We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #36 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service excellence”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Celebrated wife's birthday with stay at hotel. Upgrade of the room and surprise cheese platter showed what service can be like.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluto4608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    382
    98
    25
    19
See reviews for
208
294
45
622
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Well located, not too far from the lake or the magnificent mile...good, comfortable rooms and met my expectations in most respects. Wifi was expensive, and very poor speeds

Didn't eat at the hotel restaurants so can't comment on the food.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harshv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I stayed at this property in May, 2011 and again in January, 2012. I love that this is a brand new property. Everything is new, clean, and modern. This location is really good if you are arriving via train and there is a major L stop right outside the front door. I'm used to staying at the other end of Michigan Ave. so I'm getting used to the location. I find the rooms next to the elevatorhave the most spacious layout. It was noisy at all due to the layout. Yummy illy coffee Ianthe lobby but it's really pricey. There is a Duncin Donuts and Starbucks right out the front door at the corner.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the elevator have the best layout and are not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmp1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wi
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I treated myself to a lovely stay at the JW in February! The word lovely describes everything and everyone at the hotel! The staff was so gracious and delighted to assist you in any way! My personal fave was the fabulous flavored water in the Lobby-kudos to the person who created citrus peach!!!! I cannot wait to visit again!

Room Tip: Corner or interior
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiazMequon_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Enjoyed our stay in hotel, but it almost felt like it was pretending to be nicer than it was. The lobby really is beautiful, lovely fountain and really nice bar with great service and a great sitting area with couches.

We booked a king room but had to settle for two doubles. Walk from elevators to room was really long. Room was nice but not on par with lobby, except the bathroom. Bathroom was large, lots of light marble tile (or something close), and a great walk-in shower, a lovely and huge bathtub, wand two sinks. Very nice. Unfortunately, the room wasn't as nice. The chair was OK, the beds were fine by themselves but were covered by really uncomfortable blankets/sheets. Definitely made sleeping uncomfortable and hot. Little decoration except for (surprisingly nice) art. The view was just of the building across the street, and the windows didn't open.

The location was fine for us (it was for business). It wouldn't have been ideal for nightlife but would have been fine for access to Millennium Park and public transportation was easy.

Overall, it was a little underwhelming, especially as I didn't have time to take a bath to take advantage of what was probably the room's best asset. I recently stayed at JW Indianapolis and was really impressed, so my expectations were high but was a little disappointed this time. Still, it's a really solid hotel, just missing a little something to make it stand out.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Level Contributor
738 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 479 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I have stayed at this JW Marriott twice, for a total of 4 nights. My experience has been pretty consistent.

I like hotels in historic and older settings and this is a recently renovated structure, which is a plus. The lobby is large and opulent. The rooms, too, were well-appointed and had a "luxury feel", including LCD tv's, wide molding, granite countertops etc. The sheets on the bed were of a high thread count and very soft. The staff was friendly and attentive.

So why not excellent? Well, a couple of things. First, although I paid close to $300 a night after some sort of preferred rate, I still had to pay $15 for wi-fi. Really? I'd pick an internet connection over a TV or many other things in the hotel. It sure as heck doesn't cost them anything close to $15 for a night. If you are a Marriott platinum or some other high level "elite", the internet doesn't cost extra, but I travel all over and, frankly, while it is generally very good, Marriott isn't always the best alternative so I don't have the high elite levels needed for "free" internet access.

Second, I thought the prices in the restaurant and the lobby were rather high. The prices for wine by the glass were more than I would pay for an entire bottle at home. They are certainly entitled to a fair profit, and I support their right to one, but $18 a glass for wine that would cost $12 a bottle retail is going a bit too far. Having said that, I had a chocolate martini at lounge bar, an occasional indulgence for me, that was very good (it was $18.50 with tax and tip).

In short, they have a beautiful and thoughtfully restored building and an excellent and responsive staff. I was annoyed, however, by the nickel and dime-ing on things like excess charges for internet access and beverages in the lobby. If you are already Marriott elite of a sufficient level, the internet won't be a problem, but you would likely be staying here anyway. If not, however, I would look at the entire package to determine whether the hotel is worth it. I'd leave it up to you.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms overlook a shaft, but they are relatively quiet. The rooms with a front view on A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineAndGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed here on a weekend getaway & had a great stay! From the moment we checked in to check out, the staff was the best! Everyone at the JW made you feel very welcomed & the gentleman that took our bags gave us a little history of the hotel. He was very knowledgable about the hotel & very professional...I believe his name was Michael.

We have stayed in quite a bit of JW Marriotts & this one did not disappoint. As any JW, the rooms are spacious & comfortable, with the bathroom being the best part...lol. It is huge with a nice tub & separate glass enclosed shower.

The hotel is in a great location for restaurants & sight seeing. We walked to the Disney store & enjoyed seeing all the nice buildings on the way.

I would highly recommend the JW Chicago to anyone visiting the downtown area! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bighouse0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#104 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Property: JW Marriott Chicago
Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at this luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago, Illinois luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, the historic JW luxury hotel in Chicago, IL exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in our luxury Chicago, IL hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott Chicago hotel provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing