we didn't nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElBirdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My room was on the back of the building and I lost count of how many turns I needed to make to get to it. My room, on the interior, must have overlooked a air shaft; my windows were frosted so I couldn't see out the window. I prefer natural daylight, so that was a disappointment. Also, the room was small. There was a chair at the desk, but there was no room for a reading chair. The bathroom was large and had a very high soaking tub. It was wonderful - I was there for one night and had a record breaking three baths (sorry, Mr. Manager, I know guests like me wreck havoc on your water bill projections) and housekeeping was kind enough to give me extra bath wash.
The concierge (Sunday morning, 9/30) was a very knowledgeable, professional and cordial woman. She was able to immediately answer my frequent questions.
The food. I ordered room service lunch and it was NOT good at all. I specified the way I wanted my hamburger to be cooked (medium rare) and there was not a trace of pink in the meat. Unfortunately, I had requested a late checkout and it was close to the time to leave; otherwise, I would have complained.
The bed. I think Marriott hit a home run with the bed - not just here in Chicago, but throughout the brand. It was heavenly. Also, what a treat I had with the wake up call!! It was a real person, not a recording.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel was quiet with excellent service and comfortable rooms. Even the catered food for our business meetings was considerably above typical hotel standards. I found the staff to be very friendly. JW Marriott is good choice for your next stay in downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBGTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is amazing. It's approximately a 30 min cab ride from O'Hare ($40 ride). Even though this hotel is located in the financial district, it's still nicely located. Approx a 30 min walk from the Magnificent Mile. The hotel is a little pricey but well worth it. The executive lounge is open from 6am to 10pm weekdays which is awesome. The hotel staff are amazing, especially Jose the doorman, Maria and Demetrius in the executive lounge. Our infant got sick during our trip and the staff kept asking us about how he was doing and even went as far as getting us info on the closest medical centre and even offered to get a doctor to attend the hotel. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. Walls are thick so you can't hear from room to room. The rooms are a little on the smaller side, but very modern. I would definitely come back to this hotel and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our family of four (with 2 young kids) stayed here for 4 nights in August, 2012. It was my business trip (for the first 2 days), but I decided to bring the family alone since we had not visited Chicago for about five years. The hotel was fantastic. I was given a suite which was spacious. The room was adjacent to the "L", and I was concerned about the noise, especially at night. It turned out it was not an issue. Below were my observations:

Pros:
- Nice, clean, and spacious room
- Great bathroom: spacious shower area, separate toilet area, and a huge bathtub
- Good TV with many channels
- Large in-room safe
- Staff was very friendly and helpful
- Check-in and check-out were smooth. I had a little issue during check-in as the system did not have all the correct information for my reservation. The front desk staff was very helpful and made all the corrections.
- Location was great, close to everything. Only a short walk to Michigan and State Avenues. Bus/L lines to many major tourist attractions were also within short walking distance.

Cons:
- Really not much to say
- Lobby was huge but could use more furniture/have more sitting areas
- Pool area was closed when I was there (that was another story)

Overall, our family enjoyed our stay and the trip. I would definitely stay at JW Marriott Chicago again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imken504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#6 of 190 in Chicago
243 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#106 of 190 in Chicago
2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#87 of 190 in Chicago
569 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Property: JW Marriott Chicago
Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at this luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago, Illinois luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, the historic JW luxury hotel in Chicago, IL exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in our luxury Chicago, IL hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott Chicago hotel provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing