We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #42 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Service was great--very friendly staff at the front desk and in the hotel hallways. Fitness center has great equipment but is very busy at times--not enough equipment for the number of people there in the AM. Room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable and clean. The hotel is in easy walking distance of shopping and sights. Food was also good. Would definitely be happy staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,300 - 1,306 of 1,502 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

When I go to Chicago for business I always try to get into this property first. The rooms, the service, the staff, the workout space, and the concierge lounge are all top notch. Ive eaten in the lounge and had room service -- all has been excellent.

I do want to give a special shout out to the ladies who work in the concierge lounge in the AM--they are awesome! They are always friendly and helpful and want to make sure you have a good experience while there. The experience is markedly different from what I've experienced at other Marriott properties!

Room Tip: rooms on the 12th floor have a TV in the bathroom mirror!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blairz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I spent October 2011 through February 2012 commuting back and forth to Chicago and the JW was my work week home! The hotel staff was amazing to me each and every time I arrived and I thoroughly enjoyed staying there! The rooms are amazing and I love that there is a separate bath and shower! The beds are extremely comfortable and the housekeeping staff was always very accommodating to my requests! I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and would recommend it to anyone! If I ever have business in Chicago again I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for an exterior room...better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoGoGidgetinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 19th wedding anniversary at this JW Marriott. The hotel is a new, modern and clean environment. The lobby is classy. The staff seemed genuine, professional, polite and very helpful. Our corner suite was luxurious with 2 large flat screen televisions, a soaking tub, and a very comfortable bed! The exercise facility on the lower level was very nice, overlooking the brand new swimming pool (which was not opened yet during our stay). The adjoining spa looked wonderful (although we did not use it). This JWM hotel deserves the five star rating of excellence that the other well known hotel names boast on the near north side. JWM is located in the downtown loop district, which is closer and within walking distance of the museums, theaters and fine dining. In fact, I liked the South LaSalle Street location even better than North Michigan Avenue because the business district was quiet and not busy like the shopping district on the weekend. JWM provided a wonderful setting for rest and relaxation in classy accommodations. This hotel is a gem.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are spacious, luxurious and worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MemoryMaker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Loved it. Beautiful hotel, excellent service, cozy lounge, great breakfast. A bit pricey for breakfast, but worth it for an excellent, special occasion breakfast.

would for sure stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doreen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed here for two nights at the end of December for a wedding. Great hotel.

Location: More in the financial district/loop area, rather than Michigan Ave/Lakeshore Dr/Magnificent Mile/River North area like most of the better-known Chicago hotels. Still, it's Chicago, and there are plenty of restaurants, Starbucks, etc within walking distance. Willis Tower is about 2 blocks away.

Was able to check in a few hours early, get to room, change/shower/relax a bit before the festivities began. Given a room on the Concierge Level, but the lounge was closed due to my being there over a holiday weekend. Room was clean, and somewhat traditional looking, nicely decorated but in a tasteful, understated way. Luxury, but not over the top. High speed internet worked better than many of the hotels I've visited recently. Room had a nice HD flat-screen TV, as well as a TV embedded in the bathroom mirror.

Really enjoyed the lobby hotel bar. Had a late lunch here after checking in, and also had some drinks here both nights of my stay, including a very late night-cap the second night of my visit. Great service, full bar, etc.

Didn't get a chance to check out the fitness area but based on the condition of everything else in the hotel, I'm sure it's more than adequate. I'll definitely look to stay here again the next time I need a hotel in Chicago.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueDart404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I am not generally a fan of high-end hotels and I was all ready to hate the JW. I generally feel that value for money just isn't there and prefer to stay in Courtyard-level hotels. The JW Chicago proved me wrong.

This hotel just executes well in all of the details that I personally value.

The room - nice high ceilings give the feeling of space, tastefully decorated but not over the top in any way. Comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, great shower. The air conditioning (one of my pet peeves in a hotel) covers the spectrum of needs from silent to good solid white noise when the fan is set to high. Plugs everywhere I needed them. Nice flatscreen TV with high definition content.

Internet - A common failing of the larger hotels is internet, not so with the JW Chicago. Internet was solid and fast, allowing me to join in a meeting back at the office via video conference.

Lobby - Staff available just to help, fast and friendly check-in, and helpful concierge.

Lobby bar - nice selection of local beers on tap, lots of activity, good service including a friendly lounge attendant who was just there to make sure everything was going well for customers.

Meetings - I was here for a small conference, and even there they executed above and beyond. Staff were always checking in to see if we needed anything, requests were handled quickly, even the security head came to say hello and let me know what to do if there was an emergency.

Marble lobbies and wood-panelled elevators aren't usually my thing. But the JW was so much more, and is the model for what a downtown business hotel should be. A new bar has been set for me, I feel sorry for the next hotel that I stay at because they will never match up.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pnear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#108 of 192 in Chicago
2,575 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $224 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at this luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago, Illinois luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, the historic JW luxury hotel in Chicago, IL exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in our luxury Chicago, IL hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott Chicago hotel provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing